Chevron Left
Back to Material Behavior

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Material Behavior by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.7
465 ratings
98 reviews

About the Course

Have you ever wondered why ceramics are hard and brittle while metals tend to be ductile? Why some materials conduct heat or electricity while others are insulators? Why adding just a small amount of carbon to iron results in an alloy that is so much stronger than the base metal? In this course, you will learn how a material’s properties are determined by the microstructure of the material, which is in turn determined by composition and the processing that the material has undergone. This is the first of three Coursera courses that mirror the Introduction to Materials Science class that is taken by most engineering undergrads at Georgia Tech. The aim of the course is to help students better understand the engineering materials that are used in the world around them. This first section covers the fundamentals of materials science including atomic structure and bonding, crystal structure, atomic and microscopic defects, and noncrystalline materials such as glasses, rubbers, and polymers....

Top reviews

SS

Mar 30, 2018

Material Behavior is a key subject for material studies and also very important for the mechanical engineering career. This course is very helpful and very easy to understand the hole concepts.

JL

Jun 17, 2016

The course was excellent. A lot of in-depth material, beyond even what I remember from college. Coverage of polymer systems in addition to the usual metals was very nice, and the

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 95 Reviews for Material Behavior

By Katarina I

Nov 03, 2016

Very good course for a begineer. Great professor. Many thanks

By Ravindra K

Jun 04, 2017

Very useful primer of a course. It refreshes a lot of the fundamental concepts in the Materials Science. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

By Talii M

Aug 12, 2017

Very informative. Thank you

By Benjie L

Jul 01, 2016

I love to learn this course. Thank you very much Coursera and Georgia Institute of Technology.

By 任驰

Jun 12, 2017

Very good!

By 唐雪松

Mar 06, 2017

666

By Aviral H c

Mar 24, 2018

very good

By Вэнго Б В

Oct 22, 2017

I'm from Russia, and this course was difficult because of language. But i got it, that was amazing experience. I want to note the definition of the teacher's speech. Also i learned a lot of new things. I will advise this course to my friends. Thanks for that!!! GL!

By Harikumar

Mar 11, 2018

awesome course

By Pattan A A S

Mar 31, 2018

Very good course.You can learn a lot from it

By S V K

Aug 20, 2018

This course is very fundamental and useful in understanding the different types of materials structures and their requirment

By Ramprasath K M

Oct 09, 2018

Very Nice Course .This will be very useful for mechanical and civil engineering.It was very interesting with lot of examples for each topics.

By MOHAN R N

Oct 24, 2018

Very Useful for Mechanical Engineers

By Siddhesh C

Sep 18, 2018

This course is very much informative and I learned so many basic concepts which are related to actual behavior of different materials.

By Umang S M

Jul 25, 2018

excellent course content

By Faiz K

May 16, 2019

Excellent content, delivered very effectively. Both presentations and narrative by Professor Thomas were excellent.

By 计真琦

May 27, 2019

非常地受用,学习得很紧凑

By Louis D R

Jun 05, 2019

Incredible teacher, incredible course, magnificently done.

By Madan M P

Jun 26, 2019

Excellent

By AMIT K G

Jun 26, 2019

very good course

By Elizabeth F

Jul 05, 2019

This course takes you from a general point of view of the behavior of materials to their paticularities. Definitions well explained and exemplified. I really enjoy it.

By Manoj

Aug 12, 2019

good

By Mariam I A

Sep 14, 2019

Thank you very much

By Tainá G R

Sep 17, 2019

Excellent course with an exemplary explanation about the relation between the microscopic and the macroscopic materials properties.

By Surendra D

Mar 17, 2019

good