Chevron Left
Back to Marketing in a Digital World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Marketing in a Digital World by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
15,477 ratings
4,991 reviews

About the Course

This course examines how digital tools, such as the Internet, smartphones, and 3D printing, are revolutionizing the world of marketing by changing the roles and practices of firms and consumers. Marketing in a Digital World is one of the most popular courses on Coursera with over 250,000 learners and is rated by Class Central as one of the Top 50 MOOCs of All Time (https://www.class-central.com/report/top-moocs/). You will be able to: • Understand how particular digital tools are changing the development of products • Explain how digital tools allow for a more active role in promotion activities and product distribution • Understand the role of the customer in setting the price of goods and services through digital tools This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

SS
Oct 8, 2019

With no prior knowledge of digital marketing, this course helped me to understand all the basic concepts and enhance my interest in marketing field. I have already enrolled myself into another course.

MS
May 27, 2020

This is very helpful in making me learning about marketing in digital world. This is also going to be helpful for me in future. And as well the certificate of this will be beneficial for me in future.

Filter by:

4726 - 4750 of 4,900 Reviews for Marketing in a Digital World

By Satyam K

Sep 9, 2017

i took the course when the pricing structure was different and we had to pay per course. That model was very expensive and the content offered in the course in that amount was not worth the price i paid. now, since we are paying monthly and can complete as fast as possible, i think it would be worth it.

By Linda L

May 15, 2018

The course is great, but the material is a bit outdated for 2018. Although the digital age is moving very fast and it is not easy to keep up. It feels that some more current up to date information is lacking. Overall a great course to start you first steps in the Digital world.

By Shrinivas G

May 28, 2017

Very good learning and very nice explanation. Just that the material is very outdated. You really need to revamp and update the course curriculum. As a Digital Marketing Manager, I had come across multiple tactics and opportunities that we had exploited at least 3-4 years ago.

By Vaibhav S

Jan 3, 2018

The course talks only about how digital marketing can supplement the normal marketing, and only talks about the physical products.

It would be very helpful to learn how to market services and online products [think of a new social platform or someone starting an SEO firm].

By Ricardo V

Mar 11, 2016

Videos rather slow and don't keep you focus. Voice of the professor is rather low key and slow. Hard to pay attention at times. Even though there are examples, it should be more interactive with other videos rather than links of text.

By Jaume A

Jun 18, 2017

It was a good course, but felt short of my expectations due to too many case studies with excessive details without giving you a proper framework to learn to think 'digital', what I meant is that I felt I was learning from anecdotes.

By Farshad J

Sep 16, 2015

This is a valuable course which tells you new innovative concepts about digital marketing, but I think many ideas introduced here are going to work for large businesses. so as a small business owner this course is not perfect for me.

By Cleber F

Feb 20, 2017

In general I liked the course and content! However, some cases studies should be updated. The digital world changes dramatically fast and the course must follow it. We always expect to learn the latest trend and current examples.

By D. M

May 4, 2016

Some good case studies and interesting content, but it's a 50,000 foot view of marketing. I was seeking a more technical and channel specific insights. This is much more conceptual and high level, so it was less useful for me.

By Akshat C

Jun 30, 2020

I expected it to be related to marketing using social media. However, it is about 3D printers and 4Ps of marketing and how the digital tools are changing them. I strongly think that the course material needs to be updated.

By VL

Mar 23, 2020

I enjoyed this course on a high level.

It could use how to examples such as how to set up and run a digital marketing campaign.

Having stated the above, I would take this course again because it was fun.

Cheer, Victor

By André R C

Apr 16, 2020

Too superficial and students exam method has this great flaw needing others students availablity to evaluate each others. On average it takes 3 days to get submissions evaluated holding you back to move forward.

By Caroline K

Nov 21, 2017

This course would be more helpful if the content was updated. We are reviewing case studies and articles that are 3-4 years old. Updated, more relevant content would take this course from ok to great.

By Benoit J E A

Dec 22, 2016

Too basic, lack of academic insights, too much simplification of the concepts.

Suitable and for sure insightful for participants without any business background whatsoever, but not for others.

By Liu X

Oct 10, 2016

Great learning overall. The down side I've found is that Peer review assignment, some of the peers don't review my assignments nicely, I tried to make interaction but seems not working.

By Belisa M B

May 1, 2019

It was a good course. A good started point. However, I would have liked for it to be more current. Some of the information is now outdated as we are in 2019 and so much has changed.

By Jeanine D

Mar 23, 2017

Given the great reviews I expected a lot more from this course. It does cover some new developments and provides good examples, but otherwise quite boring and standard fare.

By Shandice S

Jun 12, 2016

This course definitely enhanced my marketing knowledge but I recommend it be updated. Assignments such as Red Laser should be updated considering the app has been shut down.

By Ivor C

Feb 3, 2020

For the course it was easy to understand and clear which worths one more star. But sadly, I had technical problem with changing session and support was not very helpful.

By Cássia R A M

Mar 30, 2019

The content of the classes is very good, but sometimes the teacher makes the class very monotone. As an online course I think it is important to have more dynamism.

By Vishal M

Aug 9, 2016

Good start to the course. Though I feel more energy and enthusiasm by the instructors would uplift the course. Some content is not prevalent at present (outdated).

By Vidmantas

Jan 6, 2017

The content is already old and needs to be updated. Of course it is still actual, but still - the newest text are from 2014, so newer examples would be great.

By Mariam I

Jan 2, 2016

The professor is a bit monotone, he needs to be more animated. There are too many assignments , not all can be done while living outside the United States.

By Anthony​

Jun 10, 2019

The program started off great, but then took a turn where I wasn't sure if we were learning about digital marketing or how big box retails are struggling.

By NG W K

Jul 24, 2016

The concepts and knowledge this course covers are useful and practical. The length of the videos is the only thing I dislike. Sometimes they are too long.