Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
13,615 ratings
3,636 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

3176 - 3200 of 3,588 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Mohammed F G

Sep 23, 2020

I think the last few assignments were really tough. there should have been much more classes related to those final assignments. although, it was a great journey to begin with the MATLAB.

By Srinivas R

Oct 10, 2020

This course gives you a very good knowledge of MATLAB programming except the assignment questions for last week and final assignments looked way more difficult but not impossible to do.

By KOUSHIK M

Jul 22, 2020

I have loved the learning i have been able to do and look forward to taking many more classes with them...The videos are very well done . I appreciate the format and set up of course..

By Ajay M

Jul 27, 2019

The course was really nicely structured and the assignment was almost completely related to the video tutorial. Though it would have been great if we had dealt more in image processing.

By Mattia C

Feb 26, 2021

Loved this course and the Professor.

The only drawback in my opinion is that few videos where to long and boring, I would cut a little the videos that approach the 1h duration time.

By Ashwin A

Oct 9, 2020

The course is overall good. Just my humble suggestion, if possible, do add this - how to solve differential equations, non-linear equations, numerical methods, etc - using MATLAB.

By Ahmed K M E E

Jul 12, 2020

It's very recommended for beginners

I am one of them and I've learnt so much

I wanted some more details , extra level and solutions for assignments

but it still very good and useful

By A J

Jan 8, 2019

I found this course very informative and handy for knowledge. The homework was undeniably tricky but try your best at it and don't give up thinking. Keep thinking and persisting.

By Kevin S

Aug 20, 2020

Basic Matlab usage, not very advanced aspect of Matlab because it is an introductory course. But I think the assignments are very useful and can help develop programming skills.

By Parveen

Aug 19, 2020

Instructor and teaching both are good. But i found that last three to four assignment are a bit difficult for a beginner, that's the only reason i deduce one star from rating.

By Suhas S V

Jun 11, 2020

Great course! A humorous and brilliant instructor makes this course an awesome learning journey! But I felt that assignments were a bit too challenging for the beginner level.

By Vivek C

Jul 21, 2020

very informative and easy to follow, lots of new techniques that should help me on my way. It was fun to learn programming with matlab thankyou for your guidance and support.

By Eshwari

Jun 10, 2020

It was very interesting to learn programming with MATLAB, kind of matrices involved everywhere which has invoked more curiosity in me! Thank you, the staff were excellent.

By Mohammed f

May 8, 2020

The course was informative and provided the basic programming skill on MatLab. The course also provided innovative assignments that build up your problem-solving skills.

By Kanak T

Jun 19, 2020

the explanation was fantastic the material was good.But some graphs and plotting concepts were missing.it would be better if you include some graph plotting functions.

By utkarsh s

May 29, 2017

last two weeks require few more exmples something related to the home work so that students may know how to approach the different problem in differert way

thank you .

By Oscar A T H

Sep 6, 2020

En varios videos de las diferentes semanas que componen el curso, los subtitulos tapan el contenido de la explicacion en curso, habria que colocarlos de mejor manera.

By Mohammed S

Jun 22, 2020

A very useful course for beginners in Matlab programming. It helps to understand the basic concept of programming which you can utilize in different programming also.

By Ritam S

Mar 24, 2021

This course really helped me to learn the basics of MATLAB and also helped me to make my concept of programming stronger. The course instructors are really amazing.

By Prafulla N

Jan 28, 2021

Everything was good, Just found the professor's voice a little boring & unclear apart from that professor makes sure to crack some sarcastic jokes during a lecture.

By Deon N D

Jun 18, 2020

This course is very easy to follow even if one has very little prior knowledge about programming. Great course to get anyone started with programming in MATLAB.

By Mohit K

Oct 17, 2020

It was a great course. I got to learn so many things. And now I can also add MATLAB in my resume lol. The instructor was good in explaining things. I liked it.

By Raghubir S

May 10, 2017

I would recommend this course to everyone who has interest in maths with programming. This course will be beneficial for my further study in computer science.

By Keane J

Nov 12, 2019

Very good for both beginners in programming starting off with MATLAB and those wishing to learn a new language. Great material and the e-book is a nice add-on

By Marcin Ł

Aug 31, 2020

This course was a good introduction to Matlab. My only criticism is that some of the assignment prompts are vague and the feedback in the forums can be slow.