Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
7,511 ratings
2,024 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

SH
Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG
Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filter by:

2001 - 2025 of 2,030 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Enayatullah A

Jul 20, 2016

a good one for gaining more knowledge regarding managing people

By BHUVANESH A K 1

Dec 25, 2019

It is very good to learn and I improved my hr skills

By Mohammed N J

Jul 16, 2020

the course is nice but overall i found a bit boring

By Eleni M P

Dec 14, 2020

I do not think it is fair to have a peer review.

By TOLULOPE O

Apr 20, 2020

T

h

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

h

a

s

b

r

o

a

d

I

n

g

m

y

o

p

I

n

I

o

n

o

n

H

R

R

O

l

e

s

By Thy N

Mar 26, 2020

the presentation should be less colour

By shefali s

Jul 7, 2021

c​ould be a bit more interesting

By Amouna b

May 22, 2021

beneficial course , thank you

By Yanhua W

Mar 28, 2021

not vert practical

By K. S S

Jun 11, 2020

excellent course

By Shreya D

Sep 17, 2021

PERFECT COURSE

By Baimukhambetov Y

May 18, 2020

Not bad course

By Andrea C

Jan 3, 2019

Good Course!

By Bhumika P

May 18, 2020

average

By Rajanikant K

Jun 26, 2020

good

By Dilini B

Aug 28, 2021

By Thales F N

May 21, 2020

There was some nice insights into macro analysis. The external factors to an organization that you should pay attention to before designing an HR strategy.

However, it was too academic and not very practical. The course provides really little real-life examples of situations that organizations face. In addition, sounded a lot like the professor was showing off how smart and academically awarded he was instead of providing useful frameworks and insights.

One last thing is that all of it was presented in an extremely boring and badly designed way. Really bad jokes made me want to stop attending the course several times.

By Lisa H

Jan 24, 2021

it is a good base if you have no knowledge yet, however, for anybody who has studied economics or similar this course will be very basic. The instructor is using a lot of the time in the videos for looking back to what has happened already and foreshadowing what will happen instead of providing the content. The Powerpoint presentations are not professional.

By Rita K

Oct 18, 2020

actually was not very informative

By justin v

Aug 15, 2020

NO CERTIFICATES?????????

By Anumol P B

May 14, 2020

good

By Ahmed M T

Aug 20, 2019

Good

By ADRIANA S S

Jul 13, 2021

.

By Mleya M

Feb 17, 2021

I did not learn anything new that can be applied - Felt like an introduction to HR. A definite no for me.

By Andrew C

Dec 31, 2017

The peer review process is garbage!