Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,495 ratings
4,064 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

IK
Dec 19, 2021

Basics concepts are well covered within a short time and a few videos. I would recommend it for those who want to learn complete basics. but to master it, you need to enrol in a specialization course.

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

Filter by:

901 - 925 of 4,050 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By sanket g

May 11, 2020

First time i realize that i can be work using MATLAB nice it was great experience for me and the instructor are very helpfull and always behind me thank you

By Hussain B

Mar 31, 2020

Great course for those who are looking to get started with Matlab. The instructor's sense of humor definitely helps keep you awake and focused on the topic.

By Christien B

Dec 6, 2019

Superb course, feel much more confident in my ability to tackle MATLAB problems in a broader sense than completing the MATLAB tutorial provided by MATHWORKS

By Ashwin V

Apr 26, 2018

Very helpful for understanding the basic concepts in MATLAB Programming and other functions associated in MATLAB. Highly recommended course to all students.

By Arjun

Dec 12, 2017

An excellent course to develop the basic fundamentals in MATLAB. I like this course and the efforts taken by the Vanderbilt University to teach this course.

By Hong H N

Jun 27, 2016

It is a challenging course, but you will receive the amazing help from great instructors and mentors. Recommended for anyone who wants to study programming.

By Lesly M S F

Nov 8, 2021

El curso es excelente, la manera en la que avanza la complejidad va acorde a lo presentado tanto en los elementos de apoyo como en los videos del profesor.

By Anne-Se L P

Jan 25, 2021

My goal was not to become a programer in Matlab but to understand it well enough to be able to understand what my employees were discussing. Goal achieved!

By HASIT T

Sep 29, 2020

A very well-framed course which covers the concepts of coding from elementary level to higher levels using MATLAB. I highly recommend this course to others

By Pedro H P F

Aug 4, 2020

Amazing course! Very didactic and easy to understand. The professor is great and explains the topics including jokes, thus making the lesson runs smoothly.

By Priyanka V B

Jun 17, 2020

This course is really interesting and the instructor never let this course get boring. I look forward to learn some more courses from instructors like him.

By MANDAR K

May 10, 2020

This course is an excellent introduction to programming using MATLAB. I found the problems to be challenging and stimulating. I enjoyed the course greatly.

By Adam C

Apr 30, 2020

Great course, they definitely put a lot of time and effort into it. Can get frustrating when you're stuck on something, but feels good to finish it all up.

By Mukul V

Feb 17, 2020

Hands down the best course, online or otherwise, there is to learn MATLAB and perhaps coding. Thank you Coursera for such an amazing learning experience.

By Burak B

Oct 29, 2017

Course was very educational and helpful. The difficulties of assignments were also good. Except 5th question of 8th assignment, that question was terrible.

By Manish P

Jul 12, 2017

This course helped me to learn all the basics and the advanced topics of Matlab. Will recommed it to anyone who wishes to learn all the concepts of Matlab.

By gaurav a

Jun 12, 2017

For starters, probably the best course out there. Credits to Coursera ,Vanderbilt university and the professor for this interesting and interactive course.

By Sayed H H

Dec 28, 2021

A great course for learning computer programming with MATLAB. Strongly recommended for Electrical Engineers. Detailed video lectures with great exercises.

By Angel P L

Sep 27, 2020

A meaningfull course which besides teaching Matlab's syntax introduces you to the world of coumputer programming and enhances your problem solving skills.

By Bibhakar D

Sep 5, 2020

Fantastic tutorials with smart and brilliant assignments. I really enjoyed the time during the course and looking forward to having more like this course.

By Mario B

Jul 11, 2020

Useful course. The teacher is clear explaining concepts and the correct person to introduce you in the world of MATLAB, beside he has good sense of humor!

By Werner N

Jun 1, 2020

Learned a ton. Had a bit of a hard time with the final test programs. but that was due to my limited time commitment. Fortunately work got way too busy.

By 2K18/EE/105 M S

Sep 14, 2020

Excellent teacher . Best suitable for a beginner student like me. Does not bore students by giving boring lectures. Great Experience learning. Thank You.

By Ms. N H

Aug 16, 2020

Thanks to all stakeholders for providing online learning opportunities.I also gained a lot of knowledge from teaching this subject.Thanks to the teacher.

By Luiz R

Mar 16, 2020

This course is simple, objective and with easy to understand language. It gave me a great progression in programming skills, like no other course before.