Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
16,199 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

IK

Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

KB

Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

4176 - 4200 of 4,206 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Nevin P

Jun 7, 2020

The course was good till week 5, after that, I just lost it and wasn't able to understand most of the I had to refer youtube channel and other websites for help. Most of the questions were so tough that I couldn't relate it with the lecture felt like the same as a typical school. He teaches the basics very well but when you look at the question feels like it out of nowhere. I really had difficulty in solving the codes.

By Guy P

Feb 7, 2022

There are alot of things I didn't like about this course, I didn't like the instructor for example, but the main thing is that you submit your assignments through coursera's matlab tool, and so many minutes I waited to be able to compile or submit my code just because the server was down. If you can't submit your assignment, then it's not a good course.

By Timothy C J

May 27, 2020

This is a good course. Some of the programming assignments are way too hard for a beginner level class. I would like to be able to get one-on-one time with the professors via Microsoft Teams or Skype. Mike is an outstanding teacher and he reminds me of some of the best of the best teachers from my high school days and my classes in college.

By Caitlin H

Jun 15, 2020

Videos were very good and easy to understand but didn't provide enough help to actually do the assignments. Not recommended if you have no prior programming experience before this.

By Prajwal D

Apr 10, 2020

Course is good. But its very high for one who is introduced to programming using MATLAB. If one has knowledge about other programming languages then it is ok

By Aroni A E H

Jun 1, 2021

Actualizar las clases e intentar hacer clases en espanol no es tan justo que sea así para alumnos de paises sudamericanos

By MOHITE S M

May 28, 2020

Lot of assignment had functions which were not taught in the video lectures.

By Afkar A

May 26, 2021

Quiz questions are too difficult and are not covered in the theory lessons.

By mohamed e

Nov 20, 2020

the assignment is too hard it's not suitable for a beginner in Matlab

By Fardin F K

Jun 3, 2020

last 2 weeks were unnecessary for begineers

By Deleted A

Jul 17, 2020

I do not like the Lecturer style.

By Sarthak N

Jun 26, 2020

Not too Interesting

By MUNAZIRR F F

Jan 8, 2021

not much effective

By Juha K

Sep 21, 2016

Course contained unbelievable amount of silly busywork that has no place being implemented in MATLAB, while forbidding the use of most useful built in functions. At no point during the course was any of the MATLAB's strengths -- like easy solving of linear systems or vectorized operations, even suggested upon.

Furthermore, the course has unhealthy interest in dates and calendars - again of course disabling all the built in tools.

By Pierre H m

Aug 9, 2020

I don't like it and I don't want to continue with this course how can I unsubscribe without losing my progress in other courses on my account

By Jesus G Z H

May 28, 2020

El curso aunque sea para principiantes, los ejercicios no son claros, yo como persona que inicia en esta área me fue imposible.

By fiona f

Jun 22, 2020

It wasn't mentioned that I had to pay for the certificate.I can't afford to purchase the certificate

By Ashwini s

May 14, 2021

not rpoviding certificate in free course and not providing assignments in free course

By Desirae

Aug 22, 2019

said i had a free 12 week license, but i could not get access to the license.

By AKSHAY C N

Jun 15, 2021

I am not liking this course and wish to unroll for the same.

By Avanish K

Sep 30, 2017

very easy course. was expecting something more challenging.

By Eric X

Nov 24, 2017

Matlab license not working, how to complete this course.

By shreyansh k

Oct 31, 2018

not good i cant understant any thing need to inprove

By Eloy Y

Aug 14, 2017

Extremely difficult assignments for the conte

By Jenner R L

Apr 29, 2021

First was free now you have to pay!!