Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking by Stanford University

4.8
stars
2,254 ratings
542 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Top reviews

PD
Jun 29, 2020

It has help evaluate what I put into decision in any applicable context. Since I've noted what decision I make and how outcome can be made to vary when I consider all components in a isolated manner.

AM
Nov 23, 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 527 Reviews for Introduction to Mathematical Thinking

By Varun K

Sep 18, 2019

Good for developing basic abilities like how to structure your proof, develop thinking through a well defined proof

By Uttkarsh K

May 18, 2020

Engaging course, very interesting for someone who is willing to learn patiently. Thank you professor Keith Devlin!

By Vladimir K

Mar 12, 2017

This course gave me a number of bright ideas about the extraordinary approaches, when you solving complex problems

By Sephi I

Nov 18, 2020

Thank you fantastic Dr. Devlin. Brilliant course. I only understood part of this material but it was captivating.

By Bart S

Sep 4, 2017

Great course, really challenges you to think outside the box and to apply techniques in a different perspective.

By Kucherov A

Jun 22, 2020

It helped me quite a lot to start working with mathematics without feeling fear of these strange alien symbols.

By Hugo B

Jun 3, 2020

Excellent Explanation and Course Structure from Professor Devlin. Thank you very much for these great 9 weeks!

By Hanjie D

Apr 26, 2019

The course is very intellectually challenging. But it is only be being challenged that you improve the most.

By Damian S

Jul 7, 2017

A fantastically challenging and stimulating course that will help you learn to analyse problems in new ways.

By Anne

May 25, 2018

brilliant lectures! Very easy to follow and quizzes and problem sets are very helpful. Fantastic professor!

By Alex A

Jun 3, 2020

Outstanding course. More dots were connected and a new and improved way of thinking emerged along the way.

By Aynur Ö

Feb 18, 2021

Bir matematikçi olarak çok verimli bir ders olduğunu söyleyebilirim. Pek çok farklı bakış açısı edindim.

By Abelardo L

May 7, 2017

Excellent course. I really recommend it to anyone that want to improve their overall thinking abilities.

By Oleg S

Aug 29, 2020

Fantastic job. I wish I had an opportunity to watch something like that back in high school. Thank you.

By Arne d R

May 8, 2017

A useful course to do if you want to go into some more discrete mathematics (proving things) after :)

By Artyom D

Jun 30, 2019

It's mind blowing.

Course is well structured, pace is doable and dr. Keith is pleasure to listen to.

By Ella B

Jul 5, 2018

Excellent introduction which teaches the rigour necessary for a mathematics degree extremely well.

By Abimael G P

Apr 29, 2018

very interesting course that help you to start thinking in a no ambiguous way and out of the mold.

By Tarek A

Mar 8, 2017

Best math teaching I ever enjoyed. If I could I would take up stuying the subject with Dr. Devlin.

By Dhayal R K

Jul 3, 2017

This is really a great course, I can feel lot of difference in my programming skills, Thank you..

By Wim G

Mar 8, 2017

oldfashioned enthousiastic presentation of basic skills in mathematics; i really liked this class

By Erman C S

May 24, 2017

Amazing, very introductory. I have fallen in love with how amusing math can be with this course.

By Paul A

Aug 7, 2017

A great introduction to mathematical reasoning, proof structures and elementary number theory.

By Dongmei

Jul 28, 2019

I only finished class 1 so far and I found myself love it and want to continue to learn more.

By Ananth V S

Mar 8, 2018

One of the best courses that I took. Its a must for any beginner into university mathematics.