Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
14,431 ratings
3,836 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 3,808 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Hunter M

Jun 21, 2017

Excellent course overall, and one of the best resources available for beginners. Do not expect a walk in the park however. This course expects maximum effort, which will ultimately help in the long run.

By Ankit K K -

Jul 7, 2020

Whole content designed beautifully in keeping in mind that beginners to moderated. I happy by completing this course and I learn a lot. Thanks, Coursera team and resource person(Vanderbilt University).

By Shashidhar R

Mar 22, 2020

This course is designed for the beginners who have no prior knowledge in the Matlab Programming.

In last weeks assignments are a little bit difficult but go through the discussion forums and ask things.

By Ioannis P

Jun 16, 2019

The course is a great introduction to the fundamentals of Matlab. The assignments are easier through the first weeks and are getting harder as you are procceding. I definitely suggest to it to everyone

By Madhur

Feb 25, 2019

It was a wonderful course. Starting from the very basic things and then to a very good level of questions, this course really helped a lot. Very nicely set questions and effectively presented lectures.

By Mandeep s

May 16, 2018

Excellent course , the way of teaching , types of questions in assignment , discussion board all wwas awesome. Questions which were in assignment helped me to understand the basics concepts quite well.

By Omar E G M

Jan 21, 2021

Es un buen curso, para ser una introducción está bastante completo ademas algunos ejercicios son retadores y te ponen a pensar, pero todos se pueden realizar con lo visto hasta el momento en el curso.

By Daniel D D J

Jun 3, 2020

Es un gran curso para iniciarse en el mundo de la programación usando MATLAB. El instructor es excelente y explica las herramientas necesarias para un efectivo desenvolvimiento en el uso del programa.

By Sascha S

May 1, 2020

very good course for learning programming in matlab. all the basics are explained in a very comprehensible way. the videos and exercises are versatile and excellent. thanks a lot to Mike for his time.

By Mohamad A

Sep 27, 2020

this course helped me to improve my programming's Skills and thinking not only in MATLAB but in generally also. Indeed it is a perfect Course for the beginners in MATLAB and IT domain. Thanks a lot!

By Juan c p m

Aug 17, 2020

gracias por la oportunidad, a pesar de que el ingles es mi segunda lengua y no la practico de forma habitual, se me hizo facil comprender la clases del profesor, son muy buenas, thx for this 9 weeks

By Marcos J S

Jul 30, 2020

A real challenge for a newbie.

Proffesor Fitzpatrick is my hero. Teachs really well and clear. He´s a cool guy.

The course is fully attended, Worths every minute. Very recommended

You won´t regret it

By ROHAN S

Jun 12, 2020

It was an awesome course. This course teach me a lot about Programming with MATLAB ,this course now make me able to write program own. I am very much glad to this course, Thank you for this course.

By Xiaohe L

May 25, 2020

I am at loss in rating this course. For me, it is 1000/100. Although I had some programming knowledge, this course had been mind-broadening. Professor is very humorous and enlightening in teaching!

By Alex Y

Aug 7, 2020

The material is explained well and structured clearly; the videos are engaging and full of cheeky wit; the workload is not too taxing. I watched most of the videos on 1.5* speed though. Thank you!

By Adriana I M M

May 23, 2020

The explanation of the topics was great. The assignments of the last week were challenging and I loved that. I learned a lot from this course. Thank you so much for sharing your knowledge with us.

By Timo H

Apr 26, 2019

A very good course for learning the fundamentals of programming with MATLAB. Very good and sometimes quiet funny videos and a lot of programming exercises. Thanks for the course. It was a pleasure

By Deleted A

Feb 25, 2021

great source for learning something new and full of fun things. I just fall in love with this course and MATLAB programming. Although it is a bit tricky, it is always good to learn something new.

By Jai S

Aug 2, 2020

I am very thankful to Coursera and Vanderbilt University for developing and presenting such an intensive introductory course. i was really helpful and has helped me gain a lot in learning Matlab.

By Mustafa B E

Jun 25, 2020

I love this course; the instructor has a perfect expression and an excellent sense of humor. I didn't even get bored for nine weeks. Now I have a great understanding of topics. Thank you so much.

By Luis A M T

Dec 22, 2020

The course was very well structured, the professor gave clear explanations and examples. Definitely, a course that I strongly would recommend to those who want to get into the programming world.

By Emir H S

Dec 21, 2020

I recommend it to everyone who wants to start learning Matlab. This course is really comprehensive and great for introduction. Thanks you Professor Fiztpatrick for this amazing and funny course.

By Hernando

Jun 20, 2020

great course, the lecture is inspiring, encouraging participants to explore more and the assignments given are just amazing and go straight into the applications of certain function in real life

By Shameema V

May 31, 2020

This course is very useful for me and all the assignments were really interesting and challengeable. I would like to extend my sincere gratitude to each and every one behind this great course.

i

By Vikram R

Jan 26, 2020

I am in between the course however i think i am in a position to give feedback. The course lecture video is short and crisp giving so much in less time making it time efficient and very helpful.