Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
14,962 ratings
3,959 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

3901 - 3925 of 3,945 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By adnan m

May 26, 2018

YOU ARE GIVING DIFFICULT HOME WORKS

By Himanshi C

Oct 20, 2019

I learned a lot from this course.

By Jackie W

Aug 15, 2020

too difficult assignments

By Vishnupriya.P

May 28, 2020

it is very useful course

By Wang T (

May 10, 2020

too easy compared to cs50

By KRISHNA P K

Dec 16, 2020

its very easy to learn

By Jiacheng Z

Nov 29, 2018

Too easy!!!!

By Eslam M S A H

Aug 31, 2020

Good course

By shivam k

Jun 8, 2021

ydtfyu

By Dhanyashree

May 25, 2020

Good.!

By Haidy i

Sep 24, 2021

good

By LAGUDU I

Apr 14, 2021

Good

By Ruchi

Jun 14, 2020

no

By Zachariah H

Oct 14, 2021

I was following quite well up until week 5 when all of a sudden the material got extremely dry. I understand that we need to learn the basics, but my goodness at least offer students some type of meat and potatoes to what they're learning and WHY. We began to learn how to create and print format strings, with the assumption that we even knew what or how to type out a program string in the first place.

I think that this course would have been more enjoyable with some real world applications instead of printing out a bunch of letters and numbers included in "zombie matrices" with no real value to the user or the programmer. Tangible data might actually get students excited.

By Justin D

Feb 13, 2021

Like many of the other reviews say, the lectures were interesting for the most part and it was a valuable course overall. However, the later assignments (especially week 9) were way too hard for the material taught in the course. A recommendation would be to show examples on how to solve more complex problems, and be more thorough/detailed with lectures opposed to only giving a few examples of built in MATLAB functions.

By Nevin P

Jun 7, 2020

The course was good till week 5, after that, I just lost it and wasn't able to understand most of the I had to refer youtube channel and other websites for help. Most of the questions were so tough that I couldn't relate it with the lecture felt like the same as a typical school. He teaches the basics very well but when you look at the question feels like it out of nowhere. I really had difficulty in solving the codes.

By Timothy C J

May 27, 2020

This is a good course. Some of the programming assignments are way too hard for a beginner level class. I would like to be able to get one-on-one time with the professors via Microsoft Teams or Skype. Mike is an outstanding teacher and he reminds me of some of the best of the best teachers from my high school days and my classes in college.

By Caitlin H

Jun 15, 2020

Videos were very good and easy to understand but didn't provide enough help to actually do the assignments. Not recommended if you have no prior programming experience before this.

By Prajwal D

Apr 10, 2020

Course is good. But its very high for one who is introduced to programming using MATLAB. If one has knowledge about other programming languages then it is ok

By Aroni A E H

Jun 1, 2021

Actualizar las clases e intentar hacer clases en espanol no es tan justo que sea así para alumnos de paises sudamericanos

By MOHITE S M

May 28, 2020

Lot of assignment had functions which were not taught in the video lectures.

By Afkar A

May 26, 2021

Quiz questions are too difficult and are not covered in the theory lessons.

By mohamed e

Nov 20, 2020

the assignment is too hard it's not suitable for a beginner in Matlab

By Fardin F K

Jun 3, 2020

last 2 weeks were unnecessary for begineers

By Deleted A

Jul 17, 2020

I do not like the Lecturer style.