Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
14,450 ratings
3,839 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

476 - 500 of 3,809 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By arun l

May 26, 2020

Very good course by vanderbilt university. I love the way it has been thought by the instructor, Thank you sir for imbibing me with the knowledge in such a good manner.Hope it will be useful for me as a mechanical engineer in the future.

By Mostafa H K

May 26, 2020

It was a great course for me, I explored many programming courses before. But the lecturer managed to get my attention for a long time. The way Mr Mike illustrated the knowledge was great. I recommended this course to several colleagues.

By SIVABALASUDHAN K

May 2, 2020

Thank you very much for providing this wonderful course to me.Before stepped into this course ,I have a little shivering about programming int computer,but once I completed this course I have possessed more confidence to do programming.

By PREMNATH V

Aug 19, 2018

Really an excellent course. I started with zero knowledge about MATLAB and ended up quite more confident to work in MATLAB . Especially staff and discussion forum really helped me. If you are reading this then you will try this course.

By Yerkin S

Nov 16, 2020

Waw, It is very interesting course for me. I have not engaged by programming before. Therefore this course helps understand basic notion about programming in matlab. I am chemical engineer. I believe this course helps to improve my job.

By Rahul S

Jul 5, 2020

The course is very well defined and show an easy path to learn computer programming even to those who don't have a prior knowledge of computer programming (i.e. Me). The video lectures are also shows a step by step approach. Thank you.

By Desirée O B

Jun 21, 2020

Un curso muy completo, las clases son muy claras y muy comprensibles. Los ejercicios aplicados de cada lección son muy útiles para ver si has comprendido o no el tema en cuestión. Además, resuelven las dudas en el foro bastante rápido.

By Iván L J

Jul 13, 2021

The course is very useful for everyone who want to learn matlab programming, even if you have experience in another programming language. Matlab offers diferent tools than python or Julia, this course is perfect the know many of them.

By Jonathan W A M F

Feb 26, 2021

I have learned the basic tool for programming, at first I had no idea but as I practiced the exercises, I began to understand the basic principle of programming. This course helped me a lot to get deeper into the world of programming!

By Suman L M

Jun 2, 2020

the course was very well designed and good for beginners who wants to learn programming.the assignments were challenging and good.i thanks to cousera and vanderbilt university for providing this course and teaching in such a good way.

By Philippe A

Apr 24, 2020

Totally loved the course. Of course the assignments got harder each week but doable with the help of the forum. I know, this is just an introduction course but I got out what I wanted: The interest for getting deeper into Programming.

By Dejan B

Nov 27, 2016

This was the best online course I have ever done, I hope that there is going to be an advanced course soon. It was really challenging. I had an experiance of working with MATLAB before but I learned a lot of new things by this course.

By RUQAIYA S

Jun 23, 2020

THIS COURSE HAS PROVIDED ME WITH THE BASICS OF MATLAB PROGRAMMING WHICH WOULD BE VERY MUCH USEFUL FOR FUTURE REFERENCE.THE NOTES PROVIDED ARE EASILY UNDERSTOOD AND HELPED GREATLY IN UNDERSTANDING THE ORAL LANGUAGE.THANK YOU,COURSERA.

By sophoplastis

May 26, 2020

loved this course!! It was challenging sometimes, but the material is very well organised and the professors are great. I learned so many things for programming and I will try to improve further. Thank you very much for this journey.

By Sourabh P

Nov 27, 2016

Best and 1st full course taken and completed in matlab and on coursera. The mentors were experts in their field. Going to purchase this course now. I loved the process of this learning. Thanks for providing such a beautiful platform.

By Giorgi T

Sep 8, 2016

This is a fantastic introductory course for those of you who wish to learn MATLAB or programming in general. The lectures were superb, very clear and easy to follow. I would recommend this course to anyone who's willing learn MATLAB.

By Emil N

Aug 4, 2016

The best course I have taken online. Prof. Fitzpatrick explains thinks in an easy and clear way. He pays a lot of attention to common mistakes (in fact, the course alone helped me to understand almost all problems I had with MATLAB!)

By AYUSH S

Nov 12, 2020

Learning MATLAB with Mike Sir is an amazing experience, the way of teaching is excellent. Learning Programming from Vanderbilt University will definitely give a boost to my career. Thanks Coursera for providing the wonderful course!

By PANKAJ K

May 11, 2020

I had Learned new things and new Programming concepts here. I also Completed MATLAB in my college but didn't enjoyed as much.Here i had Enjoyed and learned all the programming concepts very well. Thank you So much for such platform.

By Arasch M

May 3, 2019

A very good course indeed, the video lectures are informative and entertaining and the assignments are challenging. It's a very good and intuitive introduction to programming within the MATLAB Environment!

Thank you very much indeed!

By Heliana P

May 16, 2021

It was a really helpful course for beginners. I really appreaciated all the step by step tutorials and the examples, as well as all the assignments. I would like to thank both professors for the great work and for this opportunity.

By Shady T

Dec 1, 2020

That was the most amusing course I have ever taken in my entire life!

Thank you for the efforts in making this an enjoyable and fun course.

Amazing Instructor Mike Fitzpatrick, amazing course content.

Definitely recommended.

Thank YOU!

By Saiyad J

May 19, 2020

The awesome class conducted by sir Fitzpatrick from Vanderbilt university gives us great knowledge and enhancement to our skills may we hope that Coursera continuously gives us such great advancements in knowledge thankyou verymuch

By Gaerwen L

Dec 21, 2016

This is a wonderful course and very informative for students who want to learn Matlab but has little or no coding experience. The lectures give very specific explanation of how to code with Matlab and what details we should notice.

By Geerinandini R

Jul 18, 2021

This course has enable me to acquire new programming skills. It was a very interesting and enjoyable journey. The videos and reading materials were very handy . This course also develop our analytical and critical thinking skills.