Chevron Left
Back to Managing Talent

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Managing Talent by University of Michigan

4.6
stars
2,206 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn best practices for selecting, recruiting, and onboarding talent. You will also learn about the key approaches to measuring performance and evaluating your employees. In addition, you will learn how to develop and coach your talent so that they can realize their full potential at work. Altogether, you will gain a thorough understanding of the complete cycle of managing talent and creating a robust talent pipeline for your team and organization. Managing and developing talent is one of the top 3 issues on the minds of CEOs from around the world. In fact, CEOs cite managing and developing their leadership talent as the issue that is most important to the future success of their business but that their organizations are least capable of addressing effectively. This course will provide you with the insights, frameworks and tools to effectively manage and develop talent in your teams and organizations....

Top reviews

OI

Apr 5, 2020

A very illuminating course. Have started applying two key concepts already. Glad I took the course. Every HR practitioner should take the course as part of their own development. Thank you.

MB

May 11, 2017

Great lectures, important thinks pointed out. Not always is clear how important is taking care of employees. Without good HR management, whole business can struggle and not grow as could.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 353 Reviews for Managing Talent

By Dharmendra B

Nov 24, 2022

good

By Paradesi P

Nov 17, 2022

Good

By Tong V C

Dec 25, 2020

Good

By AMAL F

Oct 28, 2020

good

By MD. B H O

Sep 26, 2020

good

By Lakshmi P

Sep 24, 2020

Good

By LEENA J

Aug 9, 2020

good

By Mona A A

Jun 12, 2020

GOOD

By Dr. G M Z

May 25, 2020

Good

By John

Nov 15, 2017

Good

By Verónica J Q F

Sep 11, 2022

na

By Елена В Ф

Dec 18, 2020

ок

By Jason Z

Nov 22, 2016

--

By SABATH B

Oct 3, 2022

By George S

Aug 25, 2022

,

By Robin Y V

May 4, 2020

E

By Jonas M

Jul 28, 2022

I don't like the way Cheri talks because it looks to obvious that she is reading something. Sometimes she tries to vary her tone but she looses the sentence timing, making it hard to understand what the sentence means.

Overall the course is very good, but I can't pay to much attention because of the way she talks. Maybe she could prepare a little more to the classes and not read an script, or at least make it less obvious that she is doing that.

By Tracy M

Mar 30, 2016

Overall another great learning opportunity. Appreciate the relevant models and templates to aid in identifying and coaching top talent. 4 stars as there are some opportunities to improve the delivery of the first lesson and I am not a fan of video tape assignments. That said, would highly recommend - the course learnings are incredibly relevant and will support you in making a difference in the work lives and careers of your team.

By Alethea J H

Aug 23, 2022

The course was well presented and relevant to the work I do. The quizzes and paper were interesting challenges and I appreciate those exercises to help reinforce the concepts. The accompanying videos are outdated and I suggest if there are newer, more socially relevent materials that could accompany the course and still support the materials and concepts being taught those would help drive home the five star rating.

By Jumana A

Dec 1, 2015

the language was a little fast for me and i tried to follow by the subtitles..

the peer view is frustrating .. some we'll have hard time understanding the ideas, some will write in their mother language..

so have technical jobs and talking about it like another )???) word..

also, in the same task, some people will give high rate and the same question others will give 0.. it's frustrating as it affect the mark

By Mark H

Dec 12, 2019

I liked this course. I have two suggestions. 1) If a peer is going to grade your work below a 2 or 3 then they should be required to have a reason why. I understand this may be impracticable and may skew grades higher, but some feedback would help allot. 2) I would suggest links to the discussion forums when we are asked to submit them. I just feel like I do not put them in the right section sometimes.

By muhammad a r

Apr 7, 2017

I love the course content, and especially peer review assignments. I have one negative feedback for Cheri Alexander course contents for number of things:

1- Too much repetition.

2- Very vague examples were used. More practical & complete examples should be included. Moving talent across different departments does not happen often, so this can be replaced with some good example.

Thanks,

Adnan

By Jose R

Feb 9, 2017

I loved this course, with the slight exception of the video uploading part, It is not bad, but if coursera implemented the videos on to their website then the student interaction would be better.

I had never come across the talent pipeline concept and it is definitely a very interesting one, will definitely be applying a lot of these concepts at the office.

By Dykina K

Nov 5, 2019

It was really difficult to listen to Cheri Alexander. It was easier to read her lectures. Hard to concentrate while watching as the she seemed to put emphasis and pauses in all wrong places. The way how the lecture are structured seemed weird to me.

This is just my opinion, i'm not talking about her professionalism, knowledge or expertise.

By Victor D R L

Jan 28, 2021

It is a good course and delivers what is advertised. Now, week 3 is long and it is an important piece of the backbone of Talent Management in my opinion. Week 4 also needs time to complete as you go through the concepts. It is a good course, with good information, and the forums are fantastic. Happy Learning!