Chevron Left
Back to Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
3,904 ratings
951 reviews

About the Course

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top reviews

ZM
Jul 17, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DK
Sep 23, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filter by:

776 - 800 of 948 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

By Guillermo G S

Jun 30, 2019

Este curso me habría sido muy útil al momento que comencé a estudiar mi carrera, es una buena forma de comenzar a entender conceptos básicos acerca de distintos materiales en especial los metales.

By Adrian E G C

Nov 13, 2016

Fue un excelente curso, abarca una amplia gama del comportamiento y propiedades de los materiales que ayudan a entender el comportamiento y funcionamiento de estos en relación de su entorno y uso.

By Dmitry L

Jul 31, 2020

The course is nice and allows me to recover my 20-year old university knowledge (some topics) rapidly. I found some new and interesting things as well. Merci for the good materials to Instructor.

By Nivedan A

Nov 24, 2016

It is a really good course. I would recommend it to everyone interested in materials or engineering. This course helped me get a better understanding of some fundamental concepts of engineering.

By Shruthi V S

Apr 13, 2020

The portion that teaches about phase diagrams, particularly about the TTT diagrams were not easily understood. Could have gone into a little bit of detail to make concepts more easy to digest

By salman a

Aug 20, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. I suggest everyone to have prerequisite knowledge in material science and metallurgy. It will be difficult to understand the lecture without prior knowledge.

By abrar k

Mar 31, 2021

First of all Thank you Coursera for providing such a great course. This course was organized very well, the professor explained it clearly and I learned many new things from this course.

By Brian L

Aug 10, 2020

An excellent surface level exploration of some different topics in materials science. The last week is a bit difficult since the context for some topics is left out but overall, not bad.

By Syed R R

May 31, 2016

The course goes through all of the required topics within material science and gives proper information.

Professor's explanation and his description makes it easy to understand.

Thank You

By Hazzar M R

Sep 9, 2019

It's a great refresher course for those who have undertook materials science as one of their subjects at school!!! It gave me a good foundation pursuance to study this at grad school.

By Bilal E

Jul 29, 2021

It was helpful and easy to follow lectures for me. He explains everything so basic and furthermore he makes you think that you can do better things with your profession. Thank you.

By Nicholas Q

Nov 25, 2021

As someone with no formal engineering education I struggled with some of the terms and variables in the math applications, but most of the higher level concepts were accessible.

By vishal s

Apr 20, 2021

This course is for anyone who wants to refresh their memory on chemistry and physics form high school and understand about materials in depth with the same. Very interactive.

By Dnyandeep M

Aug 26, 2017

This course is meant for every engineer and one should take this course. It is very salient to engineering fields and consist varied subjects brief but essential knowledge.

By David S

Jul 30, 2019

Generally excellent overview of most topics but in some topics the presenter goes too deep too quickly in particular 'making things fast and slow' and 'semi-conductors'

By Abhishek B

May 31, 2020

very informative lectures and very good assignments, professor explain the things with real example

thank you so much please make more courses on material science

By Arun K

Jul 26, 2020

Very useful course. lots of important things are taught in this course. could have solved some examples to make it more clear. some definitions are missed out.

By Shreedatta A

May 10, 2020

Nicely drafted course for a a working professional for enhancing his skill sets on material science for improving failure prediction of certain plant pipings.

By Sachin A

Aug 26, 2020

Really good course. Every engineer should be aware of these properties of materials. It will improve the overall considerations while designing components.

By Sarajit D

Jul 26, 2020

The whole learning of the course has been good and quite smooth! The way he stood up with the lectures,it was amazing!looking forward to further learning!

By Mufid S

Jul 12, 2020

it was a very good and helpful course. i learned a lot of things during this course about material science and its importance in engineering applications.

By Shrey R P

May 19, 2020

The course was absolutely good. Almost all the topic were covered which are needed to gain the knowledge by the sir. And it was explained in much easy way

By Jan K

Feb 12, 2017

Very good overview of material science - lecturer did not get too deep inside each of the issues but he gave us an overview with hints for future studies.

By Nazanin S

May 22, 2020

The course gives you a very general view of Material Science. The quality of videos and covered topic is not the best,bust still not bad for a review.

By OmkarAcharya

Jun 29, 2020

Overall all the lectures were very informative. But I think it could be better if the videos of material testing were presented in these lectures.