Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
14,461 ratings
3,840 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 3,813 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Rajeswari M

Mar 11, 2017

The course is very good for beginners who are interested to learn programming. The teacher Mike Fitzpatrick is very good in explaining the concepts, I would love to take advanced course as well if he offers. Thanks Mike!

By Ashwin B

May 30, 2021

E​xtremely well taught! I learned a lot and really appreciate the professor's lecture style. Assignments were challenging but fair. The only thing I'd suggest is having some short lecture quizzes to emphasize key points.

By Yatish K

Aug 2, 2020

Being an Engineer, MATLAB is a tool which is a must. This course helped me in covering up the basics in a easy and efficient (not so easy towards the end) manner and made me capable enough to explore this tool on my own.

By Muhammad Q A

Jun 27, 2020

The course contents were amazing, especially Assignments and Final Course Projects.

The Instructor taught amazingly. wish to learn more courses from him. somehow my memories are tied to the end theme music of each lesson.

By priti k

Jun 12, 2020

This is best course to learn MATLAB. Tutor does his job great .Easy to understand the lectures, the assignments made this course tricky and more intresting, which enables to implement the knowledge learnt in the lessons.

By Jonathan B F

May 20, 2020

Before starting this course, I had never used Matlab before and my programming skills were next to non-existent. I have finished this course solving exercices I never thought I could.

It is well worth the time investment.

By Santiago O S

Jul 20, 2020

Great course, learned a lot about programming, the lectures are pretty good, you learn a lot from them and then you can put your skills to practice with the assigments, the later ones are challenging but very rewarding.

By praveen k

Mar 15, 2017

Very informative. The tone of the professor is like narration of some hollywood movie. This is my favourite course next to linear algebra by Gilbert Strang. Thank you everyone who made this useful information available.

By Rutendo L M

Sep 27, 2020

The course was very eye-opening on how easy it is to use MATLAB. The assignments were challenging and made me think rationally. I also learnt to break down each problem into smaller sections to make it easier to solve.

By Manthan J R

Jul 9, 2020

It is a well-developed course and the instructor put too much effort to teach us all the basics of the MATLAB with having fun. I definitely recommend this course to my friends for proper learning. Thank you very much!

By Brian H

Jun 7, 2020

This class was terrific! The instructor added a few bits of humor throughout, while balancing an online course that was well-paced, clear and informative. I would absolutely recommend to others looking to learn MATLAB.

By Dhanush b s

May 19, 2020

What a beautiful course. The assignment problems are challenging but are at a manageable level. The teacher is also amazing at his job, involving humor from time to time to lighten the mood. Kudos to everyone involved.

By Stephan M

Nov 18, 2018

Very nice introduction with a nice overview of all the functionality of MATLAB. The exercises are also helpful in understanding MATLAB better and have a learning curve which gets steeper as you advance in the lectures.

By Emmanuel V P

Sep 24, 2017

Amazing!!. I really recommend take this course and buy the book (it's very cheap with useful content). The course give to you the basic to apply MATLAB in your study field!. The instructor is clear with sense of humor.

By Milenka M

Jul 9, 2017

This is the very first course I have tried at coursera and it has been a great experience. The course is really well designed to make first time learners feel comfortable with their first steps in computer programming.

By S B

Apr 3, 2017

I was scared of programming before starting this program. This program was not easy for me, but, as I completed it, I'm now confident that I can take up my programming skill further. Thanks to Instructors and Coursera.

By Roberto E P V

Jan 23, 2021

This is an excellent opportunity to develop skills in MATLAB programming. I found this very challenging, so i think this is a the best way. Thank you professor j. Michael Fitzpatrick, you were so clear in the lessons.

By Nikhil Y

Nov 30, 2020

It's an amazing course. I thought it would be just a revision of my university subject but this course is much broader and I learnt new concepts. The last few assignments are really practical oriented and challenging.

By Vladimir L

Oct 10, 2020

Bastante completo el curso, desde un inicio te da las bases para realizar los programas, no solamente en los videos sino en los archivos que te dan a descargar por "lesson". Estoy en busqueda de un nivel más avanzado.

By Heshan D

Jul 31, 2020

Very good course.I have learnt many new things related to programming.Also the instructor is doing his job in very friendly manner.This course is starting with simple content and ending with complex programming facts.

By ARNOGIANNAKIS A

Oct 20, 2020

This is the best MATLAB course someone can take, but beware it is very difficult to complete and it took me many hours to do so. On the other hand, after completing this course, MATLAB will not be that scary anymore.

By Farhad T

May 24, 2020

This is one of the best courses I've ever seen. Since I really new to programming and I need to learn the basics of programming with MATLAB, this course helped me to learn and practice in the way I needed.

Many thanks

By Yash k j

May 23, 2020

A perfect set of study pack for acknowledging the MATLAB programming course. A real life project based assignment and also contain basics understandings problems. A faculty concern very good on the every topic of it.

By VINYAS

Jun 8, 2018

The best course I have ever taken so far. Contents were really interesting and nicely arranged. Though the last 3 home assignments brought in a lot of struggle but it was worth it. Thanks for the wonderful course!!!

By Nrusimha N M

Oct 2, 2016

Very well designed course! The instructors from Vanderbilt have done an excellent job. I sincerely enjoyed every bit of it. Many thanks to Prof Fitzpatrick, Prof Ledeczi, and the moderators Prof Paul, Matt and Bjorn.