Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,268 ratings
4,018 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 4,002 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Amr F M R

Apr 14, 2020

Simply, this course was far more than my expectations!

I do strongly recommend it as a solid introduction to programming in general and MATLAB in specific.

Thanks VANDERBILT University :)

By Wenyuan Z

Nov 16, 2018

The professor is interesting and really good at sharing some useful points when using the matlab. This is definitely a good entry level course or anyone wants to make progress in Matlab

By Julio C I F

Jun 11, 2017

Excelent teacher, for a introductory course the work was intensive. It was a wanderful experience, homeworks are hard, but you can do them if your paciently and constant. Thanls a lot!

By Diwas L

Jul 1, 2020

This course really makes me wish I could attend live classes with the instructor. He is really cool and I wish every course had such an instructor. Enjoyed every moment of this course,

By Zhonglin O

Nov 25, 2019

This course is some what more difficult than i have thought, but finally i completed it successfully. Thanks for the teachers help, i have really learnt a lot. This course is so cool!!

By Ali R M

Sep 15, 2020

Well this course was amazing !, truly a beginners level course. I don't know about all others but i enjoyed the way of teaching (considering online education) and jokes were hilarious

By Raihan M S

Sep 14, 2020

This course was really nice and helped me to understand about matlab and how to use it. The instructor are also kind and are superb at explaining things bit by bit. overall 5/5 for me

By Zohaib H

Jul 26, 2020

Great way of teaching of the instructor with subtle jokes. Some assignments were really hard and made me bang my head on wall, in a good way. Thanks coursera and Vanderbilt university

By K P V

May 22, 2020

The course has given the wholesome idea about MATLAB from the ground up. Highly recommend this course for those wish to learn the basics of MATLAB or any programming language as such.

By Yashwanth R

Apr 12, 2020

Incredible course! Had lots of trouble dealing this language earlier. Thanks to the instructor Mike, it's been fun ride throughout. This is a good one lads, you can go for it. Cheers.

By Mahesh K P

Aug 5, 2018

This course is comprehensive and covers many topics. It should not be seen as introduction only. This course is above basic course and needs more practice before starting this course.

By Tomas B

May 31, 2017

Excellent course for the people looking to start working with Matlab also for young programmers and engineering students looking to an easy introduction to basic programming concepts.

By darshita j

May 3, 2017

A well paced and systematic course to get you through the basics of MATLAB programming.

Lectures were very well delivered. It included related theory and hands on practical experience.

By Sai S M

Jul 31, 2020

The course is very helpful and can help you even if you are learning MATLAB from scratch and the instructor is funny at times and cracks jokes which made the videos more interesting.

By K. M A H L

Jul 11, 2020

My first online course and it's a great experience. Enjoyed it to the fullest. Thanks to Prof. Fitzpatrick for his humorous yet wonderful lectures that made me stick to the very end.

By Piyush D

May 29, 2020

Before starting this course i didn't know anything about MATLAB, but after the end of this course i can confidently write a program using MATLAB. A heartful Thanks to the instructor.

By Meenakshy G

Jan 13, 2019

The tutorial resources were really helpful and the assignments were set to the correct difficulty level as to understand and implement all the concepts learned throughout the course.

By Simun S

Mar 16, 2017

Very good and wide course for matlab. I will probably never use most of this stuff in the course but it's nice to know something about them. I would recomend this course to everyone.

By PATHIK D

Sep 20, 2020

Outstanding course on Matlab that has helped me a lot in grasping the fundamentals of Matlab, I hope to improve my skills further in using Matlab in my own engineering applications.

By Nusrat O

Sep 13, 2020

Very nice course work. Thank you for your step by step lessons. Thanks a lot for the opportunity to try multiple times for the assignments, otherwise I would not have passed at all!

By Garre P P

Jul 2, 2020

Really, Amazing course.Mysuggection is in last problem better than given like unknow theory cooncept if

u given like array type explanation it will be more easy.course was excellent

By Karun M

Jun 26, 2020

really beautiful way to learn coding. the assignments given are really brain stimulating. i enjoyed going through this course.

i recommend this course if you are a beginner to coding

By mohadeseh m

Jun 25, 2020

Thank you sir for everything. During the course I feel like I am in a real class. I appreciate your time and I am grateful for everything I learnt.

In an one sentence: It was great!

By Subhojit C

May 30, 2020

It was a great experience, going through this course I not only learned about Matlab but also developed good programming skills. The course was fun and challenging at the same time.

By Geran T

Aug 16, 2017

Great instructor. Thought-provoking assignments. Except that in the later lectures, complex concepts are not fully explained. Need to watch the video a few times to finish homework.