Chevron Left
Back to Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
3,523 ratings
871 reviews

About the Course

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top reviews

DK
Sep 23, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

ZM
Jul 17, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 859 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

By shravani g

Jun 29, 2020

Its a very nice course and we got good knowledge regarding materials. Thanking you for this valuable course.

By Chirag G

May 22, 2020

This course gives a basic idea and knowledge about material science. I really enjoyed the course. Thank you.

By Anibal N

Dec 7, 2016

ESTE CURSO ME PARECIÓ DE LO MAS COMPLETO Y ENRIQUECERSE MI CONOCIMIENTO ACERCA DE LA INGENIERA DE MATERIALES

By Vivek P

Feb 9, 2021

Excellent course for learning basics about Material Sciences even without the relevant education background

By Drishya P

May 10, 2020

Beautiful course. Learnt a lot of important technical properties of various materials used in mundane life.

By Paulina C

Sep 11, 2019

Course is very clear, interesting and easy to follow. It was a great way to recall some of the information.

By NABEEL A

May 27, 2020

Great Course!! But I believe that the topic of "phase diagrams" could be explained in further more details

By Seli A

Apr 18, 2020

I really enjoy the way he explained, it easy for me understand it, thank you in advance for the knowledge

By ashish s

Sep 11, 2020

Great course..Brush up my basic concept of material science which i have learned in undergraduate courses

By Abhinav

Jul 6, 2020

Excellent course for those who wish to learn the core of material science quickly. Thanks you professor.

By Satish G J

Apr 5, 2020

Very good course to understand the basics of material science. Good for all engineering specializations.

By JOHN Q

Dec 19, 2015

What a wonderful course and wonderful review of stuff I hadn't reflected upon in years. Thanks so much

By Gaurav A P

Sep 6, 2020

An really important for course for learning Engineers in the field of Mechanical and Civil Engineering.

By Yogesh D

Jun 26, 2020

VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE CONTENTS. SIR JAMES ARE HAVING GOOD KNOWLEDGE OF MATERIALS. I SALUTE HIS EXPERIENCE.

By venkata s

Apr 1, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken. Explanation of minute details in a very crisp and elegant fashion

By Kristīne I

May 19, 2019

Very good description of study. More practical lecture. In another study course it is more theoretical.

By Stavros D

Mar 15, 2016

It's been a great ride so far. I wish I was able to do a lab and experiment with the material we learn.

By Prakash S

May 22, 2020

Such a great experience and I have learned new concepts for material testing. Thank you very much, sir

By Ernest R G

Mar 22, 2019

Very good course with lots of information well presented with practical examples in relevant contexts.

By Erin M

Sep 15, 2017

This is a good refresher of mechanics of materials, but goes into the atomic level and semiconductors.

By Pravin D

May 22, 2019

Great oppotunity to learn many thing at ease. Thank you very much for providing such a great platform

By HANUMAN G

Oct 12, 2016

its real express of materials properties and structure leads to properties and atoms structure etc...

By Prateek M

Jun 26, 2020

It was great platform even the professor thought me really well

i am throughly delighted

thanks a lot

By Harish

Mar 29, 2020

The course was brilliant and gives very crucial and deep information about materials properties etc.

By Sathyanarayanan J

Feb 23, 2019

It is a good course which provides a lot of knowledge.but i cant get my certificate after completion