Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
6,728 ratings
1,853 reviews

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

SH
Aug 31, 2020

Coursera is an online learning platform with a focus on higher education. Much like its competitors Udemy, MasterClass, and Skillshare, Coursera is completely online and covers a wide range of topics.

MG
Mar 20, 2018

Excellent course structure, very clear and concise material, John Budd is teaching in a fun way, which helped me understand the syllabus, with short questions to help me think and not too long videos.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 1,834 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By rishab k

Mar 8, 2021

Mr John Budd is a very good instructor. A good course which gives complete knowledge of the subject.

By aruna k

Nov 6, 2020

Excellent syllabus, all videos, examples. Lot of learning on assignments and peer - reviewd projects

By Kristina J

Oct 1, 2020

Course was interesting, I can recomend it for all, who want to know about what being HR managers is.

By Shravani S

Sep 17, 2020

Wonderful explanation and lectures by Dr. John w budd. Wonderful experience and good knowledge on HR

By David j R M

Jul 31, 2020

excellent course, includes a lot of important information that indicates the high impact that HR has

By Mamta K

Jun 3, 2020

valuable insights to understand the HR in a better way to manage people to meet organizational goals

By Jeanette

Apr 20, 2020

Useful and detailed information provided regarding the subject. Taught in a fun and interesting way.

By Yuly A R R

Mar 25, 2018

I'm so thankful I'm takin this specialization, I've learned a lot about HR. I highly recommended it.

By MELISSIDOU E

Oct 7, 2020

Thank you very much! The professor was understandable and analytic and i really enjoyed the course!

By Sachini D

Jul 17, 2020

very helpful course. Thank you very much for this opportunity coursera and university of Minnesota.

By Ragini k S

Jul 7, 2020

thank you so much for this wonderful course , it will definitely helpful for me in future projects.

By karrar k a

Apr 8, 2020

It was a great course and I got really a lots of knowledge especially in onbording new employees .

By Grace V

Dec 25, 2020

It was a great experience. Learned a lot from the lectures and the shared knowledge of the others.

By HECTOR F C G

Oct 21, 2020

Excelente, los felicito por tan grande programa de especialización, super profesor y presentación.

By Paul M

Jul 28, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. I found the information to be relevant and up to date. Thank you.

By Nan L

Mar 14, 2018

The course is well organized. The quality of videos was great. A good start for the course series.

By Nishant M

May 12, 2017

Very detailed course structure and helpful in dealing with real life Human Resource Challenges! :)

By Colleen L Y

Sep 11, 2016

I am new to HR and found this course informative and an excellent foundation for further learning.

By Charoo D

May 7, 2020

Great course , lot of learning on basic HR strategy / employment and labor laws. Time well spent.

By Aahana B

Jun 10, 2019

This course is well designed, I am happy to found this course on coursera.

thank you to Prof. Bud.

By Gene W

Apr 11, 2019

I appreciate Coursera and this course. I am learning so much. The instructor, John Budd is great.

By Ravi K

Mar 3, 2016

I appreciate the way course is designed to handle the HR challenges an gives a broader picture on

By ASHIKA S

May 1, 2021

It was really insightful and full of learnings . I had a great time during the course learnings.

By A K M S B N

Jul 19, 2020

I have learned many things, how to mange in the right time and right decision in every sector.

By VIJAYSHREE A

Jun 20, 2020

So enjoyed this course really learned so many things. I don't have suggestions for it.

Thank you.