Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
16,049 ratings
4,179 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

IK

Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

DA

Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

3726 - 3750 of 4,171 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Bluedrops

Aug 26, 2017

If only it has a section to introduce the usage of pde toolbox, but this course is still so good and the teacher is humour. Thank you!

By Renny G R

Oct 20, 2020

Algunos temas requierenque ser mejor explicados en los videos para poder resolver los ejercicios, de lo contrario tomará mucho tiempo

By Shashank k

Jun 20, 2020

it's been a pretty good and well-explained course's which i have been ever taken . Amazing instructor every week is like an adventure

By James L Y G

Nov 10, 2021

Aprendí a programar en MATLAB y sus extraordinarios usos, con los cuales te puedes apoyar para solucionar innumerables problemas.

By Krunal C

Mar 13, 2021

Thanks a lot. learning this course helps me a lot in my university assignments. Also, this helps in much big calculation problem.

By MATTAPARTHI R

Jul 27, 2020

IF BUILTINFUNCTIONS ARE EXPLAINED AT STARTING,IT WILL BE MORE HELPFUL INDOING ASSIGNMENTS AND WRITING A PROGRAM FOR NEW FUNCTIONS

By Amod S

Aug 15, 2020

Course was quite good. Explanations were easy to follow.

I think the last chapter should have been covered a bit more in detail.

By Surya A T

Jun 9, 2020

the course was good and ia can able to learn the programming in matlab and also the image recogonition and saddle point concept.

By Lauren J

Jul 22, 2020

great class but difficult didn't expect it to be the caliber it is, but slightly not surprising since its offered at Vanderbilt

By Aleksandr M

Nov 26, 2017

It's a great course if you need to learn basics of MATLAB syntax. I also recommend watching the most lectures on x1.25 speed ;)

By Rushabh Y

Jan 10, 2021

I liked the assignment problems, although it is difficult to solve, but ,once, you solve it ,you will learn more about MATLAB;

By Nagaraj K

May 8, 2020

It is good to learn programs with easier solving problems . We can Design ,debug , architecture with problems through MATLAB .

By Yuhong S

Dec 3, 2020

Good course in general. Better if more applied examples in the lectures, and some simple tests similar to them as a practice.

By SHAHRUKH A

Sep 23, 2020

audio processing question related data should have been explained. Like for starters we don't know what is s time series data

By Hussain B

Nov 28, 2019

It was a great course. I learned a lot. but the grading policy is tough to get 75% to pass. Overall the experience was great.

By Gazi F Z S

Jul 4, 2020

I had much difficulties to solve the last final assignments. It will be better if you added details on audio and image files

By BA�AGA , I J (

May 12, 2021

This course allows you to learn important feature of MATLAB as a programming language(ex. Logical indexing, very powerful.)

By Rosemary H

Sep 30, 2019

It was an excellent course as an introductory class. I feel like we could have had more problems, but overall it was great!

By Nilesh F

Sep 21, 2020

the course is very fine in the beginning it seems easy but as the lessons pass it became harder which gives kick to do it.

By Amin S A

May 8, 2020

the only real issue was the fact that some of the assignments objectives were really vague and required more explanations.

By Rahul G

Jul 26, 2020

The course is really good. but the final problems are bit too hard to solve for me as a person with no coding background.

By piyush r

May 5, 2020

good programming language to learn.

it opens up a wide variety to solve any problem in which mathematics modeling is used.

By Tiffany L

Aug 2, 2020

Informational and interesting course that goes from the basics of the MATLAB interface to writing programs using MATLAB.

By Sakib J

Jun 29, 2020

This course is really wonderful. The teachers of this course try to expose all the syntax and problems easy and nicely.

By SINGHAL A

Jun 22, 2020

The way of teaching is good .

The given examples explaination was also good

The assignments was quite realated and doable