Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
14,980 ratings
3,966 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 3,954 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Prince K

Jul 15, 2020

This course has given me a great learning experience on various matlab problems and it will definately help me in gaining a life long experience for my further work life.Thank you

By Puneet M

Jun 4, 2020

It was really fun to complete course ..I got addicted to this course problems and it gave me a good fundamentals .

I like the way the Prof. Mike taught the course with full of fun.

By MADHUMANTI S

May 12, 2020

The course materials are very good undoubtedly. Previously i had some basic knowledge in MATLAB. But I get more advanced knowledge from this course. This is a Zero to Hero course.

By YU-CHEN H

Mar 25, 2020

I really like this course! The course is easy to fallow and every exercise is challenging but fun. The professor has humour, too, which make the long lecture hours more enjoyable!

By pulkit j

Mar 20, 2020

Great course for absolute newbies. Very well organized course material and challenging homeworks.

The tutor is awesome and explains everything nicely. It was fun doing this course.

By SHIVAM V

Apr 1, 2019

Very nice course for beginners in programming.Very good for depth understanding of basic programming language and also matlab programming and use of its tool was taught very well.

By Rajat S

Mar 26, 2018

It was a good introduction course. A little slow for my liking but good thing is you can always speed up the videos. The assignments had a balance between easy and good questions.

By Kaushik S

Jan 28, 2018

The way the course was taught will help people of all backgrounds to start with Matlab.The assignments and quizzes also helps users to apply their learning and correct themselves.

By David C

Dec 27, 2016

Great course with a very charismatic lecturer. The assignments were very challenging which was essential as the majority of learning takes place when actually coding.

Thanks,

David

By Mina H M

Oct 11, 2021

I knew how to write code in MATLAB before but I wanted to complete my knowledge so I started watching this course and do the exercises, It helped a lot. Thanks you instructors :)

By Mintu M

Sep 2, 2021

The course is best for those who want learn Matlab,teaching techinuque course material is better than any other course and the assignment is so good. Overall the course is best.

By Manas R R

Jan 17, 2021

Enjoyed the course, it was fun and engaging especially with humour of professor. The assessments are of good quality. After 6 weeks the problems level up and challenged me a lot.

By Neelkant N

Apr 11, 2020

This course is very basic course. The course is explained in very nice format. Training exercise are of advance level and this course is not sufficient to deal training exercise.

By Chin J H

Aug 4, 2020

This is my first programming course and it is just nice for me to understand the important concepts of computer programming such as function, loops, if else statement and so on.

By Ankit P

Jul 19, 2020

A great course for a beginner who wants to start programming. Some of the questions really force the learner to think. It's fun and informative. I really had a great experience.

By Longfei C

Apr 20, 2019

Very solid knowledge of MATLAB is taught. It is not only useful for using MATLAB but also for understanding how programmers do to achieve some functionalities while programming.

By Nina

Dec 20, 2018

Nice course! The professor is so nice and humorous, and his teaching is clear and thorough. The homework requires some time to finish, but it is very useful for matlab learners!

By Olivio A C J

Nov 28, 2018

Excellent course, with very good explanations. The teacher speaks in a clear way and has a very good didactics. I am learning a lot about Matlab and computation in this course.

By Shady S

Sep 12, 2018

The instructor is perfect, has a sense of humor and very patient with the basics but the course would be more perfect if its content is bigger like for example contain simulink

By Bowei Y

Nov 22, 2017

The tutorial is very clear and the style of the pro's teaching is special. It helped me to create a structure about MATLAB from general to detailed. I really enjoy this course .

By Manohar M

Mar 12, 2017

Video Lectures were easy to understand and discussion center helped in further understanding the subject. Examples were chosen from real life, which made the course very useful.

By Gustavo J M M

Aug 23, 2021

PESIMA plataforma para estudiantes de otras regiones. No debería ser un estrés llevar los cursos virtuales. Debería tener el formato de Onramp de la misma pagina web de MATLAB.

By Barani Y

Aug 5, 2020

This is a very interesting session sir but I had a some struggles in the last few assignments

and I have some doubts sir could you please explain the last assignments in future.

By ganesh Y

Jul 23, 2020

great work done by professor really understood well explained....to the root of course with amazing mind set of assignments and topics. thank you so much really appreciated sir

By Deepak V

Jun 5, 2020

Great course for jump start in programming. Amazing explanations and structure of the course. Must for every beginner. Thanks to developers of this course, you did a great job!