Chevron Left
Back to Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners by Shanghai Jiao Tong University

4.8
stars
1,081 ratings
245 reviews

About the Course

Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for beginners is a beginner's course of Mandarin Chinese. It uses lectures, short plays, interactive exercises and cultural tips to help learners build a fundamental capability of oral Chinese in real-life situations. At the end of the 5-week course, the learners will reach the following proficiency: ♦ 150 words ♦ 20 language points ♦ handling 5 real-life situations This is a beginners' course, therefore no prerequisite is required....

Top reviews

SR
Aug 8, 2020

Verry good. Chinese is difficult to learn but this course kept me intrested and practicing. I do recomend to print the pdfs so you can practice and keep information. Videos can be downloaded too.

NA
Apr 22, 2020

So I learned more things from here. Not only about the Chinese language but I really like Chinese culture and food too. This course is useful for everyone. Thank you so much.\n\nMr.Navin ARUNRAT

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 240 Reviews for Mandarin Chinese 1: Chinese for Beginners

By THATAWAN R

Apr 15, 2020

很好

By Greg L

Nov 23, 2016

I know it's difficult to encourage student participation - in the 'discussions' for example - but a bonus of some kind for participation might do the trick. Not sure whether coursera software provides a means of measuring participation, but a count of 'substantial' comment postings might be a measure.

By the same token, compulsory comments on the peer reviews would be helpful for feedback and also to indicate whether the peer reviews have been posted yet.

By Chris A

Oct 30, 2020

A great introductory course for those who desire to learn one of the most difficult languages in the world - Mandarin Chinese (中文). Suitable for people interested in the language or culture.

My only negative is that the work is much more intensive than mentioned, and should not be done without a little knowledge of the language itself.

Otherwise, a great course and one which is well structured and a great glimpse into China itself.

By Göran

Apr 17, 2018

Very good examples and having access to the PDF:s for each lesson. A bit too fast rolling of the video sometimes in the "plays" when you are supposed to read the lines after the actors. Too little explanations about why new words are used as they are. how to effectively use them in sentences. that is only "explained" through examples, but it could be explained in 2 minutes during each video, s

By Christopher W

Feb 15, 2020

I like the class format and the skits. I really like the "idea" of the peer-reviewed assignment, but it caused me a delay of like 3 weeks waiting for one of my peers' submissions to be available for review. I picked this class because the search thing said it used traditional characters, so I was kind of sad to see it was only simplified characters. Nice course overall.

By Frank J E

Jun 16, 2018

Great course for beginners . Does a good job at introducing Mandarin, and teaching a lot of basic conversational phrases and words. The quizzes are too simple in my opinion, they don't reinforce the material that well. But overall the course still provides a good starting point.

By Helen K

Oct 11, 2020

The "final" for Course 1 is speaking & peer feedback comments and your comments in return. This is WITHOUT knowing if your pronunciation is at all satisfactory, since there has been NO feedback along the way. This is why I've taken away a ★.

By Smita R

Jul 7, 2020

If you are interested in Chinese and would like to learn, this course is certainly practical for the beginners. There are not only the example conversation and how to use particular words, also provided cultural tips as well.

By Avishek K S

Jul 23, 2019

Very good teaching with practice sets. Totally worth taking it. My only concern is that they should have started with alphabets first for better understanding but still, it is good enough for speaking with native speakers.

By Mark R

Jan 27, 2018

Great course, Would rate it 5 stars but for english speakers maybe having a close up and details of pronunciation of difficult letter combinations would make it easier as a lot of sounds seem similar or identical.

By Mik A

Nov 21, 2017

I enjoyed auditing this class.

I especially valued availability of written text, the quiz questions used to qualify listening comprehension, and the free-form, open-ended discussion questions. Thank you.

By Whitney W

Aug 3, 2017

I had a few technical problems . But in the end it seemed to work out fine once there was finally a peer for me to grade. This course will prepare you for a short trip as a tourist in China.

By Mei S J A

Aug 17, 2020

The materials are quite clear but on the last week's peer review, I couldn't automatically find the peers tasks to be reviewed, I had to look for their tasks' links on the discussion section

By Rosa A V P

Oct 24, 2020

It's a great course but you need more vocabulary to make the proyect. If the course could link us a dicctionary or something like that It will be a great improvement

By Kaab A

Jun 3, 2020

The Course is designed so well that it gave me confidence of learning one of the most difficult language of the world.

By Rinrada T

Jun 3, 2020

Thank you for teaching beginner. I never have a basic skill but I understand very much. See you next course!

By Jessica A P P

Apr 16, 2020

It's an excelent course. I liked it, althought I would like it was in spanish too.

By Gislena

Jan 26, 2017

Very well explained and easy to follow.

Learnt a lot from this course

By Lien C

Sep 23, 2018

Easy to follow, however, I find the pace a bit too slow for me.

By Wisuttaporn I

Jul 8, 2020

good for anyone who wants to start learning Chinese

By Varisa C

May 20, 2020

The sound effect during in the video is quiet loud.

By Paitoon p

Mar 31, 2020

useful course for learning mandarin.

By Ayesha I

Jun 11, 2020

I really enjoyed this course.

By Diego B

Nov 5, 2018

Very funny and useful course!

By Kelly P

Dec 13, 2016

Good course. I learned a lot.