Chevron Left
Back to Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
3,609 ratings
889 reviews

About the Course

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top reviews

DK
Sep 23, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
Jul 17, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filter by:

676 - 700 of 877 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

By JUKI.A

May 20, 2020

g

o

o

d

By KULDEEP S

May 16, 2020

good

By Purva P

May 8, 2020

Nice

By YENAMALA U

Apr 29, 2020

nice

By Mahesh

Apr 24, 2020

Good

By Shrinivas N T

Apr 24, 2020

GOOD

By Kammara n

Apr 21, 2020

Good

By kavuri v

Apr 17, 2020

good

By Shanmuga p

Jul 27, 2019

Nice

By Harikrishnan

Nov 29, 2018

good

By Jitendra C

Aug 12, 2018

Good

By 徐士钦

Jan 30, 2018

nice

By yashar k s

Jan 1, 2016

Best

By Manyam v s

May 1, 2020

yes

By Mohamad S

Aug 2, 2019

Top

By 袁旭阳

May 26, 2019

棒极了

By Giancarlo O

Aug 31, 2020

ok

By OM S

Jan 28, 2017

OK

By Kaleru s

Jan 28, 2017

OK

By IM13_Harshrajsinh D

Jul 20, 2020

]

By Rongrong W

May 12, 2019

U

By sri k

Jun 11, 2017

PLZ READ IT ..IT'S NOT JUST A TEXT..MORE THAN THAT...

Hi madam,I'm Sriram from small township called Srivilliputtur have population of nearly 76,000 in Tamilnadu,India.I'm from middle class family having 3 elder sisters.Since my father got low wages which only fits for that day as tomorrow becomes big ?.I have dream or ambition of being a doctor but which is just a morning dream for my status.As i grew,my father got good respected position in our township and some what wealthy than before.I was so excited of being doctor.

But i got low cut-off for presuming doctor.So its impossible to come in scholarship and through management or private institution,the price for single seat without any recommendation is around 90 lakhs which is just for seat,where study materials and hostel fee are separate which is main reason for un-development of my nation in large scale.So i was pushed to join in engineering college.

At institution,i got knowledge but not in amount i excepted.At that time,i come to know about COURSEA and their free cost education of all streams.Then i enrolled in our community and Since i was longed to be doctor i liked to choose biological study and that's the way i got to you..

Proverb says that "THOUSAND MILES OF JOURNEY STARTS WITH SINGLE STEPS" .If the first step becomes wrong,the journey is impossible.I'm lucky in that way as i got my first step as massive one.you made my day madam.you gave me knowledge and interest of being a wanter. Now i can proudly says , I got 3 certificate through COURSEA only due to you.

It's not just for thanks giving ,i just like to share my feelings and says that like there are more than you excepted.

Again "THANKS FOR EVERYTHING YOU GAVE AND MAKING ME WORTHY" .

By Sharjeel M

Jan 28, 2017

My respective teacher has given us a task to complete this course,as a sessional activity. Astonishingly, when i heard the title of the course "Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know";their is not a single thing that come into my mind that what could probably the thing that we don't know.After completing the course,:Suprisingly';I find that actually i know about the 10 things.Eventually, I realize that i am not certain about the facts or building blocks about material science that this(10 things) is the main stream of it. Appreciatively, it is a remarkable knowledge that i have come to know about 'Material Science'.

By Muhammad T M

Jun 22, 2020

It was a good experience and learned a lot from this short course. This course has revived my concepts and boost up my understanding of materials and the most important properties related to it.

One thing i want to object is that when is verifying my id after completing this course. I have seen a check box. Underneath the box, it was written that people from Iran, Sudan, Crimea and one more country personnel were not allowed to attend this course.

This kind of hate, marginalization of these poor countries was the thing i didn't like.

By Max B

Jun 15, 2020

Informative, it outlines key concepts well in a good structure that's relatively easy to follow. As an A-Level student the equations and mathematics behind some of the concepts did confuse me and distract me from some simpler definitions. but pairing information from the course with information I found online and in books was a great combination which I would suggest while learning this course as it allows the topics to be understood at both quantitative and qualitative levels