Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
14,993 ratings
3,967 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 3,954 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Shiva k

Aug 31, 2020

One of the best course to start with in the world!! without any prior knowledge of programming, as the name implies - "Introduction to Programming" - through MATLAB

By Amit K

Jul 15, 2020

If you are a fresher in MATLAB Scripting, then at the end of this course you will find confidence in Scripting if you finish with each of the exercise they provide.

By Frank O

May 24, 2020

Very good. This course presents the basics concepts of programming form simple. I think that some assignments should be more detailed. But, the course is very well.

By Nikhil s

May 24, 2020

amazing learning with this 9 week program.i really excited to enhance my career whatever i learnt from this courses.and thanks to Vanderbilt University and coursera

By Eluru U A

Apr 3, 2019

The course has been presented beautifully and in such an easy manner. It takes no time to understand and implement the intricacies of programming. Great stuff guys.

By Yash G

Sep 2, 2017

The course was amazing. It gives key insight to a beginner in MATLAB. I would definitely recommend it for people who have just started or planing to work on MATLAB.

By Lynh N

Sep 25, 2021

I really like the course. It helps the beginners like me get used to MATLAB well. The exercises are challenging but it is great when you can finish it by yourself.

By KOLHE A R S

Aug 1, 2020

Excellent course for beginners! All the commands are explained in-depth and the test problems at the end of each chapter are innovative and requires deep thinking.

By Chinmay D

Apr 29, 2019

A beautifully crafted course led by an amazing instructor - this course touches most basics of MATLAB and provides a strong foundation to beginners in programming.

By Subrahmanyam K

Mar 15, 2021

Such a great course for engineers and scientists ,the course content and way of teaching was excellent. love you coursera and fitzma for giving me a great course.

By Furkan D

Sep 18, 2020

I took this course for civil engineering applications. Thank you for everything. I learnt too many things from you. I hope in the future I will develop them more.

By Ataur R (

Aug 11, 2020

✌️thanks Prof. Mike and Akos. Thanks Prof. Mike for your encouragement to do something new. The course is awesome and I'm now confident of programming in MATLAB.

By OIKONOMOU K

Jun 7, 2020

For someone that has no background and starts from zero (like me), I can propose it as a very interesting and delightful course. A big thank you at Coursera team.

By PARTH M D

Jun 2, 2020

Very Informative course. Perfect if you want to start Matlab programming from scratch. The course was very well balanced and a very enjoyable learning experience.

By Abhishek K

May 12, 2020

This course is easy for understand. It gave an insight to what all mistakes we can come across while programming. Also, the assignment problems were really good!!

By Mohammad K

Apr 11, 2020

This is my first try in coursera.org , and i found this course is very good and helpful, I learned a lot of skills. Thank you coursera, and thank you Vanderbilt..

By Nagaraj G P

Dec 11, 2019

Really informative course. Got to learn a wide range of functions that can be implemented via Matlab. The assignment questions in the end were really challenging.

By Amit J

Nov 16, 2020

Problems should be multiple in each topic for more practice. We should start with an easy one then moderate one and then step ahead with tough one in each topic.

By Jesús P

May 19, 2020

Incredible course. I knew little about the use of MATLAB before this course, and now I feel very confortable in it's use and the bases for good use of this tool.

By Humphrey S

Jun 12, 2017

This is a very helpful course. but the HW is a little bit hard than my expect. Anyway, you can post you question in the forum, TA and other classmates would help

By javad s

Feb 24, 2021

I'm speechless. I'm so happy with this course and want to thanks everyone was participating in creating this course.

Thanks everyone and wishes you all the best.

By 19E-113 S M

Feb 7, 2021

This is the best MATLAB basics course on the internet. Loved it!! Thank you for such a wonderful course. Now I am very much comfortable with MATLAB programming.

By Samuel N

Aug 29, 2020

I enjoyed the course although it was quite challenging at times but the instructor really knows how to teach. recommended if you want to get started with matlab

By Md. F R

Jul 24, 2020

Apart from a lot of other good things in this course, I don't know if I have seen such an excellent presentation from the instructor in any other online course.

By Josadaque G d S

Jul 3, 2020

I've been working hard through this course on the last weeks. I can say that this couse was incredible and I could learn many useful matlab functions and tools.