Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
13,615 ratings
3,636 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

3101 - 3125 of 3,588 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Koushik C

May 19, 2020

This course started with absolute ground level basics and went up to a moderate level. I really liked this course, especially the challenging assignments which were quite standard I mist say. Thank You all for developing such an amazing course and keeping it updated as more features and functions are introduced by Mathworks in the newer versions of MATLAB.

By Vistasp E

Jun 23, 2020

A very well designed course for both total beginners and those seeking to add to their knowledge of MATLAB. The assignments at the end seem to be oriented though towards computer science and were tough for a mechanical engineer like me, wanting numerical problem solving. A well taught course with an extremely nice lecturer, who keeps it interesting.

By Chinmay B

Oct 9, 2020

The programming exercises are too difficult from week 5 onwards and the last week are off the charts difficult, they seem for pro programmers! Need to reduce the difficulty significantly and also reduce the number of weeks and videos. It is too long a course for beginners and amateur programmers to grasp and maintain attentiveness and enthusiasm.

By Solène F

Jun 27, 2020

Assessments become a bit too difficult from week 6 or the text does not carry the goal of the test as clearly as it did for previous weeks. The examples given in the course are extremely easy compare to what is asked during assessments and some of the MATLAB functions that are necessary to write the code are not mention prior to the test.

By Muhammad A

Nov 13, 2019

The course was really amazing and very useful but I think many other points should be explained. Also, the solutions provided are not self-explanatory. A separate video should be added to explain the solutions to the assignments. The biggest problem was that the final problems at the end of the course are very hard are not useful at all.

By Arpit S

Jun 5, 2020

This course was amazing but one thing it lacked was solved examples. We should have given 1 day of time for solved examples and then there should have been a locked video that opens after 24 hrs of reaching that mark. This way students like be would have gotten more knowledge about how to handle given problem in professional approach

By André d A F M

Jan 11, 2020

Excellent experience and amazing programming explanations. I thing that from lesson 4 on, the assessments were very hard to be approved (more difficult than the previous examples). Anyway I really recommend the course for those who has not experience with programming languages (like me) or those that want to know how MATLAB works.

By Ashwin C

Nov 12, 2020

This is a very beneficial course, for learning the fundamentals of programming and also getting to be formally introduced to the Matlab programming environment. Matlab today is being used in wide range of industries.So, skills learnt through this course would really helpful, when working for solving real world problems in Matlab.

By Tony Z

May 7, 2020

I enjoyed the class so much! It's a very good introduction to MATLAB. The Instructor is so smart and so FUNNY!

I liked so much the last tests, they are realistic and useful.

If you know nothing about MATLAB and you want to learn, this is literally the course you need.

If you aren't a beginner in MATLAB, I suggest another course.

By Juan S W B

Aug 16, 2020

The course is very good. The difficulty gradually increases so that you can challenge yourself. The only reason why I dont give it 5 stars is because at the end I feel the assignments were not clear at all. At the very last one, I literally didn't understand what I should do so it took me too much time just to figure it out.

By Vidal H G

Oct 12, 2019

Very complete and interesting course for getting started with MatLab. Though some of the final assignments were quiet hard, the lessons with Mike were really fun and usefull, and so the ability to rewatch them.

I woud gladly recommend this course to the people with little experience who want to start working with MatLab soon.

By Abhishek S C

Sep 22, 2019

i am in the third week of this course and it is designed for a beginner. They give very minute details about everything.In my opinion the best way to learn is by making mistakes and accepting them and this course is all about learning from your mistakes. they assignment are not difficult but require a little thinking.

By Harsh K V

May 26, 2020

The course is really beneficial especially for beginners. The instructor is amazing his way of teaching. I was able to understand in detail the concepts and was successfully able to apply the things on my own in the assignments. Still i wish if the lectures were shorter in length as some of the videos were quite long.

By Wee J H K

Jul 13, 2020

Pace was good, one suggestion is that for the additional test cases in the grading tool, please provide the some indication of what input arguments are used so that I can put test it out on MATLAB before submitting. This is especially the case for those where pressing "Submit" incurs a long waiting/processing time.

By YESSIMZHAN R

Mar 11, 2017

I like this course because of its step by step explanation and real computing problems. On the other hand the last exercises is a bit boring for me especially. I hope I will finish this course . I also want to recommend to everybody who is just started to learn computing, may be you must be good in English.

By Patil N

Sep 5, 2020

During this course, I learnt MATLAB programming concepts from very basics and got opportunities to implement the concepts successively. Those assignments gave me enough confidence to work with MATLAB and solve numerical problems using it. Moving forward I am looking for more practice in MATLAB programming.

By Skylar L

Apr 25, 2019

It would be better to introduce more examples for total beginners so that they are not thrown into the challenging questions immediately. Many of the items that were asked required a deeper understanding of the language than what was covered in the videos and it took away from the learning experience.

By Adeel K

Jul 21, 2019

The course was really insightful and interesting. I really like the humor of the professor and he did a very good job as a teacher. However, some of the exercises were really challenging, that takes up lot of time. If some of those concepts can be taught in the course that would be really good.

By Soundaryaa R

Jul 11, 2020

Very good teaching.I loved it.But what made me to deduct one star is that the assignments in last three lessons were way too hard for beginners. But, it is also good in some way because , that motivates you to do more difficult problems. Also, I thank my teachers for their awesome teaching....

By MANAN J S

Jul 12, 2020

It was amazing course and professor Mike Fitzpatrick's teaching style was too good and no one would teach matlab programming in so simple and easy to understand way. Course assignments was cool it helped me in increasing my problem solving skill and different ways to solve particular problem.

By Erik M

May 19, 2020

An otherwise fantastic course, although some of the homework assignments at the end may need a more elaborate descriptions of what is expected, in order to help debug, rather than having to search the forums and office hours. But, a good course for learning MATLAB, even the mundane parts.

By Balamurugan G

Jul 21, 2019

A nice foundation course for MATLAB amateurs. As a beginner, the lessons are well explained by the instructors and there are quizzes that gives you a chance to test your skills after the modules. The course also provides free MATLAB Online access, so the learning is even more comfortable.

By Subongkoj T

Apr 13, 2020

This is a course that every Matlab beginners should attend. The course starts with some basics but getting more and more challenging later. If you stick til the end of the course, you can learn a lot from all materials and assignments. Thank you for creating this course, I enjoyed it.

By SHAWQI M O F

Feb 10, 2019

This course is useful and informative. I have learnt a lot. Also I hope I can find another courses about Simulink or Advanced Programming with MATLAB introduced by the same instructor. Thank you Mr. Fitzpatrick and Mr. Ledeczi. Thank you Vanderbilt University. Thank you much Coursera!

By HARDIK C

May 31, 2020

The content was well explained and the instructor is amazing. The only problem is that the assignment questions are not clearly explained. More examples need to be provided in the question. I was totally clueless after reading the question. Otherwise the learning part is commendable.