Chevron Left
Back to Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
3,655 ratings
896 reviews

About the Course

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top reviews

DK
Sep 23, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
Jul 17, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filter by:

751 - 775 of 884 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

By Roy M

Mar 14, 2017

I took this course as a review. I took Intro. to Materials Science 26-years ago. We used Dr. Shackelford's textbook for that class. Mat

By Santiago A V C

Jul 12, 2020

Un curso muy completo, lo unico que falto fueron algunas traducciones en lecciones importantes, pero en general muy bueno el curso

By Srinivasarao k

Aug 29, 2020

This is very useful to me to enhance my knowledge, and now I am able to explain this subject to my students. Thanks to my teacher

By Himanshu V

Oct 1, 2019

The lectures are short and sweet. There is a lot of new things I got to know even though I had read about some of those before.

By Robert S M

May 21, 2018

Loved the course. Dr. Shackelford made the subject fun and interesting, but be sure to pay close attention to what he says!

By Carlos C A

Jul 24, 2017

A useful course with interesting content. The professor teaches very well and one is able to understand the subjects easily.

By Benjamin J R

Sep 8, 2019

Great course.

Could have used some more real life examples to help explain the effect of concepts on material properties.

By Haibin Z

May 30, 2020

The course provide an outline for materials engineers, however short of example with actual application for the concept

By Simon L

Oct 1, 2018

I liked the course, good fundamental knowledge.

It lacked examples, but overall it was imperative to know as an engineer

By maddy g

May 3, 2020

Useful for getting a better idea of what material science is about, interesting different topics covering broad range.

By Aniket W

May 22, 2020

It was very interesting to learn material science with good examples & technically excellent knowledge by professor

By Hadar G

Apr 12, 2016

Basic course that give important information for every engineer. The course material is presented in a clear way.

By Kareem T K

Jul 13, 2019

Great course, I just wish the lectures showed a bit more details. I would definitely recommend it to others

By Dr. Z W

Oct 1, 2020

Thanks so much for your Lectures.

Dr. Zaw Win

Engineering Physics

Technological University (Mandalay)

Myanmar

By Nayan P

Jul 14, 2020

An informative and quick revision course. It helped me to revise all the necessary fundamental concepts.

By Biradar A

Jun 4, 2020

It was good to learn about material science and I have gained a lot more knowledge about the materials.

By JAY S P

Jul 23, 2020

it,s a usefull subject for all the department of engineering, you taught me well

thank you

james sir

By Carlton C

May 25, 2020

Appreciate if the graphs were available to refer after the lecture to refer during review of notes.

By Abdul-Rahman M

Mar 14, 2017

It Has a lot of useful info but you can get bored quickly so you must love MS and stick with it

By Ricardo A B

Dec 28, 2015

Good introductory course. It could use a little bit more presence from the responsibles though.

By Ron S

Jun 16, 2020

Good course to get familiar with important material science concepts for engineering purposes.

By NITESH S

Mar 13, 2016

good course for refreshing knowledge in material science ; should have been more elaborate

By PARAS H

Jun 24, 2020

This is the best course and a better site (coursera) to learn about anything, any course

By Karunanidhi R

Oct 23, 2018

Experimental videos and detailed explanation helped to understand the subject better way

By Henrique G R

Jul 26, 2020

The course was really good, but I think the last subject was a little bit more complex.