Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
14,437 ratings
3,837 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 3,808 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Sergio I I

Jun 21, 2021

Me ha gustado mucho realizar este curso porque siento que he aprendido mucho ( o al menos lo basico) y al mismo tiempo me he divertido haciendolo. Sin duda recomiendo este curso a cualquiera que esté interesado en aprender Matlab.

By Judson X

Feb 7, 2021

Excellent course! The professor is great, the lessons follow a logical sequence that makes the Matlab learning easy and the assignments are designed to really evaluate what you studied. I recommend. It is a worthwhile investment.

By Jasmin P

Apr 5, 2020

Loved it! Gained many more insightful views about the Matlab, since I was a ginner at the start of the topic...now I can fully guarantee I can understand most of the codes which I may come across...Thank you all for the Guidance!!

By Anastasios I

Sep 7, 2016

The module is well designed! The lecturer makes the material interesting with a sense of humour. All doubts and queries in the discussion forums are answered efficiently and comprehensively. Overall, it is an excellent experience!

By Aviral G

Jul 6, 2020

A very helpful course (especially for beginners). Starts slowly but gradually it enhances the content and level of problems. Topics covered are very important but some more topics can be touched upon. Otherwise a wonderful course

By Sarala S

May 5, 2019

This Course gives lot of ideas to write matlab program in my own ways.Course Instructor is explained lot of concepts in clear manner .Its really useful to research Scholars.My heartfelt thanks and wishes to the course instructor.

By Ishan N

May 24, 2020

Perfect for getting into programming for the first time, or getting into MATLAB for the first time with prior programming experience. Questions are challenging enough for the latter case, but simple to understand for the former.

By smiti p

Nov 3, 2020

The lectures were very very interesting and the assignments started becoming challenging in the last. The examples were also very good. The instructors made the classes very interesting. This 9 weeks course was so informative .

By Dipti R S

Sep 18, 2020

The course was really helpful for as an Engineering student pursuing graduate course in Electronics as MATLAB is the standard in various colleges in India. It allowed me to learn and tackle various useful problem with elegance.

By Valentina G G

Jul 30, 2020

Es un excelente curso, especialmente para personas que nunca antes habían tenido experiencia alguna con el programa. Las explicaciones y los ejemplos son muy claros y el hecho de que uno pueda ir a su ritmo es una gran ventaja.

By girisha.r S

Nov 7, 2019

Got an opportunity to learn programming even under busy schedules. Thanks to Coursera and its team members for teaching the basics of matlab programming. I would really recommend all to join coursera to keep themselves updated.

By Jonayet H L

Jan 28, 2019

The designated course offered by Vanderbilt University, Introduction to Programming with MATLAB is a highly interactive and indulging course that truly consolidates one's notions and concepts on the MATLAB programming language.

By Yash D

Jul 8, 2017

It's an excellent course for anyone who's starting with programming. It gives you an excellent background for basic programming skills and finally at the end of the course you will have a very good command over MATLAB as well.

By Victor A P d C

Jan 22, 2021

This course helped so much! For a longe time I've wanted to learn MATLAB, this course gave me everything I expected and a little bit more. I highly recommend for everybody that wants to learn about MATLAB or start programming.

By lampros n

Oct 22, 2020

Very good course, although the instructor was speaking a little slow.

Overall the assignments needed actually knowledge and coding experience, so I learned a lot taking this course. Will continue with the rest specialization.

By MOHIT M

Jun 27, 2020

It is an excellent course, comprising of knowledge driven lectures with a little bit of healthy humor by the instructor. It starts easy and gradually increases its difficulty level hence not hampering once's rate of progress.

By AMIT J

May 14, 2020

Very well organized with great introduction to Matlab

though i already had an experience in using Matlab , this course explained a lot of new things.

Very thanks to the Instructor. I played the video at 1.5x and 1.25x sometime.

By Deepak P

May 2, 2020

Really interactive way of teaching they had. I would prefer this course to all of them who not only want to learn Matlab but also to them who love to build logical thinking.

Learning adventure was great and will be continued..

By Frank B

Mar 4, 2020

Excellent course! I really liked the teacher and the exercises. I will suggest it to every student that needs to learn programming and MatLab

One suggestion: can you put more "practical examples" based on "real-world problems"?

By Andres C

Jan 15, 2018

Everything is excellent about this course: videos are very well structured and entertaining. Exercises are sometimes challenging but there is great support and no question has not a quick reply. I highly recommend this course.

By Mina E

Apr 8, 2017

This course is really the best I could find on the Internet for anyone that wants to learn MATLAB. The material is good, and the assignments are really challenging and will absolutely help understand the concepts being taught.

By Nour E H S H E

Sep 9, 2020

Profeese Michael Fitzpatrick i have loved him through the course he is super frindly , funnyand very clever at what he does

i googled him and found that that guy is a genious .

thank you professor Fitzpatrick

love from Egypt

By Drew T

Aug 12, 2020

I had to do a good amount of starting and stopping which I believe slowed me down and hindered my absorption of the information but this was a fantastic intro into CS/programming for me. I highly recommend taking this course.

By Gopal S

Jun 9, 2020

the course was awesome, the assignment kept me excited and curious. those were very helpful to remember what have I learned and how can I implement in the real world problem too. Thank you very much for this wonderful course.

By Noman A K

Jun 7, 2020

It was one of the best courses on MATLAB. The journey was very informative. During the course, i applied all my learned skills on other subjects, such as Mechanical Vibration, Mechanics etc. I hope to learn more from Coursera