Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,545 ratings
4,072 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

IK
Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

SS
Jan 20, 2022

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 4,058 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By syed m a h

May 26, 2021

It's a great course for beginners using MATLAB. The assignments are very good which help you develop problem solving mentality by using programming.

By Ashitha R N

Jul 27, 2020

This course covered all the basics that I needed to start working on Matlab, especially the homework assignments helped to build and clear concepts.

By Sanjib D

Jul 13, 2020

Love this course. Such a lovely teacher he is. I've enjoyed the full course and also liked the way of teaching of him. Will definitely miss you Sir.

By Lakshmi V S K

Jul 2, 2020

It is very useful, we can learn many things regarding Matlab. The main appreciating thing is they are providing free online Matlab services for free

By Shubhankar R

May 25, 2020

Great course although few programming assignments in the end could have some more examples so as to clearly explain what the program is intended for

By kalyan k k

Apr 23, 2020

This course is very useful for beginners to learn MATLAB. After completion of the course one can able to write program to solve problems on his own.

By Yue M

Jun 21, 2019

This is a very useful course. It's easy to understand and very interesting. It will be of great help to my future work. Thank you for your teaching!

By Xuedong Y

May 3, 2019

Nice review of Matlab. Happy to know several new datatypes supported now, comparing to 20yrs ago. The extensive app library is also very impressive.

By Muhammad A A

May 2, 2019

It was an amazing experience to be very honest.

I wanna thank Sir Mike Fitzpatrick.

And thanks to coursera family for providing us such opportunities.

By Joseph G

Nov 13, 2016

It is a great course to start learning how to think computationally and wire a computer programs.

I wish they make another course for advanced level.

By Ataliba M

Aug 9, 2016

Excellent get hands on programming with MATLAB. It really provide real world insights when it comes to computations used in engineering and science.

By Kevin K

Aug 5, 2016

Excellent course, it makes programming look easy. The lessons are very clear and the tutors are always ready to help with any question one may have.

By Yassine E m

Jan 16, 2021

I'm new to programming, and I have never thought that I could have so much fun and laugh while I'm learning. Mr.Mike Fitzpatrick is simply awesome.

By Paramveer S G

Aug 27, 2020

Really good course. Well structured and well explained. Interesting work examples. Fun to work with the lectures and rewarding learning experience.

By Débora Y

Jul 25, 2020

Awesome course, different exercises, very nice to either renew the knowledge or learn from scratch. Congrats to all who made it possible to happen!

By Melissa S

May 29, 2020

Great course with great practice problems to help students understand concepts. This was useful for a refresher on MATLAB after several years away.

By Mostafa A

Feb 7, 2017

I really loved the way in which this course is prepared, the content of the course, and also the system of receive and delivering the assignments.

By Apoorva S

Oct 1, 2016

Great course for introduction to programming, and it covers all the basics of MATLAB. Professor Mike Fitzpatrick is an amazing (and funny) teacher.

By Viktor S

Oct 2, 2020

The best course ever! I got back to MATLAB after 6 years and this course is an amazing comeback. Can't wait to leap on other two courses you have.

By Tufan S

Sep 19, 2020

This was a very good and detailed course with adequate hands-on work for learning Matlab. I loved every bit of it. Thank you for the fine content.

By �Punjay C S

Jul 11, 2020

it was a very challenging and intriguing course. pace and level gradually increases making you dive deeper to fetch out codes and run the program.

By Renata F L C

Jul 3, 2020

Great explanations and very simplified way of introducing Matlab programming! Discussion forums are brilliant and help a lot with the assignments!

By Indumathi S K

Jun 12, 2020

Very useful course. The hands on assignment makes us to recall the course content and use all possible logics effectively. Feeling very satisfied.

By Vinay K

Jun 10, 2020

Really this course helped me a lot..the way professor taught the programming was very nice.I am glad to have this opportunity.Thank you very much.

By VAIBHAV S

May 26, 2020

The course is extremely good to learn from a beginner level and to reach an advanced level.

Pace is good and most important professor is most cool.