Chevron Left
Back to Managing the Organization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing the Organization by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
1,188 ratings
233 reviews

About the Course

This course is intended to help you become a better manager by helping you more fully understand and deal with the complexities and challenges associated with managerial life in organizations. You will learn theories, principles, and frameworks that will help you more effectively manage and lead your organizations. You will be able to: - Analyze common managerial challenges and develop solutions to these challenges - Use power effectively and strategically to implement organizational change - Understand the foundations of organizational culture and decision-making - Navigate common decision-making pitfalls and ethical challenges - Apply principles of organization management to common challenges of management This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

RO
Oct 15, 2017

A well presented course for implementing strategy related to the elements from organizational design to execution. This course stresses the importance and necessity of an integrated process that is

SM
Dec 8, 2020

Great Course! Well-structured content with very useful and immediately applicable concepts! I will definitely recommend to a few more people I know who organically became in position of leadership.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 230 Reviews for Managing the Organization

By Rafiq A

Oct 13, 2019

Certainly a good course. Good faculty. But still less quality and insights compared to Business strategy course by Deepak Sowmya

By Sheku M

Aug 7, 2020

This course has greatly improved my knowledge in management. The skills gained is applicable to all working environments.

By Julia L M

May 15, 2019

This course is gritty - I actually learnt something (a lot!) Thank you for the effort and the material.

By Keyurkumar D

Dec 6, 2020

Great course. Just need had to play it slower than normal speed to keep up with what professor.

By Aswathy 1

Jul 29, 2019

It is very good course. It helps me to get wide knowledge about the managing organization.

By Nupur B

Dec 5, 2019

Module 2 was little heavy and little too much but overall the course was good.

By Lisa D G

May 31, 2020

Sometimes the audio was a bit choppy, but the content was well-designed

By Jacques P

Oct 1, 2019

Good content and some relevant examples

By Nolan A

Jul 18, 2017

Typos in the slides need to be fixe

By Romain V

May 14, 2016

Great course! Very insightful!

By Kim A

Jul 30, 2020

I truly enjoyed this course.

By Norma L

Feb 18, 2020

information was relevant

By AMANDA S C B

Sep 19, 2016

Good course I enjoy it

By DHAKSHAYANE M

Oct 3, 2020

It very useful to me

By Nirav S

Nov 25, 2020

Must go !!

By MICHAEL W

Jul 31, 2017

Good class

By Gunti S D

Dec 23, 2020

good

By Friederike J

May 22, 2017

Overall, I enjoyed the course and the presented insights. Only at times it is a little slow (easy things are explained at great length).

The questions in the quizzes could have been a little more challenging (some were just all too obvious), and clearer: some questions (esp. re the case studies) were ambiguous or implied a lot of interpretation on the course givers' part in what answer you wanted to hear (i.e. more than one answer appeared perfectly plausible) - so sharpening the quiz questions would be a good improvement.

And I thought it was surprising that there were a few typos in the slides.

I enjoyed the readings and the essays. Just the rating by peers appeared a little random.

Thanks for the interesting course and the learnings I take away from it!

By Wei K

Oct 1, 2016

I'm not going to recommend this course strongly. I learned from it, not denying that. The reading materials were great. There are critical organization issues to learn. But there are two things I don't like. First, the assignment is not well designed. Article reflection is a convenient way to give an assignment but sometimes off the topics in the course notes. Other courses have along assignments but they are much better designed. Second, the instructor threw a lot of terminologies with much explanations. I don't think people would ever remember or use them correctly. Why bother using them?

By Gautam R

May 16, 2016

While I appreciate the logic behind this class, the content seemed very subjective and loose compared ot the class prior.

By Vikash P

Jun 26, 2016

The course lacks coherence which comes as a big disappointment as it follows two excellent modules by Greg Northcraft.

By Jeff C

May 7, 2018

Too much theory. Not enough applied models and frameworks.

By sidi b l m n

May 4, 2019

this course had been take long time and allowed me to pay addition effort to earn it, by this final course of managing the organization; from organizational designe to execution, should highly express of my happy and excited, then my duty should make me address appreciations to my instructors who were maintained their help though good interpretations, and sufficient presentations including tens videos lectures and valid slides which had support the audiences to understand take notes and keep questions, this course quizzes were also not easy but give we dealt with them because applicable schedules were kept. finally I'm very enthusiastic and eager after I located this opportunity made me interacted with tens of peers of leaderships across the globe, with various diversifications, high qualified and skilled professionally, and good experiences especially in management in general and designing organizations in especial notable CEO, MANAGER, HEADS ENGINEERS, among other. once again my thanks should went to my professors who had taught this course.

sidi bachir labiad manager.

By Ana C F

Dec 5, 2019

Not my favorite course. Even though the content is fascinating, the delivery was not good. Too many examples and very few definitions. Too many questions with very few answers. It was a vague though process and many times hard to follow. After coming from Northcrafts course, this was a hard one to follow. Video courses should be more objective with a few examples, it seems like this was mainly questions to ponder and examples with very few hard definitions. Many times I resourced to Google to find other websites to explain to me what the topic was about. - very unfortunate. Can be done better.

By Dejan H

May 3, 2019

Same comment as for the first part of this course. Slow pace, poor delivery. No value added by listening to the professor speak because he just reads out the slides. Content does not flow from one section to another and much of the material feels incomplete. You are left with a feeling that you just skimmed the surface and need to do a lot more learning independently.