Chevron Left
Back to Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know by University of California, Davis

4.7
stars
3,700 ratings
909 reviews

About the Course

We explore “10 things” that range from the menu of materials available to engineers in their profession to the many mechanical and electrical properties of materials important to their use in various engineering fields. We also discuss the principles behind the manufacturing of those materials. By the end of the course, you will be able to: * Recognize the important aspects of the materials used in modern engineering applications, * Explain the underlying principle of materials science: “structure leads to properties,” * Identify the role of thermally activated processes in many of these important “things” – as illustrated by the Arrhenius relationship. * Relate each of these topics to issues that have arisen (or potentially could arise) in your life and work. If you would like to explore the topic in more depth you may purchase Dr. Shackelford's Textbook: J.F. Shackelford, Introduction to Materials Science for Engineers, Eighth Edition, Pearson Prentice-Hall, Upper Saddle River, NJ, 2015...

Top reviews

ZM
Jul 17, 2017

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

DK
Sep 23, 2020

This course is good for engineers. It illustrated many fundemental and important concept in materials science. The teacher is great who explain nearly everthings in details with words and experiments.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 903 Reviews for Materials Science: 10 Things Every Engineer Should Know

By Firas C

Jul 13, 2019

Very Good summary of Material science , instructive and very coherent with a great way of delivering information.

By devesh K P

Jul 3, 2020

i would like to thank coursera and UC Davis extension for providing this much important and interesting course.

By Umair M

Mar 14, 2020

Very good explaination & presentation by the Professor. Concise course but very fruitful.

Thanks!

Umair Mohiuddin

By Preetish C D

Dec 12, 2016

Covers all the important topics a materials engineer should know. Good course to refresh your materials basics.

By Mitul B B

Jun 3, 2020

Very good containt... All students who are interested to this topic pls learn yhis course best opportunity...

By Пимкин Н А

Apr 4, 2020

Очень интересный курс, однако понять объясняемые темы без предварительного их изучения будет довольно сложно.

By Rishikesh G R

Jun 23, 2017

Great course as an introduction to the subject and while revising as it goes though all the important points.

By shravani g

Jun 29, 2020

Its a very nice course and we got good knowledge regarding materials. Thanking you for this valuable course.

By Chirag G

May 22, 2020

This course gives a basic idea and knowledge about material science. I really enjoyed the course. Thank you.

By Anibal N

Dec 7, 2016

ESTE CURSO ME PARECIÓ DE LO MAS COMPLETO Y ENRIQUECERSE MI CONOCIMIENTO ACERCA DE LA INGENIERA DE MATERIALES

By Vivek P

Feb 9, 2021

Excellent course for learning basics about Material Sciences even without the relevant education background

By Drishya P

May 10, 2020

Beautiful course. Learnt a lot of important technical properties of various materials used in mundane life.

By Paulina C

Sep 11, 2019

Course is very clear, interesting and easy to follow. It was a great way to recall some of the information.

By NABEEL A

May 27, 2020

Great Course!! But I believe that the topic of "phase diagrams" could be explained in further more details

By Seli A

Apr 18, 2020

I really enjoy the way he explained, it easy for me understand it, thank you in advance for the knowledge

By ashish s

Sep 11, 2020

Great course..Brush up my basic concept of material science which i have learned in undergraduate courses

By Abhinav

Jul 6, 2020

Excellent course for those who wish to learn the core of material science quickly. Thanks you professor.

By Satish G J

Apr 5, 2020

Very good course to understand the basics of material science. Good for all engineering specializations.

By JOHN Q

Dec 19, 2015

What a wonderful course and wonderful review of stuff I hadn't reflected upon in years. Thanks so much

By Gaurav A P

Sep 6, 2020

An really important for course for learning Engineers in the field of Mechanical and Civil Engineering.

By Yogesh D

Jun 26, 2020

VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE CONTENTS. SIR JAMES ARE HAVING GOOD KNOWLEDGE OF MATERIALS. I SALUTE HIS EXPERIENCE.

By venkata s

Apr 1, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken. Explanation of minute details in a very crisp and elegant fashion

By Kristīne I

May 19, 2019

Very good description of study. More practical lecture. In another study course it is more theoretical.

By Stavros D

Mar 15, 2016

It's been a great ride so far. I wish I was able to do a lab and experiment with the material we learn.

By Prakash S

May 22, 2020

Such a great experience and I have learned new concepts for material testing. Thank you very much, sir