Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,545 ratings
4,072 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

IK
Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

SS
Jan 20, 2022

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

926 - 950 of 4,058 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Ms. N H

Aug 16, 2020

Thanks to all stakeholders for providing online learning opportunities.I also gained a lot of knowledge from teaching this subject.Thanks to the teacher.

By Luiz R

Mar 16, 2020

This course is simple, objective and with easy to understand language. It gave me a great progression in programming skills, like no other course before.

By Aman A

Jan 12, 2020

It is wonderful course. Most of the assignments were easy, but few were really hard. Discussion on forums helped me a lot for completing the assignments.

By Ahmed A M

Jan 16, 2021

it was a great experience for me to achieve this course and i hope i keep developing myself in this field by being enrolled in the next advanced courses

By Rawal B

Jan 7, 2021

This course is very helpful for those who want to learn MATLAB programming. The way of communication of Professors is good. I have learn a lot from this

By Anil K C

Sep 15, 2020

Wonderful Course,

I had not found such an engaging online course like this.

Professor Mike Fitzpatrick is amazing. Thank you Professor.Thank you Coursera.

By Pallavi P

Aug 18, 2020

A simple course! You don't need any programming background to understand it. The focus on hands-on learning really helps understand the language better.

By Paras N

Jul 30, 2020

best explanation.

and test is most important past of this course.

and I am very happy that I have developed a new skill.

and thank you so much!, sir ji....

By Yuti D K

Jul 13, 2020

A very detailed course! Explanations are very good and easily understandable.

The amount of practice I got has really helped me understand MATLAB better.

By SHRERA001@myuct.ac.za

Jan 21, 2019

My favourite course on this platform. Truly engaging teaching, challenging exercises and excellent support. I very highly recommend! Thank you Coursera.

By Mudugama H S P

Oct 13, 2021

Impressive MATLAB course for me as a undergraduate engineering student. It is not too slow or too fast, covers a wide range of basics of this language.

By Fatima M

Nov 23, 2020

Course was very well-organized. Assignments was very challenging, best for learning. I have learned actually the introduction of programming by MATLAB.

By Giannina Z

Oct 4, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken from Coursera. Prof Fitzpatrick is excellent at keeping you engaged and wanting to learn more. Highly recommended.

By Tadej B

Jul 16, 2020

Very informative course ... Explains pretty much everything a starter programmer should know. Very pleased with the dificulty of classes and homeworks!

By Ishan S

Feb 8, 2020

Highly pleased, going through the entire course. Completed in one go. Was extraordinarily interesting. Feel like, I can do anything with MatLab window.

By Rahul D

Sep 17, 2017

One of the best online courses I have ever taken. Thanks to the Instructors, Mentors and everyone involved in the preparation of this excellent course.

By Arthur G R

Jul 31, 2020

Ótimo curso de introdução não só ao Matlab, mas à programação como um todo, estimulando a lógica com problemas desafiadores e aplicáveis ao cotidiano.

By Pinank T

Apr 19, 2020

i think its a best platform where you can learn something new .teacher is very good and there are very good assignments system.

i love it. thank you.

By Mehdi H G

Nov 27, 2019

I've attended a MATLAB course in the university on my curriculum, but now I am understanding what MATLAB is and what amazing things I can do with it.

By Jaafar N

Oct 15, 2017

Excellent Course! Great illustrations and beautiful homework assignments. Many thanks to the teachers and everyone who has contributed to this effort.

By Varun K M

Nov 13, 2020

Very very interesting. You are going to love this course. Easy explanation and brain sharpening quizzes are the best for this course. Enjoy learning.

By L. D S P

Sep 9, 2020

Instructors were good enough t explain the lessons and they are clear to understand. The exercises and notes give a better understanding. Great work.

By Vaishnavi C

Jun 8, 2020

The course is really well structured which makes it easy to cover the syllabus intime.The assignments are really useful to learn the topics in depth.

By Narayan A

Jun 3, 2017

Very Comprehensive course on Matlab..you become a pro after going through this course. It helps if u already have knowledge of the programming logics

By Joaquin C P

Apr 20, 2017

Muy bueno. Recomendable 100%. He pasado de no tener ni idea de matlab a tener una base. No lo aprenderás todo pero lo suficiente para moverte por él.