Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
13,575 ratings
3,635 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

3251 - 3275 of 3,585 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By DEEPAK K P

Sep 4, 2019

whenever i gets any confusion regarding any problem in matlab, u can just revisit it , then it gets clarified

By Taghreed I E

Aug 29, 2020

The last 2 weeks were so long and not effective as the previous ones, But total it was very good and helpful

By Travis H

Jul 30, 2020

This course was challenging, because it involved not only coding but problem solving with math through code.

By AKHIL T

Jul 4, 2020

These course is very help full in my future.The course is very good and am enthusiastic to learn this course

By SUJETHA T

May 12, 2020

A USEFUL COURSE IN MY LOCKDOWN PERIOD. I GAINED A GOOD KNOWLEDGE IN MATH CONCEPT IN THE PROGRAMMING LANGUAGE

By Matt G

Oct 11, 2019

This course was great but at the end I was doing more than my line of work (Psychology statistics) requires.

By Yashraj M

May 16, 2020

The assignments towards the 7th 8th and 9th week should be more in relation to what is taught in the video.

By Srinivas S

Jun 9, 2018

it was really really good experience. very good tutor. expecting some discount depending on my performance.

By Srikanth V

Sep 11, 2018

Good course for matlab beginners, helps alot in writing functions and plotting.

Explaination is excellent.

By Dinesh R

Feb 1, 2018

This course was really helpful and people who like to learn basics of matlab they can join this course. :)

By omar k

Jun 21, 2016

it is a very good introductory course, i'm really enjoying it! however, lessons can sometimes be very slow

By CRIS R

Jul 17, 2020

Video Lectures were truely relevant and understoodable easily but Graded Assignmnets were somewhat tough

By Namitha N K

May 29, 2020

The topics covered were good! But the videos were too lengthy and were unable to view in landscape mode!

By Theodore N

Jul 5, 2020

Very challenging exercises, videos are mostly insightful but can be made in more parts so it's not long

By Hailin R P

Nov 23, 2016

Useful introductory course. Assignments are helpful, though it sometimes also gets quite mathematical.

By saeed e

May 8, 2016

explanation of details is excellent ! but speed is a few low ! and please be more advance

thank you Fitz

By Rupam k

Jun 4, 2020

Had a great experience with this tool. It really connect my skills from virtual world to a real world.

By Venkateshwari V

May 10, 2020

GOOD MORNING SIR,

its very helpful to learn the Matlab program for the beginners also and thank you sir

By Francis C W I

Dec 29, 2017

Thank you for beginning with the basics! I appreciate that you assumed that we did not know anything!

By Vedant K

May 14, 2020

there could have been more explanation about assignment question by adding examples in each question.

By Ahmed A

Oct 11, 2020

A great course in understanding Matlab. Although, it does get a bit too difficult in the last weeks.

By Zheng W W

May 5, 2020

Great videos. Need more practical questions and exercises without a large jump in difficulty, though

By Sanket S

Apr 4, 2020

The content was good.I suggest for beginners it's a very good course to understand basics of MATLAB.

By ROHIT K

Mar 25, 2019

It is really a very helpful and amazing tutorial, as it contains many interesting and new problems.

By KARTIK S

Sep 21, 2020

Course was really informative, little boring also. And last week assignment was really very tough.