Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,525 ratings
4,069 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

SS
Jan 20, 2022

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

876 - 900 of 4,057 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Süleyman Y P

May 4, 2020

Taking this course from talented instructors and learning a new programming language was a great opportunity for me. I had fun while I was learning. Thank you.

By Pujan P

Apr 28, 2020

it was an delightful experience ,would like to see further upgrade to matlab where using simulink,control system and all sort of other library things are done.

By FAQRUL H

May 27, 2018

Excellent resource to get started with MATLAB. Detailed explanation in book chapters and great presentation makes it really effective to learn the programming.

By Archit V

May 7, 2017

This course is recommended to all who want to be good in programming. The mentoring is really good for understanding and implementing on real problems as well.

By Srikanth M

Dec 17, 2020

Perfect course for Matlab learners, who had no experience with Matlab. I already know basics of C++ hence i didnt find it much difficult to learn this course.

By UTPAL

Aug 26, 2020

It was very engaging and informative. they have also worked hard to keep the course relevant with newer upgrades that come after the recording of this course.

By Arjit

Jul 30, 2020

it is a very nice course for those who are new to coding and also for those who what to learn MATLAB as a skill, which can help you in your respective fields.

By SAPTAPARNA P

Jul 3, 2020

Great instructor. Extremely well paced course with very tricky assessments to test your learning. Also, I really appreciated the instructor's sense of humour.

By SANJAY K K

Jun 11, 2020

It will very helpful for the MATLAB beginners and to enhance the skills. The course content is crystal clear. The way of teaching is very unique. Thanks a lot

By Swapnil B P

May 5, 2020

This is really good course to learn basic programming in MATLAB. Some of the assignments are really challenging, if you are a beginner in programming like me.

By Sócrates R

Oct 3, 2019

Great classes and teacher, with practical videos about matlab. The problems proposed by the course helps you to really understand what is computer programming

By Soh W K

Feb 1, 2018

One of the best way to learn MATLAB very quickly from these Professors. The Lecturer had did a great job in explaining how to use MATLAB is very simple terms.

By RAHULKUMAR L

Aug 5, 2021

Before the taking course i have no idea about what is matlab and i worried but after the succefully completed i have now confident in MATLAB,Thanks coursera.

By Santiago G B

Apr 7, 2021

Really good introduction to programming for engineers and first look at Matlab as a programming language and mathematical tool. Great for aspiring engineers.

By Souhardya P

Mar 27, 2021

One of the best courses on MATLAB. The best part is I have been provided matlab2021a version license for the practice. Overall the assessments were moderate.

By 2K18\EE\250 Y A

Aug 27, 2020

it's a great course that helps me to learn the Matlab in such a short time period . and the instructor always tries to teach in a way that we would be bored.

By Oscar A V G

Jul 29, 2020

Es un buen curso te ayuda a esforzarte y a subir el nivel en la programación que va a ser y de hecho ya es un punto muy importante en una carrera profesional

By SHAURYA P S

Jul 17, 2020

A very great course for a beginner or intermediate person. I learned a lot of great ways to approach the problem. Very great course for all sincere learners.

By Ekin G

Jun 5, 2020

Wonderful course! Just wish that there wouldn't be any 40+ min videos, and sometimes Fitzpatrick was talking a little sluggish. Still, he is a great teacher.

By Aninkan G

May 11, 2020

Nice course. The course helped me a lot in understanding matlab concepts and in my practical field of study.Thanks Coursera for providing a wonderful course.

By Amrutha K

May 8, 2020

I found this course very useful. Even though the problems get complex at the end after completing this course I feel confident in understanding MatLab codes.

By Deleted A

Aug 17, 2019

Un curso muy bien explicado y de forma sencilla. Cubre todas los temas básicos necesarios para tomar el control de nuestro propio avance en el uso de Matlab.

By Ibis A A M

Mar 18, 2018

Excelente curso muy detallado y con un ritmo de aprendizaje sumamente eficiente. Felicidades a sus creadores me parece un excelente curso de inicio en MATLAB

By João P C Z

Mar 1, 2018

These were the best classes I had in any programming language in my entire life. Thank you so much Dr.Fitzpatrick, Dr. Lédeczi and Vanderbilt University! ! !

By Parul K

May 10, 2017

I was a good experience learning MATLAB programming. This is very good course. And I personally enjoyed learning it...as MATLAB is one of my favourite field.