Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
13,647 ratings
3,642 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

3151 - 3175 of 3,594 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Aravind m

Apr 27, 2020

towards the end .. it got really vague. it took a lot of effort to learn about audio processing and text processing , and the videos didn't do enough justice explaining them. but the rest was really helpful and the course was good overall.

By Aniket R

Dec 24, 2019

Great for beginners, you get to approach programming slightly by the lens of a mathematician, an amazing course, but for someone a bit towards novice side, go for it, it finds application in every major research field, you won't regret it.

By Monu Y

Sep 10, 2020

Instructor of this course is a very good teacher who encourage to do something interesting.

This course has definitely provided me with the necessary skills and confidence to use it in tackling the practical problems in the real world.

By Inge v d K

Jun 25, 2020

I agree with other reviews that the assignments (compared to the lectures) are quite tricky if you have no background in Matlab or another programming language. I had a Matlab course >10 years ago and this course was a nice refresher.

By Vijay G

Aug 1, 2020

How to get MATLAB license for this course, there is no instructio or Menu as said in the lesson-1, visited Vanderbilt Website and also Mathwork website asking course offering institutions email id please help govarthanvijay@gmail.com

By Gary N

May 24, 2020

Very engaging presenter. Some of the assignments tested more than your ability to program MatLab... sometimes it took a great deal of research to understand the type of problem you were being asked to solve (e.g. echo generator).

By Gauss1729

Apr 7, 2021

The instructor lucidly and concisely explained several different concepts in MATLAB, thus suitable for beginners to comprehend. But, hints must have been provided for the difficult assignments, which consumed a lot of valuable time!

By tsamourid

Aug 18, 2020

A very good course. The instructor is trying his best to make the lessons more interesting. A small drawback is that the 2 last assignments need a better explanation. I recommend it to anyone who wants to learn the basics of MatLab.

By MUKUL B

Jul 12, 2020

easy to understand and step by step learning, But the assignments are a a little difficult and use some extra sources than the video lectures as we need to consult the book for some functions .

overall best platform and course learnt

By Jitesh P P

Apr 17, 2020

Good introduction to MATLAB, loved the final exercises. It would be better if there is few more details provided on the exercises. Sometimes its difficult to know which formula's to use or what should happen on boundary conditions.

By Justin D

Mar 4, 2018

I think the course was very good, it really taught me how to program in MATLAB well. The only drawbacks where that it did not go over allot of functions that could have been used. Also, some of the HW assignments were unreasonable.

By Nafis A

Apr 18, 2020

A very effective course indeed. Instructor is awesome & very funny. He is one of the best instructor I've seen. The course is very interesting. The forum is also very helpful. But the exercises needs a little more explanation.

By Spico

Mar 5, 2017

Thanks a lot to all the teachers and assistants, you have helped me a lot. The lesson structure is clear and the explanation is easy to understand. I think it would be better if we can get some knowledge about some toolboxes.

By Charles-Alexandre R

Nov 25, 2017

A good introduction to MatLab but a lot of the homework problems could be worded more clearly and many should be changed so that one doesn't have to look up highly detailed information that doesn't pertain to programming.

By DEEPANSHU K

Jul 16, 2020

the course covers most typical sections of MATLAB ,overall the course is very useful for beginners the only thing i will like to suggest is introducing some more built-in functions which might save us dozens of commands.

By Gautam M

Mar 27, 2020

some upper level concepts are required towards the end, so be prepared by learning from blogs and specially from YOUTUBE.also if you got any friend or senior towards coding please do join him to grab some more concepts.

By Mushita M M

Aug 25, 2018

It was a nicely coordinated course and really helpful for practicing MATLAB but some of the assignment questions were a little bit unclear. Other than that the course was thoroughly awesome. Thank you to the mentor.

By Vikash K

Apr 8, 2020

last 2 week assignment too much difficult am unable to solve it , I take help from matlab central. in video not so much helpful to solve assignment .but i think programming needs lot of practice not only reading.

By Hunter C

Mar 18, 2017

Good course overall, however I feel that giving more problems to work would be beneficial. There should be worked problems in each section so that students can gain a better understanding of how to write the code.

By Abhijeet K

Apr 17, 2020

Assignments were too tough, specially in the end. The question were good and challenging but I would suggest you explain a few such types of problems in your video lecture and then move to hard sums. Thank you

By MICHAIL M

Feb 21, 2021

The course overall was great, though a better organization of lectures and specially new stuff presented in proper order, could make it perfect for a beginner!

Thank you for everything learned, really helpful!

By sourav s

Jul 8, 2018

sir,Fitzpatrick is excellent in the video lecture.Making us entertain throughout the course and therefore making the course easier.i am just near to complete my course and had an amazing experience till date.

By Vansh S

Jul 21, 2020

This course was really amazing and it is well scripted and made. A great effort by the teachers who made these lectures and it never seemed boring or cumbersome to me at any point of time during the course.

By Shah S Z U A

Jun 26, 2020

I didn't like the assignment of echo. The description was not sufficient to understand the mechanism of putting echo by code. Except this, the assignments were exciting and the lectures were clear.

By MASSIMO A

Jan 22, 2021

You should improve error message on test, because I lost a lot of time on debugger for error emulation path. Anyway, a bright example of remote teaching. Many thanks again.

Massimo Aceti, Dr. Eng.