Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
16,784 ratings

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

IK

Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

SS

Jan 20, 2022

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 4,299 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Hakan K

Jun 30, 2020

Dont think just enroll.excellent course with excelent instructer. warning final exams solutions are on the internet dont directly look at them. instead solve them by yourself

By Rohit R

May 4, 2020

An exceptional course for Introducing the basic concepts of MATLAB programming! Professor Mike is just great! His narration and explanation made the course a fun experience!

By Beyisa B

Mar 18, 2020

This introductory course very important for an engineering or Science student ..So I finally recommended if possible to add numerical method solving using Matlab

By Marcos R V M

Oct 9, 2017

Outstanding!!! Before doing this course, I already have been using Matlab... After concluding it, many gaps were filled! I do recommend this course! The teacher is excellent!

By Rahul k

Apr 10, 2022

This course is awesome one and starting programming from matlab is great experience for me and the instructor of this course is very good and the content is really awesome.

By KAMAL T

Sep 21, 2020

such a awesome course fully loaded with assignments for better practices and makes your coding skills better and better.I wil recomeend u to do this awesome designed course

By Yannie Y Y H

Jul 30, 2020

This is the best course I have ever taken in my life. Everything is well explained and the assignments are very well designed as well. Wish I could have given it a 10 marks.

By Hassan R

May 27, 2020

The medium of instruction and the way sir taught was quite remarkable. this was my first online course and the way of teaching kept me motivated to continue. Thanks Sir!!!!!

By Vicky S

May 21, 2020

This course is best.

But is not biginner level, It's hard to solve assignments, specially week 7,8,9.

Please provide some kind of flow chart which helps to solve assignments.

By Hong-Ming C

Aug 6, 2017

This is a very nice course and the homework question is extraordinary helpful , it really help me to understand the main idea of each topic and improve my programming skill.

By CHANDRAKALA M R

Aug 16, 2021

wonderful teaching well experienced teacher very nicely explained and easy to understand really i received very good knowledge about the MATLAB programming now can do it

By INDRAJIT C

Feb 25, 2021

I am very happy to completing this course. This is very good programming. I also suggest to other to complete this course and know how to this programming is helpful to us.

By Subas M

Dec 11, 2020

Excellent teaching and excellent everything. I simply knew nothing of MATLAB before this course and now I know alot. I cannot thank enough. May God bless everyone involved.

By Nikhil A

Sep 24, 2020

This is a great course to learn the fundamentals of Matlab and programming. This course helps to understand the concepts and apply them in the exercises and work on Matlab.

By Satyajeet K

Jul 23, 2020

This course has given me a head start for my Master's degree coursework preparation. Now, I can work with matrices and apply MATLAB for advanced concepts and live projects.

By Avinash K

Apr 1, 2020

It is really a good course for learning MATLAB, it covers almost every topic. Though its an introductory course it is quite challenging for a intermediate level programmer.

By Nasim H

Apr 19, 2022

This is an exceptional course that started from basics and gradually moved toward advance topics. Assignments were super helpful. I would definitely recommend this course.

By 甘一凡

Jul 3, 2020

This course does help me to improve my programming skills and train my programming thinking. The lecturer is very nice and all the assignments are classic and interesting.

By Navdeep G

May 20, 2020

Very helpful course for MATLAB beginners .It gives lots of basic concepts of MATLAB.The level of Course enhances as it reach to end .THANKS COURSERA !!! for this course..

By QUIÑONES, C M I

Apr 30, 2020

One of the best courses in Coursera that I've ever taken. The instructor teaches in a calm and not confusing manner, and the video gives easy-to-follow examples and tasks.

By Ezazul H S

Mar 31, 2020

It is an excellent course. Mike Fitzpatrick started from the basics and has covered a lot of things. I hope to build on the foundation that I have received in this course.

By John D

Oct 22, 2018

this is a great MATLAB course. I already self-taught myself MATLAB before taking this course, but his course still gives me new knowledge and strengthens my understanding.

By Minh N

Mar 2, 2018

The course provide details on programming with MATLAB. Students can actually write codes after learning. However, the course does not cover Graphical User Interface (GUI).

By ali e

Apr 14, 2022

this course is very comprehensive with a very great mentor; any body attemp to complete this course will have all the tools and basics for being a professional programmer

By Ammar R

Aug 26, 2020

The course is designed in such a manner that if we are using MATLAB for the first time we can learn each and every thing as well. But the assignment for little more tough