Chevron Left
Back to Material Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Material Behavior by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
499 ratings
101 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wondered why ceramics are hard and brittle while metals tend to be ductile? Why some materials conduct heat or electricity while others are insulators? Why adding just a small amount of carbon to iron results in an alloy that is so much stronger than the base metal? In this course, you will learn how a material’s properties are determined by the microstructure of the material, which is in turn determined by composition and the processing that the material has undergone. This is the first of three Coursera courses that mirror the Introduction to Materials Science class that is taken by most engineering undergrads at Georgia Tech. The aim of the course is to help students better understand the engineering materials that are used in the world around them. This first section covers the fundamentals of materials science including atomic structure and bonding, crystal structure, atomic and microscopic defects, and noncrystalline materials such as glasses, rubbers, and polymers....

Top reviews

SS

Mar 30, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

JL

Jun 17, 2016

The course was excellent. A lot of in-depth material, beyond even what I remember from college. Coverage of polymer systems in addition to the usual metals was very nice, and the

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 98 Reviews for Material Behavior

By VIJAYABASKAR.L

Feb 28, 2017

EXCELLENT LECTURES ABOUT THE MATERIALS

By priya n

Jul 26, 2017

nice course content

By Rhafael P

Apr 09, 2018

Brillant!! Thanks!!

By SASIDHARAN P

Apr 29, 2016

excellent

By Gustavo A V B

Jul 30, 2016

This curse is the best form to increase your knowledges

By Rady A R

May 09, 2016

I think that this course is excellent.

By Sazzad H S

Mar 30, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

By SHUBRAJIT B

Jun 05, 2016

Good course.

By Navneet Y

Aug 31, 2016

Really enjoying the preview of the course.

By Haleh A H

Mar 13, 2018

A very informative course.

By Manas S

Jan 14, 2017

Very Helpful!!

By Payal S

Jun 13, 2018

It was useful for my research work on composite material.

By Appash M

Mar 12, 2018

Awesome

By Prashik M

Jan 30, 2017

Thank you Sir Thomas H. Sanders, Jr., for this vital and informative sessions, all thing is compel so nicely.

By Rishi M

Jun 03, 2017

Very good course, in depth concepts and fundamental concepts are taught in simple and lucid way

By 李一凡

Aug 22, 2017

useful

By Peter H

Oct 04, 2016

Can we have more about plastic materials?

By Senthilkumar

Jul 01, 2017

This course handled to the best

By penperoo7

Jun 12, 2017

well

By 宋武桐

Jun 12, 2017

I think this course is very good

By Nithiyaraj M

Oct 04, 2017

It is a well designed course also for the engineers from other branches like me.

By Deivid M C d S

Sep 06, 2017

excellent course!

By Arun k P

Dec 25, 2016

Explanation are clear

By Jeff L

Jun 17, 2016

The course was excellent. A lot of in-depth material, beyond even what I remember from college. Coverage of polymer systems in addition to the usual metals was very nice, and the

By Nando S S

Apr 02, 2018

Excellent course. I am graduated in Materials Engineering and enjoy ths course. Amazing review and I have learnt ohter concepts. I recommend !