Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
13,800 ratings
3,668 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 3,621 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Vikram R

Jan 26, 2020

I am in between the course however i think i am in a position to give feedback. The course lecture video is short and crisp giving so much in less time making it time efficient and very helpful.

By Tasneem R A

Feb 19, 2017

This is an excellent introductory course on Matlab. The homework questions are very helpful if solved sincerely. Overall, it's a great course which gives students a solid foundation to build on.

By Adithya S M

Dec 2, 2020

This is the best course for understanding the MATLAB programming from beginer level to intermediate level. The lectures are easy to understand which make learning this course more interesting.

By Paolo R

Nov 2, 2020

Best Course Ever. Now I can Analyze big amount of data with few lines of code. I will take the two remaining courses for sure. Thank you very much Mike Fitzpatrick, Akos Ledeczi and Vanderbilt.

By Khanh L D

Aug 8, 2020

The course is really helpful. It's a great choice for whom don't know about Matlab. However, the excercises of this course is quite hard personally. Many thanks to the teacher of this course !!

By Mars T

Jul 19, 2020

This course show you a lot of basic programming language with a hands-on style and it's very easy for new-beginner to start with. I've gained a lot of coding experience throughout this journey.

By samim a s

Jul 17, 2020

really it is very good course ,but assignment is to little bit hard this help you to know about Matlab ,and best part of this course is they give you Matlab licence for know more better.thanks

By SRIKAR B

Jul 15, 2020

i have thoroughly enjoyed this course.With the way sir teaches , i doubt anyone seriously willing to learn MATLAB in a fun and enriching way will have any problems.Thank you sir.Happy coding!!

By Himanshu C

Jun 13, 2020

This was a great course for me, as i am a mechanical engineer and i always find programming complex but this course is designed such that anyone with no or little experience can understand it.

By Sourav S

Jan 22, 2018

Mike Fitzpatrick teaches very well , right from the basics to advanced topics . The assignments are quite challenging , and the grading system is really good . I recommend taking this course .

By Choudhari O L

Jan 1, 2018

An excellent course to get started with MatLab. The instructor is very good and has a great sense of humor making it a great learning class. Recommended for new learners (beginners) of MatLab.

By Ravi H

Jul 26, 2020

One of the wonderful online courses I have come across in these pandemic days. Wonderful to learn theoretically and practically. Thank you is a small word to reward the efforts of Instructors

By Revathy R

Jun 20, 2020

This course was my first programming course. It systematically taught me to write small programmes and was really happy when i finished each assignment. Thank you for an enriching experience.

By Tumul K

Apr 7, 2018

an excellent course for anyone interested in learning the fundamentals of MATLAB from the very beginning. The lectures were lucid, informative and entertaining at the same time. A real treat.

By Chetan B

Mar 8, 2021

I very much did enjoy the course throughout. Special thanks to Mike for making this course interesting and playful yet knowledgeable at the same time. I did love his style of teaching a lot.

By Joshua A

Jun 20, 2020

The teaching was great with hands-on examples and exercises for those who bought the MATLAB programming book. The course is excellent for anyone who desires to learn programming with MATLAB.

By Subhradeep G

Jun 15, 2020

Best course on MATLAB I've ever seen. Started from the very basic and ended with the most advanced features of MATLAB. Didn't leave any stone unturned. Thank you for such a wonderful course.

By Carlos H R B d S

Jul 24, 2020

The course is just wonderful. Professor Fitzpatrick and his team did a great job together. The classes are excellent and the exercises are very interesting. I became a fan of MATLAB myself.

By Sajjad K

May 15, 2020

I have studied this course and it helped me a lot in programming. What an excellent journey with sir and challenging assignments.

In short i have learnt more than my expectation.............

By Yukta S

May 12, 2020

It was great! The concepts were explained really well and PDFs were provided for every week. The staff was really helpful and friendly. Thank you very much, I am no longer afraid of coding!

By Shakti l

May 3, 2020

I m very satisfied after completing this course. This course provided me all the basic knowledge related to the MATLAB programming, which will help me alot for my future studies and carrer.

By Athallia Q

Apr 30, 2020

Thank you! i really enjoy this course. Doing MATLAB is so hard for me at first but after learning with Mr. Fitzpatrick, well, it is still hard but i have a better understanding at it now :)

By Roshni S

May 3, 2019

Course content was informative and well planned. Able to code basic programmes using MATLAB successfully after the course. Assignments were well designed and helped test programming skills.

By Aagashram.N

Mar 12, 2017

VERY USEFUL and the problem were mind busting. And I also want to mention about the FORUM. I had never seen any kind of active community anywhere where peoples in the thirst to help others.