Chevron Left
Back to Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1 by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
stars
672 ratings
149 reviews

About the Course

Sustainability, Resilience and Efficiency are fundamental considerations for city managers in managing urban infrastructures. Today, more than 3.9 billion people, making up more than 54% of the global population, live in cities. Urbanization is expected to continue in the coming years, raising the urban population to 6.0 billion by 2045. This dramatic increase in urban populations will inevitably increase the demand for energy, mobility (transportation), water, and other urban services in every city around the world. Without functional governance and management structures that ensure efficient, resilient and sustainable performance in cities, the current urbanization growth might become a catastrophic risk threatening the quality of life of the humanity. Sustainable development in 21st century can only be realized by introducing innovations in both management and operations of urban infrastructures systems. Developing management practices that effectively integrates the processes of urban planning with urban infrastructures planning and management is a challenging goal that many cities are struggling with nowadays, but is a must for transforming cities to sustainable and resilient engines of growth in both developing and developed economies. This course will provide you with the basic principles of urban infrastructure management that are fundamental for building prosperous cities that are sustainable, resilient and efficient. In order to obtain a certificate for this course, the participants have to pass four graded quizzes and complete four mandatory assignments, plus a final exam. In addition to the graded assignments students have the option to write a 7-10 page peer-reviewed case study about management of energy OR transportation system in their city (on your own choice). The best case studies will be also evaluated by our jury at IGLUS and the authors of the 3 best case studies will win a full tuition fee waiver scholarship to enroll in the IGLUS professional training program in Spring 2017. You can also pre-enroll in our upcoming MOOC on Smart Cities now. Find our more here: http://iglus.org/smart-cities-mooc/...

Top reviews

AS
Jun 2, 2016

Great course! I hope the team releases the following module. The material provided is really good and the lectures are dynamic and well edited. The short answer assignment could be peer reviewed!

ST
Feb 22, 2017

Very informative, well planed and presented, learned a lot and piqued and interest to continue with part 2. Thank you to the lectures and all that were involved in this course for the hard work.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 148 Reviews for Management of Urban Infrastructures – part 1

By Gundala G n

Jul 8, 2018

Good to learn

By Lu C

Aug 23, 2017

Great course!

By Baswara K

Apr 20, 2020

Magnifique!

By Muhammad Y

May 11, 2020

exccellent

By Shaik A H

Jul 8, 2018

Very good

By Mubarak S

Aug 23, 2017

Very Nice

By Carolina P

Apr 22, 2018

love it

By Sihyun L

Nov 6, 2016

GREAT

By Viacheslav B

May 11, 2019

good

By SOUMAJIT M

Jun 4, 2021

vry

By Oriana C

Apr 15, 2016

S

By SWETHA S

Feb 14, 2021

Satisfied with the course content.. Gained valuable inputs on enhancing our surface level knowledge on the role of an urban infrastructure and its associated elements in city development. The course gave the opportunity to apply these concepts in our individual city's context, enabling us for their in-depth learning and sensitizing with the current situation. I appreciate the facility of improving assignment scores which has helped me learn concepts thoroughly, and also convenient scheduling of course content. Thank you so much for offering a wonderful presentation. Looking forward for more such topics which are of due importance in our modern day infrastructural development.

By Numair B

Nov 3, 2020

Great course material that helps gather a fundamental understanding of managing urban infrastructure. Course presentation materials doesn't fully coordinate with the lecture presenters verbal discussion which can create some confusion. Quizzes are challenging, although a bit confusing.

Recommend for anyone who wants to better under local and regional urban infrastructure management.

By Lorenzo R

Jun 30, 2016

I learned a lot about Urban Management. I already loved the topic and during the course I liked to see what I studied in my city. I will write the final exam statement about the study of my city as soon as I can. Thank to the professor and to the EPFL for the course.

By Ahmad S

Dec 2, 2017

It gave me insight into what it means to have a functional city, and also to appreciate the efforts of the municipal authorities. Indeed, knowledge gained here is indispensable and shall be applied in my desire to see my city become efficient and functional.

By Sarath B M G

Mar 23, 2019

This is very good course. Through this course, I'm able to logically connect the problem of city infrastructure and derive sustainable solution of the issues faced by the city. I will strongly recommend to all the urban practitioners.

By Niyati C

Sep 29, 2016

Great course to understand the different aspects of urban infrastructure namely, energy and transport. It talks about various actors playing the role of managers and operators and the challenges faced by them. A good course overall.

By Patricia A R

Feb 15, 2017

¡Un curso muy interesante! Los estudios de caso son muy útiles para entender mejor los temas tratados en cada unidad.

Very interesting course! Case studies results very useful to understand better the issues explained in each unit.

By Prathamesh J

May 27, 2020

Course is optimum in terms of clarifying basic concepts of urban infrastructure management, more implemented examples should be given while explaining the concepts. Had fun learning the course! Thanks prof. Matthias!

By Andres S

Apr 17, 2016

This is a great introductory course which lets anyone learn the layers, management styles and agreements that all have to work together in order to provide an effective and concise Infrastructure model.

By Ali M

Jun 15, 2017

It was really interesting course, full of interactive lectures presented by famous professor of EPFL. I wonder why there is "part 1" endorsement at the title of the course, when there is no part 2.

By Rajat T

Dec 31, 2016

Course was very nice but you could have added details about other infrastructures. I was expecting information about other infrastructure will be in week five but in week 5 there was only exam.

By Philip H

Jun 13, 2016

Very interesting course, that covers the broad fundamentals of Urban Infrastructures. I liked how the content was made relevant by case-studies and quizzes that focus on your city.

By Yoann H

Jun 7, 2018

A good overview of urban infrastructures in the world, independently of national contexts. A good start to pursue then with specific features or contexts of urban infrastructures.

By eder a r c

Dec 16, 2016

Curso básico para entender sobre la administración de la infraestructura urbana. Recomendado.