Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
13,625 ratings
3,638 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 3,589 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Robert F

Dec 26, 2019

This is a fairly straightforward course. The instructor Dr. Fitzpatrick is excellent and prepares you to do well on the assignments, quizzes, tests and programming assignments. The support via the Discussion Forum is also great. All in all very good. Some math background is certainly a plus.

By Ujjawal S

Dec 14, 2016

This course on MATLAB by Vanderbilt university is amazing. It offers various applications of the functions that they teach along with very knowledgeable and helpful instructors. I like the little fun that the professor keeps having during the lectures, it does make it much more interesting.

By Toha A k

Jun 17, 2020

This was really a great memory conducting this course.

If you are looking for a course where you wanna learn programming with fun by matlab,this course is for you.

I can't express my greetings to the teaching staff.I just wanna say,thank you so much for making a helpful and interesting course

By Freya D

Jun 7, 2020

Very easy to understand, problems kept it engaging and were at exactly the right level; often quite difficult to solve but really satisfying when you did. They also meant you had to look back and remember what you'd learned in earlier parts of the course. I also really liked the instructor.

By Monika R

Feb 2, 2018

This course has been very helpful. Thanks to all our mentors and instructors, I have gained confidence. Now I believe that I can understand as well as solve problems in MATLAB. This course is very good for the beginners. I recommend it to whoever wants to learn about programming in MATLAB.

By Aarshad R

Jun 30, 2020

Absolutely brilliant course. highly recommended for anyone who wants to learn programming and coding. Such amazing teachers to learn from. Thank you Michael Fitzpatrich, Akos Ledeczi, Vanderbilt University for this opportunity and Coursera for giving u such a wonderful platform to learn.

By Camha N

Aug 23, 2020

Thank you very much for your expertise. It is a very rewarding experience taking this class. I learned fundamental concepts in programming. When I started this journey, I had no knowledge on computer programming. It is a good foundation for me to move on to other programming languages.

By Hartono T

Feb 7, 2019

Easy-to-follow videos with thorough explanations of the fundamental. It consists of encouraging assignments (bearable if you watch all videos preceeding it) to check up your skill along the way. Very recommended for anyone (yes, ANYONE) who wants to try a programming language somewhere.

By Satyam K

Jun 8, 2020

It's a very good course for matlab beginners . Course content is very good and assignments are of very good level. Instructor Mike is very good. His voice is clear and sharp in course. At last it is a very good course and I would recommend anybody to take this one for matlab beginners.

By Sruthi M S

May 5, 2020

The best Course on programming ever!! Not only does it help you get accustomed to MATLAB it also helps to bring a strong foundation in programming. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and would definitely recommend it to all young engineering students !! Thank you for this wonderful course

By Galer G

Nov 3, 2018

Really helpful and suitable for beginners. Even though I had some programming experience in the past, professor Mike Fitzpatrick makes programming look easy. Would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning MATLAB, of course, but also to those interested in problem solving.

By Venkatesan K

Sep 2, 2017

Top Course. The instructor teaches you in the best possible way. You do not need any prior knowledge about MATLAB. Absolutely wonderful course to lean. The assignments in the end become very difficult. One can dilute the difficulty to some extent. Nevertheless this one is a must-take!!

By Alan P

Nov 13, 2018

Great course for an introductory level. However, you should have skills in physics and mathematics in order to solve some of the homework. The lecturer speaks clear and try to make enjoyable a subject that lacks of fun at all (programming), sometimes achieving it. Recommended course!

By Felix O

Apr 10, 2018

Well prepared and tailored for beginners in programming with MATLAB. The assignments helps with understanding the course even better. After taking this course, I discovered that I suddenly love MATLAB and all my fears for coding have vanished. Kudos to the facilitators of this course.

By Ivan C A

Jun 12, 2017

Best course I have done in Coursera so far! It is rewarding to learn new concepts of programming throughout the course, and MATLAB is a must to learn for engineers. A comprehensive course that gets you thinking 24/7 about several problems that can be solved efficiently by using MATLAB

By Shubham K

May 29, 2020

A really good course especially for the beginners, who are planning to start programming with MATLAB. Detailed explanations and well-designed programming assignments covering the basics of MATLAB and providing room for logic development, which is the base for any kind of programming.

By DEVANSH S

Nov 12, 2018

The course "Introduction to Programming with MATLAB" helped me in improving my skills and knowledge of the basics of coding and provided an exposure to the world of programming. During this course I learnt various important things which will surely help me in the professional world.

By Syed W A

Oct 27, 2018

This course was a fun and excellent introduction to fundamental concepts of computer programming. For people who have no idea whatsoever about programming, this is the place to start. Even if you are a novice programmer, take this course to become more familiar with MATLAB language.

By MD. S R

Apr 15, 2020

Excellent course to start programming with MATLAB. It was a very involving course! Everything is taught by doing it practically, and the professor has done an excellent job. Assignments are really good and make you adept in what you learn the whole week. I enjoyed every bit of it!

By Ashu S

Mar 1, 2020

The course is really informative and amazing. One can learn so much from this course. Though after a point of time, course will gather up a pace therefore one needs to explore many things by themselves too. But in the end, you'll love the content and the professor, not to mention.

By Sylvia A

Jul 12, 2019

Great course and a good one for anyone with little or no background in MATLAB. I started as a beginner with no background in MATLAB and with the help of the lecture videos I was able to do all the assignments (got 100% in all except 90% for the objectives) and complete the course.

By Wilmer M

Jul 22, 2020

An extraordinary opportunity to learn, to have discipline and dedication, and to enter the great world of programming, especially with MatLab which is a wonderful and fundamental tool for many professionals, thank you very much for the teaching given, I will be grateful for life.

By Jinghan M

Apr 5, 2020

This course really helped me learn MATLAB such a challenging programming tool from the very beginning, and tried to use it to solve more problems in my daily work and study. Thanks to the instructor's patient and explicit courses, I started to interested in practical programming.

By Jean P C

Apr 15, 2021

The best introduction to programming and problem-solving techniques you can ever have, taking you to the path of scientifically thinking and matrix operations for endless applications. (AI, CFD, FE, simulations and so on). A must have course for coming back engineers to science.

By Koustubh J

Jun 17, 2019

One of the best courses present on Coursera. After completing the course I was able to do programming in MATLAB very easily. The course is very well structured and is very good for beginners. The instructors are amazing whether it be the video lectures or the discussion forums.