Chevron Left
Back to Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
3,602 ratings
889 reviews

About the Course

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top reviews

ZM
Jul 17, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DK
Sep 23, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 876 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

By David S

Jul 30, 2019

Generally excellent overview of most topics but in some topics the presenter goes too deep too quickly in particular 'making things fast and slow' and 'semi-conductors'

By Abhishek B

May 31, 2020

very informative lectures and very good assignments, professor explain the things with real example

thank you so much please make more courses on material science

By Arun K

Jul 26, 2020

Very useful course. lots of important things are taught in this course. could have solved some examples to make it more clear. some definitions are missed out.

By Shreedatta A

May 10, 2020

Nicely drafted course for a a working professional for enhancing his skill sets on material science for improving failure prediction of certain plant pipings.

By Sachin A

Aug 26, 2020

Really good course. Every engineer should be aware of these properties of materials. It will improve the overall considerations while designing components.

By Sarajit D

Jul 26, 2020

The whole learning of the course has been good and quite smooth! The way he stood up with the lectures,it was amazing!looking forward to further learning!

By Mufid S

Jul 12, 2020

it was a very good and helpful course. i learned a lot of things during this course about material science and its importance in engineering applications.

By Shrey R P

May 19, 2020

The course was absolutely good. Almost all the topic were covered which are needed to gain the knowledge by the sir. And it was explained in much easy way

By Jan K

Feb 12, 2017

Very good overview of material science - lecturer did not get too deep inside each of the issues but he gave us an overview with hints for future studies.

By Nazanin S

May 22, 2020

The course gives you a very general view of Material Science. The quality of videos and covered topic is not the best,bust still not bad for a review.

By OmkarAcharya

Jun 29, 2020

Overall all the lectures were very informative. But I think it could be better if the videos of material testing were presented in these lectures.

By Bhushan V M

Jun 5, 2020

interesting . very good for engineering students specially in first year and beneficial for branches like mechanical, civil , structural , etc.

By Geet D

Feb 1, 2016

interesting . very good for engineering students specially in first year and beneficial for branches like mechanical, civil , structural , etc.

By sai s k s

May 10, 2020

I have learned a lot of new things but if there are more video lectures it will be helpful and live laboratory would help us understand better

By DEEPAK K P

Sep 16, 2018

A nice 'refreshing the knowledge' course if you have prior idea of the subject else it is very introductory, not at all for advanced learners.

By Rodrigo R d M

Mar 25, 2020

Curso muito bom, mas bastante básico.

Não é muito proveitoso para uma engenharia que tenha aulas de materiais, como a Engenharia Mecânica.

By Sebastian L M

Aug 29, 2019

I got a great general Knowledge about materials science applied to my own proffesion as a Chemical Engineer. It was a good course. Thanks

By Maria D A C

May 25, 2020

Very good foundational course, some of the material is very rushed off, but the covered topics are very good and very clearly explained.

By Roy M

Mar 14, 2017

I took this course as a review. I took Intro. to Materials Science 26-years ago. We used Dr. Shackelford's textbook for that class. Mat

By Santiago A V C

Jul 12, 2020

Un curso muy completo, lo unico que falto fueron algunas traducciones en lecciones importantes, pero en general muy bueno el curso

By Srinivasarao k

Aug 29, 2020

This is very useful to me to enhance my knowledge, and now I am able to explain this subject to my students. Thanks to my teacher

By Himanshu V

Oct 1, 2019

The lectures are short and sweet. There is a lot of new things I got to know even though I had read about some of those before.

By Robert S M

May 21, 2018

Loved the course. Dr. Shackelford made the subject fun and interesting, but be sure to pay close attention to what he says!

By Carlos C A

Jul 24, 2017

A useful course with interesting content. The professor teaches very well and one is able to understand the subjects easily.

By Benjamin J R

Sep 8, 2019

Great course.

Could have used some more real life examples to help explain the effect of concepts on material properties.