Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Organization: From Organizational Design to Execution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Organization: From Organizational Design to Execution by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.6
634 ratings
113 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will build a practical framework to understand the critical linkages between organization design and the creation of economic value through execution. We will focus on four critical linkages: 1. How organizational growth and life cycle require design changes to improve execution 2. How managerial decision making can be improved through better organization design 3. How the design of human resource practices shape the culture of the organization 4. How innovation and change can be facilitated through organization design These linkages are critical in assessing how managers make sure that the organizations they design can execute the strategies they have envisioned under changing environmental conditions. Learners will be able to answer the following: • What are the managerial implications of organizational growth and life cycle? • How do you improve managerial decision making through organizational design? • How do human resource management policies shape organizational culture? • How do organizations plan for top management succession and change? • How do you know that your organization design is not effective? • How do you manage organizational change and innovation? This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Top reviews

RO

Oct 16, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

EK

Dec 29, 2018

A good course for those interested in some of the basic concepts that underly why senior executives make the decisions they do regarding organizational design and management.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 111 Reviews for Managing the Organization: From Organizational Design to Execution

By Godwin E

May 08, 2019

Concentrated with managerial techniques immediately usable to the workplace. Empowering!

By Aakriti G

Apr 02, 2019

A great way to learn about the various aspects of organisational Design and change leadership. Well articulated and demonstrated. The reading materials are interesting and helpful in understanding the context.

By Abdurrahman S

May 06, 2019

Prof. Leblebici is a great instructor. I truly enjoyed his lectures.

By Javier A

Nov 05, 2019

Complementing and fulfilling

By Nehemiah Y K

Dec 13, 2019

Comprehensive and very educative course.

By Camesha R

Dec 04, 2019

Very enlightening and practical wisdom that I can test in my work environment.

By Okwukwe D I

May 28, 2016

A very practical course. Worthy of enrollment by every business manager. Great course by a superb Professor.

By Fredjoger B M

Apr 13, 2019

Excellent Course!

By Jason d

Jul 15, 2018

Very informative.

By Nicola M

Jun 29, 2017

It's an incredibile course, you need to attend both of the courses of Professor Leblebici to fully understand all the framework of the concepts.

By MICHAEL W

Jul 31, 2017

Good class

By Romain V

May 14, 2016

Great course! Very insightful!

By AMANDA S C B

Sep 19, 2016

Good course I enjoy it

By Lawrence S

May 17, 2017

The essence of the course was good, but the lectures where not the quality I expected. So while I found the theory incredibly interesting and helpful, with application to every day business interaction, the lectures where long winded, lacked in depth knowledge and explanation of a complex subject, and on occasion where dull and uninteresting. source material, readings and extended content on the topic was incredibly interesting.

I would keep the topic, but restructure the lectures.

None the less, i would still suggest participation in the course, just to broaden understanding and knowledge.

By Nolan A

Jul 18, 2017

Typos in the slides need to be fixe

By Julia l M

May 15, 2019

This course is gritty - I actually learnt something (a lot!) Thank you for the effort and the material.

By Jacques P P

Oct 01, 2019

Good content and some relevant examples

By Rafiq

Oct 13, 2019

Certainly a good course. Good faculty. But still less quality and insights compared to Business strategy course by Deepak Sowmya

By Nupur B

Dec 05, 2019

Module 2 was little heavy and little too much but overall the course was good.

By Kati L

Apr 27, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. I took it as a stand-alone, rather than part of the entire specialization. I especially liked the portions about "potential" and the difference between a high commitment and a high flexibility workforce.

By AswathyMayilvakannan

Jul 29, 2019

It is very good course. It helps me to get wide knowledge about the managing organization.

By Zaw Z O

Sep 18, 2018

This research based specialization has provided the fundamental knowledge and essential skills in from daily strategic leadership to Managing organization effectively; you will see how the course is precise and concise that leads the potential leverage for achieving your organization’s goals and sustaining its long-term success.

By Vikash P

Jun 26, 2016

The course lacks coherence which comes as a big disappointment as it follows two excellent modules by Greg Northcraft.

By Jeff C

May 07, 2018

Too much theory. Not enough applied models and frameworks.

By Friederike J

May 22, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed the course and the presented insights. Only at times it is a little slow (easy things are explained at great length).

The questions in the quizzes could have been a little more challenging (some were just all too obvious), and clearer: some questions (esp. re the case studies) were ambiguous or implied a lot of interpretation on the course givers' part in what answer you wanted to hear (i.e. more than one answer appeared perfectly plausible) - so sharpening the quiz questions would be a good improvement.

And I thought it was surprising that there were a few typos in the slides.

I enjoyed the readings and the essays. Just the rating by peers appeared a little random.

Thanks for the interesting course and the learnings I take away from it!