Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,302 ratings
4,022 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 4,007 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Sócrates R

Oct 3, 2019

Great classes and teacher, with practical videos about matlab. The problems proposed by the course helps you to really understand what is computer programming

By Soh W K

Feb 1, 2018

One of the best way to learn MATLAB very quickly from these Professors. The Lecturer had did a great job in explaining how to use MATLAB is very simple terms.

By RAHULKUMAR L

Aug 5, 2021

Before the taking course i have no idea about what is matlab and i worried but after the succefully completed i have now confident in MATLAB,Thanks coursera.

By Santiago G B

Apr 7, 2021

Really good introduction to programming for engineers and first look at Matlab as a programming language and mathematical tool. Great for aspiring engineers.

By Souhardya P

Mar 27, 2021

One of the best courses on MATLAB. The best part is I have been provided matlab2021a version license for the practice. Overall the assessments were moderate.

By 2K18\EE\250 Y A

Aug 27, 2020

it's a great course that helps me to learn the Matlab in such a short time period . and the instructor always tries to teach in a way that we would be bored.

By Oscar A V G

Jul 29, 2020

Es un buen curso te ayuda a esforzarte y a subir el nivel en la programación que va a ser y de hecho ya es un punto muy importante en una carrera profesional

By SHAURYA P S

Jul 17, 2020

A very great course for a beginner or intermediate person. I learned a lot of great ways to approach the problem. Very great course for all sincere learners.

By Ekin G

Jun 5, 2020

Wonderful course! Just wish that there wouldn't be any 40+ min videos, and sometimes Fitzpatrick was talking a little sluggish. Still, he is a great teacher.

By Aninkan G

May 11, 2020

Nice course. The course helped me a lot in understanding matlab concepts and in my practical field of study.Thanks Coursera for providing a wonderful course.

By Amrutha K

May 8, 2020

I found this course very useful. Even though the problems get complex at the end after completing this course I feel confident in understanding MatLab codes.

By Deleted A

Aug 17, 2019

Un curso muy bien explicado y de forma sencilla. Cubre todas los temas básicos necesarios para tomar el control de nuestro propio avance en el uso de Matlab.

By Ibis A A M

Mar 18, 2018

Excelente curso muy detallado y con un ritmo de aprendizaje sumamente eficiente. Felicidades a sus creadores me parece un excelente curso de inicio en MATLAB

By João P C Z

Mar 1, 2018

These were the best classes I had in any programming language in my entire life. Thank you so much Dr.Fitzpatrick, Dr. Lédeczi and Vanderbilt University! ! !

By Parul K

May 10, 2017

I was a good experience learning MATLAB programming. This is very good course. And I personally enjoyed learning it...as MATLAB is one of my favourite field.

By Mainak D

Sep 23, 2021

Mr. Mike is a fantastic lecturer. Really enjoyed this course. Assignments start off easy and get tough, but it tests your knowledge thoroughly! Recommended!

By Santhosh K S

Feb 3, 2021

The course covers most of the topics and operations in MATLAB. The teaching is really good by the instructor and exercise test our understanding completely.

By sanket g

May 11, 2020

First time i realize that i can be work using MATLAB nice it was great experience for me and the instructor are very helpfull and always behind me thank you

By Hussain B

Mar 31, 2020

Great course for those who are looking to get started with Matlab. The instructor's sense of humor definitely helps keep you awake and focused on the topic.

By Christien B

Dec 6, 2019

Superb course, feel much more confident in my ability to tackle MATLAB problems in a broader sense than completing the MATLAB tutorial provided by MATHWORKS

By Ashwin V

Apr 26, 2018

Very helpful for understanding the basic concepts in MATLAB Programming and other functions associated in MATLAB. Highly recommended course to all students.

By Arjun

Dec 12, 2017

An excellent course to develop the basic fundamentals in MATLAB. I like this course and the efforts taken by the Vanderbilt University to teach this course.

By Hong H N

Jun 27, 2016

It is a challenging course, but you will receive the amazing help from great instructors and mentors. Recommended for anyone who wants to study programming.

By Lesly M S F

Nov 8, 2021

El curso es excelente, la manera en la que avanza la complejidad va acorde a lo presentado tanto en los elementos de apoyo como en los videos del profesor.

By Anne-Se L P

Jan 25, 2021

My goal was not to become a programer in Matlab but to understand it well enough to be able to understand what my employees were discussing. Goal achieved!