Chevron Left
Back to Marketing in a Digital World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Marketing in a Digital World by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
16,020 ratings
5,175 reviews

About the Course

This course examines how new digital tools, such as the Internet, smartphones, and 3D printing, are revolutionizing the world of marketing by changing the roles and practices of both firms and consumers. Marketing in a Digital World is one of the most popular courses on Coursera with over 500,000 learners and is rated by Class Central as one of the Top 50 MOOCs of All Time (https://www.class-central.com/report/top-moocs/). You will be able to: • Understand how digital tools are changing the nature of marketing • Explain how digital tools allow consumers to take a more active role in product development, promotion, placement, and pricing activities • Obtain a new set of concepts, tools, and stories to enhance your digital marketing efforts This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

SN
Jun 27, 2020

This is my first course in Coursera and I loved it explicitly. Professor was kind, I loved his way of delivering lectures.Easy explanation and numbers of examples help me understand better.\n\nThanks.

MS
Jun 23, 2020

Very interesting perspective, way different from the general marketing courses available. The course covers new and emerging dimensions of the digital world. Love to attend more courses. All the best!

Filter by:

5051 - 5075 of 5,108 Reviews for Marketing in a Digital World

By Jingting L

Aug 21, 2019

This course serves as a reminder for how important independent, critical reasoning is to counter fads. Many of the technological examples and the companies studied have not stood the test of time. Many can soon become counter-examples of how digital innovation can go wrong. Yet the course has not been updated to reflect that.

By Tori T

Oct 25, 2016

I have to apologize this course was so out of date. Yes, I learned a few things, but the recommended reading was from 2010 and 2011. One of the assignments was about an app that no longer exists. Had I not already purchased multiple classes I don't think I would continue on. I hope the next classes are more up-to-date.

By Gina M C

Apr 26, 2016

The videos are long and not engaging enough. Rather than digital marketing concepts, this was more an application of trends to traditional marketing concepts. Some of the topics are already outdated and some assignments were more applicable to those residing in the U.S. or are not exactly feasible to do at this point.

By Mark J

Jul 22, 2020

Complete waste of time. The user review process is a joke. I lost points because my "answer was short." Not that it didn't answer the question or that it was a bad reponse. Literally that it was short. If you have to explain the most basic of questions with a paragraph then you probably don't understand the topic.

By Priya V

Sep 28, 2018

All the information, case studies, academic studies, research papers, tools sites in this course are very old. In this digital age when everything is moving & evolving so fast, why is this basic section of the specialization not being updated? This course was not worth the money charged by coursera.

By ILKIN H

Mar 12, 2018

Whoever creates this course has no shame. They took my 40 euros and gave me a material that can be found on Wikipedia. The most shameless act I have ever seen in my life. I hope you will get heavily sick and will buy medicines for that 40 euros. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Co-creation

By Swosti A

Sep 29, 2020

I am suffering for verifying my id. please check it

Enter your real name. This is the name that will appear on your certificates. We may contact you to verify your identity, so please make sure this matches the name on your government-issued ID. why this ??

By Siddharth M

Apr 16, 2018

This was really an disappointment as nothing about Digital marketing is specifically taught in this course, it's just a waste of time to spend money and time on this. The certificate is worth nothing, it's a clear NO. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS.

By Rene B

Dec 24, 2015

IMHO a very superficial course.

Lots of outdated material (user-generated content was a big thing 5 to 10 years ago, not anymore). Lacked going in depth.

It discouraged me from pursuing the rest of the specialisation.

By Anastasia B

May 12, 2018

Seems like the course was designed for my great grandma who's never heard about those things before. Too much evident and too much academic. I was expecting something more practical to use in my online business.

By Ahmed M H

Jun 27, 2020

So bad, instructor is teaching and marketing for products he likes and use only, and giving quizzes about the product info and features which are not related to marketing at all.

Overall time and money waste.

By Barnard M

Jun 25, 2021

I have completed my course today. I was so excited, but my excitement was short lived as i struggle to verify my identity no matter what method i used. It means i won't get my certificate!

By Jun J ( Z

Aug 30, 2020

Should be just a normal marketing course. It doesn't really teach you marketing. It teaches the concepts and names which are technically useless if needed in the real marketing world.

By DEBASIS R

Apr 7, 2021

My name is DEBASIS ROY, don't you understand. What made you feel my name is DEBABRATA ROY??

Even after so many requests can't you cange it?

What's the problem?

Not, even worth a rating.

By Ila T

May 27, 2020

It is very boring. It could have been more engaging and had some nice graphics to it. Right now... the tone is very dull and that makes it hard to complete the course.

By Ashley M

Jul 10, 2016

Paid for the course and never took it. Terrible professor teaching the course, the format was poorly put together, and just wasn't overall a very good course.

By Emiliano I V

Apr 21, 2017

I couldn't get passed the Starbuck assignment, I don't really understand why the choose such a bad application of digital marketing.

By Rahul K

Oct 25, 2017

Needs to be updated with more recent case studies, and more technical in nature. The 4ps can be condensed down to a single week.

By John W

Jan 2, 2021

The Peer graded assignment has been marked over-due for weeks/months even though I completed.

By Arjun m

Jun 20, 2021

i am unable to view my certificate even after completing the course and passing in it

By Luis A F L

Mar 17, 2016

Hated the course and the content. I truly regret investing my money on this course.

By Toni S

Oct 21, 2016

No guidelines for peer review assessments, technical issues, very clunky website.

By Tanish A

May 31, 2021

The Course is good,but I am having issues getting the completion Certificate .

By Elizabeth N K

Jan 20, 2021

this course isn't helpful to me..ALL WAS LOOKING FOR WAS SALES AND MARKETING