Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
16,080 ratings
4,185 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB

Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

IK

Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

Filter by:

3676 - 3700 of 4,178 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Vansh S

Jul 21, 2020

This course was really amazing and it is well scripted and made. A great effort by the teachers who made these lectures and it never seemed boring or cumbersome to me at any point of time during the course.

By Zyad Y

Oct 6, 2021

it is a little bit very basic for students with a background in programming but the problems specially close to the end was a little challenging which is great. overall it is a solid start with matlab

By Shah S Z U A

Jun 26, 2020

I didn't like the assignment of echo. The description was not sufficient to understand the mechanism of putting echo by code. Except this, the assignments were exciting and the lectures were clear.

By MASSIMO A

Jan 22, 2021

You should improve error message on test, because I lost a lot of time on debugger for error emulation path. Anyway, a bright example of remote teaching. Many thanks again.

Massimo Aceti, Dr. Eng.

By osama m

Sep 12, 2021

this was really great course that it made me interested to matlab and love it the course is really great except for some exercises which made a bit hard i wish it will be improved by the future.

By Rounak G

Jul 16, 2020

Although it is filtered as a Beginner's level course, but I have to admit it that completing this course is quite tough, especially latter half. Other than that, overall experience was fabulous.

By Sachin M

Sep 4, 2020

The course was very informative and ideal for beginners. It can be a bit challenging during the later lessons however the forums are there to help you with those assignments you find difficult.

By G. V T

Jul 3, 2020

COURSE IS PRETTY EASY IN THE BEGINNING BUT IT BECOMES EXTREMELY TOUGH FOR AN AMATEUR PROGRAMMER SO ITS BETTER TO HAVE A GOOD INSIGHT INTO PROGRAMMING IN GENERAL PRIOR TO STARTING THIS COURSE

By Matteo S

Oct 12, 2020

Very good introduction to Matlab.

The final exercises are the best as they are practical (image and sound processing); it would be better that the previous exercises were also more practical

By Ruben R

Jun 19, 2020

I found the language in some of the exercises a bit difficult to understand. The last exercise was very challenging and mostly because it took me a while to understand what was been asked.

By Mohammed F G

Sep 23, 2020

I think the last few assignments were really tough. there should have been much more classes related to those final assignments. although, it was a great journey to begin with the MATLAB.

By Maricielo A N H C

May 2, 2022

Me ayudo mucho con optener un pensamiento más logico y poder crear una logica para programación. Aunque no creo que me ayude mucho en mi carrera profesional pero lo noté muy productivo.

By Srinivas R

Oct 10, 2020

This course gives you a very good knowledge of MATLAB programming except the assignment questions for last week and final assignments looked way more difficult but not impossible to do.

By KOUSHIK M

Jul 22, 2020

I have loved the learning i have been able to do and look forward to taking many more classes with them...The videos are very well done . I appreciate the format and set up of course..

By Deleted A

Jul 27, 2019

The course was really nicely structured and the assignment was almost completely related to the video tutorial. Though it would have been great if we had dealt more in image processing.

By Liew Y J

Jun 1, 2021

Final problems could have been explained better, as it was hard to grasp what the problem wanted. Other than that, good pacing of teaching and excellent instructor that was passionate

By mattia c

Feb 26, 2021

Loved this course and the Professor.

The only drawback in my opinion is that few videos where to long and boring, I would cut a little the videos that approach the 1h duration time.

By Ashwin A

Oct 9, 2020

The course is overall good. Just my humble suggestion, if possible, do add this - how to solve differential equations, non-linear equations, numerical methods, etc - using MATLAB.

By Ahmed L

Jul 12, 2020

It's very recommended for beginners

I am one of them and I've learnt so much

I wanted some more details , extra level and solutions for assignments

but it still very good and useful

By A J

Jan 8, 2019

I found this course very informative and handy for knowledge. The homework was undeniably tricky but try your best at it and don't give up thinking. Keep thinking and persisting.

By Kevin S

Aug 20, 2020

Basic Matlab usage, not very advanced aspect of Matlab because it is an introductory course. But I think the assignments are very useful and can help develop programming skills.

By Parveen

Aug 19, 2020

Instructor and teaching both are good. But i found that last three to four assignment are a bit difficult for a beginner, that's the only reason i deduce one star from rating.

By Suhas S V

Jun 11, 2020

Great course! A humorous and brilliant instructor makes this course an awesome learning journey! But I felt that assignments were a bit too challenging for the beginner level.

By Vivek C

Jul 21, 2020

very informative and easy to follow, lots of new techniques that should help me on my way. It was fun to learn programming with matlab thankyou for your guidance and support.

By Eshwari

Jun 10, 2020

It was very interesting to learn programming with MATLAB, kind of matrices involved everywhere which has invoked more curiosity in me! Thank you, the staff were excellent.