Chevron Left
Back to Marketing in an Analog World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Marketing in an Analog World by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
858 ratings
218 reviews

About the Course

Our new Digital World is dramatically changing the way in products are created, promoted, distributed, and consumed. Although these changes have been revolutionary, we still live in an Analog (or physical) World. For example, even today, over 90% of all sales are still conducted in Analog stores. Thus, both marketers and consumers must simultaneously navigate both the Analog and Digital Worlds on a daily basis. Although the Digital Revolution has received considerable attention in recent years, the impact of this revolution upon the Analog World has been largely ignored. This course examines this issue by asking, "How has the Digital Revolution impacted Marketing in an Analog World? This course will begin with an exploration of the key differences between the Analog and the Digital and then examine four ways in which the Analog World has been affected by the Digital Revolution: Domination, Resistance, Synergy, and Transformation. This course will contain several examples of each of these concepts and explore their implications for both marketers and consumers. This course will also employ a variety of learning techniques, including video lectures, case studies, hands-on exercises, and interviews with leading marketing scholars. The learning approach will be highly interactive; you will have the opportunity to engage in a variety of hands-on activities and be a member of a rich learning community. I hope you will join us in this educational adventure....

Top reviews

AS
Oct 10, 2020

Quite unique in its view of Analog VS. Digital in today's world. I would recommend it for any aspiring marketing professional as it offers a different perspective than most digital marketing courses.

AA
Jan 30, 2020

Very good course. Prof. Aric delivered again just like he did in his other course Marketing in a Digital World. I will recommend it to anyone interested in a career in Digital Marketing.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 214 Reviews for Marketing in an Analog World

By Murtuza Z H K

Jul 31, 2018

Great course

By Sarunya W

Jul 5, 2018

Great course

By Vibol M

Feb 16, 2018

very usefule

By RUSSELL M

Nov 6, 2017

Great Course

By Minghao G

Apr 6, 2020

great class

By Jonathan E U V

Nov 29, 2019

Excellent.

By Samantha L M

Nov 4, 2020

Awesome!

By Shubham D

Jan 22, 2020

awesome

By Gaurav B

Dec 16, 2019

Great

By Nitesh N

Oct 4, 2020

good

By Sudeepti P

Jan 24, 2020

Good

By Ali a

Nov 6, 2020

c,,

By Janice G

Aug 19, 2019

G

By Nishant M

May 2, 2020

The course provided a good insight into the digital marketing world at a fundamental level. It is an up to date course to understand basic concepts. It helps to stay sharp with case studies and video lectures, which are very engaging. The case studies are fairly challenging and bring out your understanding of the concepts in the module. However, the feedback mechanism on the case studies via peer-to-peer reviews seems a bit flawed as there are a lot of loopholes, students copying answers without citations, some downgrading you because you provided citations and they don't know what that means, students giving bad reviews if they have been rated badly by you, even if your feedback is honest and constructive. Overall, its a good course that could help solidify your fundamental understanding of digital marketing.

By S R

Jul 16, 2020

Professor Aric is terrific and I learned a great deal. Is there a way to make ongoing changes like some of the courses in Coursera do? For example, one of the professors is not even in academia anymore and some of the bleeding edge stuff gets left out. I know it is not possible to shoot videos every couple of months--but if every 6 months or so a checking in of sorts can be done, things will be more current. Needless to say, things change so fast in this world that today's novelty is already stale tomorrow.

By Rishabh G

May 24, 2020

I do not understand that even after completing the entire 6 courses i Specialization, I am unable to access the Capstone. And there is no help available at all.

Rest of the things are good in the course. Excellent faculty and material.

Suggestion: we should add as an activity- A blog/article writing to be published on Coursera page.

By Bhushan P

Jan 16, 2018

The professor, as always, has a good fun+teaching way of putting things across, which works for me. However, the course material needs to be looked at, as a couple of videos have wrong transcripts and students have raised the issue as far as 3 months back but to no avail.

By Marcell N

Aug 25, 2020

The other courses in the specialization were not so strong. Rather superficial, for newbs. This one had more depths and went into a rarely studied field. Plus the humor of Prof. Aric is great.

By Jennifer N

Nov 15, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and felt the professor structured the modules well building concepts for understanding how analog and digital fit together in this ever changing world.

By Magda G C V

Dec 15, 2019

Very good course. At the begining, modules are kind of long and maybe not necessarily to explain the concepts but just to explain the examples. Could be done shorter.

By Subhajyoti C

Oct 23, 2019

I like the presentation however not sure if it meant sense to have so many exercises. They ofcourse did add value but needed some diversity.

By Joseph R P

Nov 10, 2020

Answers required are typically 3 sentences to 5 bullets. Could have been more challenging in regards of thought experiment essays.

By Mehrdad k

Jan 20, 2019

thank you so much from all people who worked hard to create.this nice course

God bless

By Brett C M

Dec 17, 2019

A good addition to bookend the Digital Marketing Specialization.

By Ankitha P

Nov 4, 2020

was interesting. All the interviews were insightful