Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
13,677 ratings
3,648 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 3,598 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By PREMA T

Jun 18, 2020

Hello every one before starting the course i have zero knowledge on matlab i don't know basics also but i successfully completed the course now i have an confident that i know about mat lab i can confidendently attend for the interviews regarding mat lab

thankyou coursera team for providing this wonderful courses free and encouraging students

By Fabian R H

Nov 21, 2019

Excelente contenido y problemas a resolver muy interesantes y retadores, algunos se complican si se leen bien. Aprendí a usar mejor la herramienta con conceptos que desconocía

Excellent content and problems to solve very interesting and challenging, some are complicated if read well. I learned to use the tool better with concepts I didn't know.

By Roshani S

Jul 6, 2020

This is an excellent course to start programming. Professor Mike Fitzpatrick is awesome teacher. The way he teach is really amazing, it never feels just like a lecture video but the way he teaches gives the realistic feeling of being taught in classroom. He made learning programming fun through his lectures and the contents are also fabulous.

By Louise C J

Mar 13, 2019

Mike is very detailed in his discussions and examples during his lectures. The occasional humor that he injects during his lectures makes the subject matter less boring (sorry for the lack of a better word) to listen to. This course definitely laid down the necessary foundation that I need to learn to get me up and running with using Matlab.

By LAGOON B

Sep 19, 2020

This is a phenomenal course and absolutely recommended for those who don't know anyting about coding. You will appreciate the teachings of Dr. Fitzpatrick and the assignments are perfectly graded and challenging. Only one issue that the last two assignment questions(echo_gen and img_blur) ,in my opinion needs to be more elaborated and clear

By Iyi O

Jun 12, 2020

Excellent course!!! I had learned MATLAB before but this course really opened my eyes to see MATLAB for what it truly is, a programming language! My previously shallow understanding of MATLAB has been very much deepened, and I am very grateful for that. 100% recommend! The bits of humour during the lessons made it all the more enjoyable :)

By Dr. N D

Jul 15, 2020

The course is very well organized. I learnt a lot of things in MATLAB programming. The assignments are really good, sometimes tough also. The video lectures are very useful in solving the assignments. The videos are just the perfect blending of theory and programming. Nice course by Vanderbilt University. Thanks to the Professors and team.

By Elavarasan S

Jul 6, 2020

Its very fantastic course with good teaching and real time practises. Its be a great challenge to complete this course.I believe that it will help me to start a new career in my life. this is beginning for me and do a lot of hard work to improve my skills. thank you very much coursera for giving wonderful opportunity during COVID lockdown.

By Sachin R P

May 10, 2020

It is really help full course for us as we become more familiar with programming and coding in Matlab

i learn many more function and use of then through this course which will reduce time required to get work done. i am also thankful to Mike Fitzpatrick for explaining all lesion with such easiest way.Again thank-you so much to all relevant.

By Wesam R

Apr 17, 2017

Very good course as an introductory. Covers basis of programming using MATLAB. The content is very interesting and useful because it shaped a strong basic of MATLAB and make it easy for anyone to finds its own way to go deeper. This my second time as a revision and to complete the Course because last time I have watched downloaded videos.

By Chengkai F

Mar 15, 2017

Amazing course!!! This is my first time trying a web-course and also the first time for programming. The lectures are well-prepared and clear. The homework is challenging but not impossible, which enabled me to learn a lot. The friendly mentors response my questions fast and in details, which makes me feel supportive. Highly recommended!

By Mirnihad A

Oct 27, 2020

I am very glad that I have taken this course in my early path of learning programming. I want to send my gratitudes to Mike Fitzpatrick and Akos Ledeczi for their work and especially, for teaching passion of Mike Fitzpatrick.This Course not only gave me the overview of MATLAB also tought me MATLAB programming with detailed information.

By Oluwatosin O K

Dec 4, 2020

I am a 3rd year mechanical engineering student and I can say that I learnt a lot from this course, Professor Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who never makes learning feel boring. I found the discussion forums very helpful when tackling the problem sets, big kudos to the entire teaching staff of this course, you all are amazing!

By Nour A

Sep 6, 2020

A really good course, the instructor explains everything to you down to the smallest details, giving example to everything, the assignments are pretty balanced, giving you a good test for what you learned without being insanely difficult for new learners. I'd recommend this course for anyone who wants to learn programming from scratch.

By Raghuram K C

Jun 14, 2020

From being an absolute novice about programming nine weeks ago to knowing something about the same topic now feels great. The course content and the way everything has been put together is awesome and very easy to understand at the same time. I would definitely recommend this course to anyone with little or no knowledge of programming.

By Liyuan W

Jun 22, 2020

I enjoyed how the course is structured and how assignments are prepared to encourage learning. It helped me to find the gaps in my knowledge. I learned MATLAB specifically for my research projects (lots of time-lapse image analysis). With this course, I feel more confident with my programming skills. Thank you, Vanderbilt University!

By Sui L S W

Jul 1, 2020

I have thoroughly enjoyed this course, thank you! Some assignments are meant to be more challenging, but they are great ways to put what you've learnt to practice and build your programming skills. The topics of the assignments are diverse which gives you a sense of how broadly MATLAB can be applied to different problems and fields.

By ayush l

Sep 6, 2016

The course is very helpful in learning the software. It is learner friendly as teacher gives so many examples to make understand the syntax. The course not only enhances software skills but also gives an insight on theoretical concepts. It make different concepts on matrices clear. Last but not the least, Course is very much helpful

By Nishu K

Apr 28, 2020

This course is a satisfactory one for those who might be trying coding first time, but it is the best course of MATLAB that one can start with and provides all the basic overview as well as detailed parts of programming, and also shows real life problems. It's assignments also cover all the possible problems of real life problems.

By Bernd S

May 17, 2017

I haven't finished the course yet, but I can certainly already say that it is excellent. Prof. Fitzpatrick's pleasant Southern pace and humor — along with the well-structured course design — make this a winner for anyone interested in learning how to use Matlab, as well as a good introduction to basic concepts of linear algebra.

By Nikhil T

Jun 5, 2020

Perfect course for a beginner who wants to learn the basics of MATLAB. There is no need to have any prior knowledge to programming either, one can just start learning. i recommend engineers or programmers or anyone with a curiosity to study this course as this skill has a vast scope and can come in handy with many applications.

By Rospopchuk M

Apr 5, 2020

This course was very useful and interesting for me, I could not break from studying it. With each new task, more and more wanted to solve the problem. The video lectures were especially interesting and most importantly not boring. I want to thank everyone who made the effort to create this course, you have done a very good job.

By Xinang L

Aug 21, 2017

Excellent course even for student without any programming foundation!

Sometimes,the Professor's way of teaching has been very interesting and impressive :) . It has really opened a door for me to learn computer science as one of my hobbies.

Looking forward to other courses concerning How to use Matlab to build mathematic models.

By RAVI K

Mar 9, 2021

This is a very interesting course. I like this course and also interested about this course. This teacher Teaches very carefully all of thing so interest is more time extend and finally, I submitted all the assignment before the summation time.

This teacher teaches very very interested so, finally rating goes through Excellent.

By Alisa C

Jul 28, 2020

I really liked Professor Mike Fitzpatrick's way of teaching and explaining each topic. He made the programming language quite easy to understand and use. The assignments also helped me to progressively grow my knowledge and do well in the submissions. Overall I liked this course and I would recommend other students to take it.