Chevron Left
Back to Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners by Shanghai Jiao Tong University

4.7
318 ratings
88 reviews

About the Course

Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for beginners is a beginner's course of Mandarin Chinese. It uses lectures, short plays, interactive exercises and cultural tips to help learners build a fundamental capability of oral Chinese in real-life situations. At the end of the 5-week course, the learners will reach the following proficiency: ♦ 150 words ♦ 20 language points ♦ handling 5 real-life situations This is a beginners' course, therefore no prerequisite is required....

Top reviews

ME

Nov 09, 2017

This a great course to learn Chinese for real-life purposes. The pace is perfect for adult learners. It's also fun and not stressful at all.

DM

Jul 12, 2017

This course gives you the option to learn the characters or to simply learn the pinyin. The dialogue videos and scripts are very helpful.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 85 Reviews for Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners

By sanjay d

Dec 19, 2017

For me this has been an excellent program. One may add that since Chinese is a tonal language and English language as practiced today, does not have ways and means to capture nuances of the Chinese language, it takes some time and effort to get understanding of it. I would like to complete the next stages of the course.

By Stella E

Feb 03, 2017

A really helpful mandarin learning course including several useful daily topics. The teaching methodologies are quite appropriate for beginners.

By Doni B m

Jul 02, 2017

Superb!

By lillianwu

Jan 21, 2017

I really enjoyed the course. The instructors are fantastic, and I also liked the way they use videos and online interactions to deliver the content.

By Juan C M

Nov 20, 2017

Excellent!!

By veronica k k

Aug 06, 2017

one of the best teaching on line courses i have done

By Irfan H

Dec 16, 2017

Very Nice and great way to learn chinese. I love it

By Margaret

Feb 05, 2018

This course is very helpful. You have given us some of the most important phrases that we might use in everyday basis. I really recommend this course for anybody that's interested in Chinese and eventually become fluent in Chinese.

By Manuel E

Nov 09, 2017

This a great course to learn Chinese for real-life purposes. The pace is perfect for adult learners. It's also fun and not stressful at all.

By Stephan R

Jul 20, 2017

Nice and easy to learn. You will have video lessons as well as short text lessons.

Overall, a good start for those, who want to start learnin Mandarin Chinese.

By Ilanka

Feb 27, 2018

A very good course. Thank you!

By Alexander F

May 06, 2019

Very good, also from didactical level. Almost like a real teacher

By José M G

Jul 23, 2019

A lot of material and vocabulary. Also you can learn the characters in Chinese.

By Lanesia J

Jun 05, 2019

I am truly grateful and excited! Thank you so much!

By Michaela Y

Aug 08, 2019

I love the way this course gives out information, it makes things so much ea

By Orawan S

Aug 09, 2019

this course makes me enjoy and active to learn more

By IVIE

Aug 15, 2019

Great things!

By Pedro J R

Aug 27, 2019

Es una excelente forma de aprender desde cero el mandarín. El curso permite entrenar habilidades básicas como el escuchar, pronunciar con entonación y hasta escribir! Recomiendo el curso a aquellas personas que no han tenido un acercamiento anterior al idioma y a la cultura de China. PD: Los tips culturales son una sección muy enriquecedora del curso.

By Ketty U

Jul 10, 2019

Muy buena metodología de enseñanza.

By Garima R P

Sep 21, 2019

This is a very useful course for people who wish to learn the basics of Mandarin Chinese language and hope to / will be visiting China someday and are thus seeking to gather some rudimentary skills for managing themselves there.

By Udayan C R

Dec 27, 2018

A very good course

By Adi F G

Feb 11, 2019

I love it!

By Lien C

Sep 23, 2018

Easy to follow, however, I find the pace a bit too slow for me.

By Diego B

Nov 05, 2018

Very funny and useful course!

By Mark R

Jan 28, 2018

Great course, Would rate it 5 stars but for english speakers maybe having a close up and details of pronunciation of difficult letter combinations would make it easier as a lot of sounds seem similar or identical.