Chevron Left
Back to Material Processing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Material Processing by Georgia Institute of Technology

4.8
stars
954 ratings

About the Course

Have you ever wondered why ceramics are hard and brittle while metals tend to be ductile? Why some materials conduct heat or electricity while others are insulators? Why adding just a small amount of carbon to iron results in an alloy that is so much stronger than the base metal? In this course, you will learn how a material’s properties are determined by the microstructure of the material, which is in turn determined by composition and the processing that the material has undergone. This is the second of three Coursera courses that mirror the Introduction to Materials Science class that is taken by most engineering undergrads at Georgia Tech. The aim of the course is to help students better understand the engineering materials that are used in the world around them. This first section covers the fundamentals of materials science including atomic structure and bonding, crystal structure, atomic and microscopic defects, and noncrystalline materials such as glasses, rubbers, and polymers....

Top reviews

FA

Aug 28, 2020

Very informative and descriptive course. It encourages a person to do self calculations. Lecture and the material available are all very well explained. Would love to take similar courses.

DU

Oct 29, 2016

Very informative and descriptive course. It encourages a person to do self calculations. Lecture and the material available are all very well explained. Would love to take similar courses.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 199 Reviews for Material Processing

By JOHN Q

Jan 15, 2018

FUN AND INTERESTING COURSE.

By Adarsh P

Apr 24, 2020

Very good course

By Dinesh K

Apr 11, 2020

Its very usefull

By Neel S

Jul 31, 2019

Great work !

By Rhafael P

Apr 1, 2018

Excelent!!

By Benjie L

Jul 4, 2016

Excellent.

By Thiago

Feb 25, 2019

very good

By kavuri v

Apr 18, 2020

thanks

By michelle t

May 13, 2019

otimo!

By Shrinivas N T

Apr 17, 2020

good

By Blessing S R

Apr 6, 2020

Good

By Harikrishnan

Dec 3, 2018

GOOD

By Jaskaran S

Dec 10, 2017

A very good introductory course that provides a good qualitative and basic quantitative idea regarding phase transformations ranging from 1 component to multiple components. This is very essential for one to understand the conditions required to get the material of your interest to desired phase.

By Hussain D

Sep 14, 2017

Its so academical course and important but it needs more applications to be mentioned

By Preeti M

Apr 13, 2020

I have selected a free course. But I did not get the certificate

By OM S K

Apr 22, 2020

teaching could be done more better by focusing more on basics

By zaid m

Apr 9, 2020

It had a lot of knowledge to be understood about a material

By Kataria M B

May 18, 2017

very usefull to faculty member as well as students....

By Fahriesa I S

Apr 13, 2020

this is really a good course for the fundamental site

By Mr.Kiattipoom K

Jul 8, 2016

Good Course for the biginner

By Jaminson A M C

Sep 22, 2019

Is very good one course

By Harsh G

Jun 12, 2019

Nice and useful course.

By Joshua K

Nov 19, 2016

Some quiz questions ask about material that is not discussed until later lectures. Some quiz questions are vaguely worded. Course seems under construction - many later lectures unquizzed?

By Halan F d S

Aug 7, 2022

O curso é fantastico, a linguagem do professsors é bem clara e objetiva.

Como eu não sou nativo na língua inglesa, não tive muitas dificuldades de entender o professor, as legendas em português ajudaram bastante em muitos casos, só gostaria que o tempo entre as atividades fossem maior pois eu tive que buscar em outros locais mais exemplos para poder concluir as atividades.

Recomendo muito o curso.

By Arijit P

May 14, 2021

I want thank Coursera for providing me financial aid. I am very glad to be a part of Georgia Institute of Technology by completing this course. This course will help me in my near future 😊. Although i am an Indian belonging from bengali medium school i never faced any problem with the language or type of teaching by the professor.

Thank you sir, thank you very much....love from Kolkata, India.