Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
14,486 ratings
3,847 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 3,822 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Vinh Đ Q

Jun 4, 2021

This is one of the best MATLAB courses so far. After this course, you will get the fundamental concepts of programming with MATLAB. With that knowledge, you can confidently use MATLAB for your specialization.

By Ankith S

Feb 16, 2020

I would recommend this to everyone who wants to learn Matlab irrespective of their prior knowledge about the language. It helped a coding novice like me to write code specifically suited for my data analysis.

By Beata G

Aug 17, 2016

Brilliant introductory course with very well prepared exercises. The automated testing file was of immense help. Managed to get the knowledge into place, which makes my future PhD work with matlab much easier

By Raktim R F

Aug 22, 2020

Had a great experience under the instructions of Mike Fitzpatrick sir.

A big thanks to him and the whole family of the course organizers.

Hope this course would be really handy for my academic and job fields.

By SRINJOY B

May 29, 2020

This coarse helped me to jump start my career towards MATLAB programming. This coarse covers all the required basics of MATLAB and the included assignments really test your skills and understanding of MATLAB

By Vinz Y W C

May 8, 2020

This programming is solid and insightful. I am able to get a considerable result even there is no any relevant knowledge regarded to programming for me previously. Much more appreciated for the program team.

By Rahul S

Jul 18, 2020

Thank you for providing such a wonderful platform for learning. Keep up the good work. I really appreciate the fact that you guys are not only helping us by teaching but also helping through forums created.

By Biprav C

Jun 17, 2020

It is a great course to learn about programming with MATLAB. The instructor presented and explained all the concepts in a very understandable and easy way. Highly recommended course for beginners in MATLAB.

By Dhruvin P

Dec 14, 2019

I really love this course. My major is not related to coding. so, I didn't know anything about MATLAB. But, now I can write simple codes and after little more practice, I think I can be very good in coding.

By Rahul D M

Oct 20, 2019

This is a fantastic course to get accustomed to MATLAB. I request Coursera to bring another course on MATLAB of intermediate level, preferably by same tutor so we can build upon everything learnt from here.

By Kush k

Sep 24, 2020

I did not use any programming language other than C Programme . After completing this course i would like to learn other programming language . I think so Matlab is comparatively easy than other languages

By Ilpo N

Sep 19, 2020

Excellent course. It not only teaches you the basics of matlab but also gives tips and advice for programming universally. I highly recommend this course for everyone interested in programming with matlab!

By Aayu K

Oct 11, 2019

Really helpful course. For a person like me who didn't know much about programming, this course proved to be beneficial and the mentor make every point so clear in a very approachable way !

A big thanks !

By Rathod A

Jul 8, 2018

time period in which i had completed this course is one of the best of my life, but as we know that every good thing has to end. i wish other student also get good environment like me and learn new things.

By alok k

Jul 12, 2020

Very well structured course, it was a great learning experience, although some questions are really tough and at time tough to understand but going through the Matlab coursebook makes the work pretty easy

By Zhihao W

Jun 19, 2020

This is a perfect Matlab introductory course. I highly recommend taking it before taking any advanced Matlab courses. This course covers basic programming syntax, which will be very helpful in the future.

By Parvesh P

May 9, 2020

It was a valuable course .The assignment were tough so that we can think more on the solution.

overall it was a complete package of knowledge.

Thank you professors and the coursera team for all the support.

By Hamidreza F

Sep 9, 2017

The best course for someone who hates programming!

For almost 5 years, I was running away of Matlab, finally made it with this course!

Thank you Professor Fitzpatrick, you made me change my bad habits :)

By Azamat Y

Jul 19, 2021

Nice course! I strongly recommend for beginners. The videos are easy to follow. And I found it very cognitive. In the first assignments would be better to give more explanation about the assignment task.

By KEVIN I M F

Jan 15, 2021

El curso enseña los principios básicos de la programación, y como hacer un uso correcto de esos principios en Matlab, es un curso muy bueno para principiantes que no tienen conocimientos en programación.

By Nayan S

Jun 22, 2020

A very very informative course for those who need to brush up their skills or are looking to learn it from scratch. The basics are covered in detail video lectures and can be tested with the assignments.

By Prajwal C S

Jun 14, 2020

Great course for the beginners who want start the codding with MATLAB. It covers all basic concepts and at the end of course you definitely becomes programmer with amazing skills with applications also.

By DANIEL S Q

Nov 20, 2020

Absolutely phenomenal instructors, exercise problems are just hard enough to be incredibly satisfying when solved. Overall would definitely recommend if you're even mildly interested in learning MATLAB.

By Rajat P T

Jul 13, 2020

It was a great course that explained Matlab & it's features in a very simple way and helped me gaining confidence to write basic codes to process image and audio signals by visualizing them as a matrix.

By Abdul H S

Apr 22, 2020

The course seems simple in the started, and yet assignments were interesting. Later part of course was intensified and somehow overloaded and bit of irrelevant too. Like reading Figures, and echo etc...