Chevron Left
Back to Marketing in a Digital World

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Marketing in a Digital World by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.7
stars
16,057 ratings
5,189 reviews

About the Course

This course examines how new digital tools, such as the Internet, smartphones, and 3D printing, are revolutionizing the world of marketing by changing the roles and practices of both firms and consumers. Marketing in a Digital World is one of the most popular courses on Coursera with over 500,000 learners and is rated by Class Central as one of the Top 50 MOOCs of All Time (https://www.class-central.com/report/top-moocs/). You will be able to: • Understand how digital tools are changing the nature of marketing • Explain how digital tools allow consumers to take a more active role in product development, promotion, placement, and pricing activities • Obtain a new set of concepts, tools, and stories to enhance your digital marketing efforts This course is part of Gies College of Business’ suite of online programs, including the iMBA and iMSM. Learn more about admission into these programs and explore how your Coursera work can be leveraged if accepted into a degree program at https://degrees.giesbusiness.illinois.edu/idegrees/....

Top reviews

SS
Oct 8, 2019

With no prior knowledge of digital marketing, this course helped me to understand all the basic concepts and enhance my interest in marketing field. I have already enrolled myself into another course.

SN
Jun 27, 2020

This is my first course in Coursera and I loved it explicitly. Professor was kind, I loved his way of delivering lectures.Easy explanation and numbers of examples help me understand better.\n\nThanks.

Filter by:

5051 - 5075 of 5,119 Reviews for Marketing in a Digital World

By Max R

Dec 24, 2020

Elementary understanding of the changing Digital World.

By Dr. R K

Oct 5, 2020

I am Still Waiting for my certificate

By Abhijeet S D

Jun 24, 2020

sound of videos are very low

By vinodkumar

Dec 11, 2018

Ok,not what I expected.

By Ivan T

Oct 10, 2016

Empty of content

By Samir s

Nov 16, 2020

it was good

By Anastasiia K

Mar 20, 2016

Didn't think that this is the best course for people who want to learn about Digital Marketing. The learning process is very slow and sometimes I felt that more could be learnt by just reading a number of books or articles on this topic.

There is no dialogue with the professor (or anyone who has more experience or knowledge, the assignments are checked by people who are also taking this course. Though one would expect to learn from the assignments and mistakes he or she makes during it. Instead some people who have ideas, maybe even wrong ones, about this specific area of knowledge, judge your work (I could be also wrong about those things and have to grade somebody's work, which is a bit confusing).

Besides, the assignments are not very interesting or challenging. I wouldn't recommend passing this course.

By Mattias E

May 14, 2020

I was so sadly unimpressed by the process of this course. I had one great week, with good teaching and content, and then when I was getting ready for week 2 - and I paid a membership to get to continue, the deadlines were several weeks into the future. Deadlines, that also guarded the content, meaning I had to stop. Meaning, it slowed me down and made me focus on other stuff instead of keeping the momentum going. Yes, it is also my responsibility, but the way the course was setup with deadlines and locked content - just doesn't make any sense and now it feels more like a money grab than anything else. Which is a shame, because the actual content seemed great.

By Alexandra A

Mar 21, 2017

Really poor approach to grade this course. Regardless of the effort put in on assignments, peer reviews are inconsistent, unguided and poor as a result, bringing down the final grade one is likely to obtain on a course. There is also a limited course support from the staff and no feedback in general for any of the issues raise. Personally I would not recommend

By Jingting L

Aug 21, 2019

This course serves as a reminder for how important independent, critical reasoning is to counter fads. Many of the technological examples and the companies studied have not stood the test of time. Many can soon become counter-examples of how digital innovation can go wrong. Yet the course has not been updated to reflect that.

By Tori T

Oct 25, 2016

I have to apologize this course was so out of date. Yes, I learned a few things, but the recommended reading was from 2010 and 2011. One of the assignments was about an app that no longer exists. Had I not already purchased multiple classes I don't think I would continue on. I hope the next classes are more up-to-date.

By Gina M C

Apr 26, 2016

The videos are long and not engaging enough. Rather than digital marketing concepts, this was more an application of trends to traditional marketing concepts. Some of the topics are already outdated and some assignments were more applicable to those residing in the U.S. or are not exactly feasible to do at this point.

By Mark J

Jul 22, 2020

Complete waste of time. The user review process is a joke. I lost points because my "answer was short." Not that it didn't answer the question or that it was a bad reponse. Literally that it was short. If you have to explain the most basic of questions with a paragraph then you probably don't understand the topic.

By Priya V

Sep 28, 2018

All the information, case studies, academic studies, research papers, tools sites in this course are very old. In this digital age when everything is moving & evolving so fast, why is this basic section of the specialization not being updated? This course was not worth the money charged by coursera.

By ILKIN H

Mar 12, 2018

Whoever creates this course has no shame. They took my 40 euros and gave me a material that can be found on Wikipedia. The most shameless act I have ever seen in my life. I hope you will get heavily sick and will buy medicines for that 40 euros. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Co-creation

By Swosti A

Sep 29, 2020

I am suffering for verifying my id. please check it

Enter your real name. This is the name that will appear on your certificates. We may contact you to verify your identity, so please make sure this matches the name on your government-issued ID. why this ??

By Siddharth M

Apr 16, 2018

This was really an disappointment as nothing about Digital marketing is specifically taught in this course, it's just a waste of time to spend money and time on this. The certificate is worth nothing, it's a clear NO. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS.

By Ravi

Dec 6, 2021

I enrolled this course thinking about Digital marketing techniques like SEO etc. But its isn't the same. I am unable to leave this course now. Not finding any options. Feeling like trapped. There should have been a clear click and cancel option.

By Rene B

Dec 24, 2015

IMHO a very superficial course.

Lots of outdated material (user-generated content was a big thing 5 to 10 years ago, not anymore). Lacked going in depth.

It discouraged me from pursuing the rest of the specialisation.

By Anastasia B

May 12, 2018

Seems like the course was designed for my great grandma who's never heard about those things before. Too much evident and too much academic. I was expecting something more practical to use in my online business.

By Ahmed M H

Jun 27, 2020

So bad, instructor is teaching and marketing for products he likes and use only, and giving quizzes about the product info and features which are not related to marketing at all.

Overall time and money waste.

By Barnard M

Jun 25, 2021

I have completed my course today. I was so excited, but my excitement was short lived as i struggle to verify my identity no matter what method i used. It means i won't get my certificate!

By Jun J ( Z

Aug 30, 2020

Should be just a normal marketing course. It doesn't really teach you marketing. It teaches the concepts and names which are technically useless if needed in the real marketing world.

By DEBASIS R

Apr 7, 2021

My name is DEBASIS ROY, don't you understand. What made you feel my name is DEBABRATA ROY??

Even after so many requests can't you cange it?

What's the problem?

Not, even worth a rating.