Chevron Left
Back to Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
3,831 ratings
935 reviews

About the Course

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top reviews

ZM
Jul 17, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DK
Sep 23, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 932 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

By Meet P

Apr 4, 2017

Thank you for giving me excellent information on material science.It is very helpful course for me. Thank you University of California,Davis and coursera.

By Lavanya S

Jun 6, 2020

The short lectures are very crisp yet give the complete picture of the concepts. This course stands as a "must take refresher" for Material Science area.

By Shantanu D

Oct 22, 2019

It was best to learn from other professors and their teaching techniques are also best. Like to learn more. This was my first online course. Keep it up.

By Somanna B

Aug 23, 2020

A good introduction into the field of Material Science. I would like to thank Dr James Shackelford for being very articulate and making things simple.

By Prathamesh P K

Apr 25, 2020

The course was really good. Instructor James Shackelford ellaborated the course content really well. The videos were short, self-explanatory and nice.

By JACOB O O

Aug 8, 2018

This is one of the best course I have taken on Material Science! Down to earth explanatory, indeed every Engineer should know these basics. Thank you.

By mukku t

Oct 20, 2021

Course is very good & very helpful and informative . Professor is very experimental explanation added plus to get attention of listening & thinking.

By Pamela F G L

Dec 4, 2020

Me pareció un curso muy chévere ya que nos exige mucho en el área de la segunda lengua y sobre todo lo bien explicado que dan cada una de las pautas

By Fabian P

Mar 5, 2018

Excellent introductory course! Full of interesting topics that would lead you to investigate further into this topic. Thanks Professor Shackelford!

By Musharraf R S

May 10, 2020

A very good course to take up there are many things to learn.

Most importantly remember:

"Structure leads to properties"

by our Great Professor James

By Luis N H G

Dec 1, 2018

Es un gran curso, con saberes teóricos prácticos, de gran contenido y fácil apreciación para las aspiraciones de un futuro ingeniero enhorabuena!

By Cyril J

Apr 19, 2020

Excellent course to remember the basic things that a engineer should remember especially mechanical engineers. Thank you for making this course.

By Cliff J

Oct 21, 2020

This course presented the most intuitive explanation of material properties that I have come across in fourteen years as a practicing engineer.

By AZAHAR P

May 11, 2020

It was wonderful and very well explained about each and every crux of material science. and got practical understanding of material engineering

By Swapnil N

Jun 22, 2020

Very good course and personally I am looking forward for more deeper metallurgy courses from same speaker..He is too good..Thank you Coursera.

By Yekambaram R

Feb 4, 2020

This gives all the information required for understanding material science course for mechanical engineers. Thank you for offering the course.

By Dean A A

Jun 22, 2017

Professor Shackelford has good and clear explanation about this course. Outstanding in presentation delivery. Please keep posting new course.

By Md. I M

Jun 16, 2020

Wonderful course ever for me including all over the engineering students to know these engineering materials to apply their future prospect.

By Harshit S

Mar 18, 2019

The course emphasizes on the basic principles of Material Sciences. Explains with great real-life examples which are very thought-provoking.

By Maria E X d S

Oct 26, 2018

Is a great course to review topics related to materials engineering. I recommend for new graduates or for those who want to start college.

By Girijesh K S

Oct 31, 2021

This cour will defin add value to any engineers day to day working and improvise his ability to choos right mater for right application.

By Gao R

Jan 17, 2016

Very concentrative! The teacher demonstrates the basic concept and acknowledge that every engineer should know. Very impressive. Thanks!

By Maria E X d S

Aug 23, 2020

I am very grateful to have participated in this course and to have strengthened my knowledge in materials engineering after graduating!

By Daphne I

Sep 16, 2021

A wonderful experience where you learn to lose your fear and enjoy interesting concepts. I have really enjoyed this study. Greetings!

By Ahmed T A

Mar 21, 2021

I'm really grateful. This course has made a seemingly complex concept easy for me. Now I can say I know for sure what materials are.