Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
15,940 ratings
4,156 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA

Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

SS

Jan 20, 2022

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

951 - 975 of 4,147 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Pallavi P

Aug 18, 2020

A simple course! You don't need any programming background to understand it. The focus on hands-on learning really helps understand the language better.

By Deleted A

Jul 30, 2020

best explanation.

and test is most important past of this course.

and I am very happy that I have developed a new skill.

and thank you so much!, sir ji....

By Yuti D K

Jul 13, 2020

A very detailed course! Explanations are very good and easily understandable.

The amount of practice I got has really helped me understand MATLAB better.

By Eran S

Jan 21, 2019

My favourite course on this platform. Truly engaging teaching, challenging exercises and excellent support. I very highly recommend! Thank you Coursera.

By Andrick R R

Apr 30, 2022

Es recomendable tomar este curso caundo ya se tienen algo de conocimientos de programación, y recomendable para ingenieros , matemáticos y científicos.

By Mudugama H S P

Oct 13, 2021

Impressive MATLAB course for me as a undergraduate engineering student. It is not too slow or too fast, covers a wide range of basics of this language.

By Fatima M

Nov 23, 2020

Course was very well-organized. Assignments was very challenging, best for learning. I have learned actually the introduction of programming by MATLAB.

By Giannina Z

Oct 4, 2020

One of the best courses I have taken from Coursera. Prof Fitzpatrick is excellent at keeping you engaged and wanting to learn more. Highly recommended.

By Tadej B

Jul 16, 2020

Very informative course ... Explains pretty much everything a starter programmer should know. Very pleased with the dificulty of classes and homeworks!

By Ishan S

Feb 8, 2020

Highly pleased, going through the entire course. Completed in one go. Was extraordinarily interesting. Feel like, I can do anything with MatLab window.

By Rahul D

Sep 17, 2017

One of the best online courses I have ever taken. Thanks to the Instructors, Mentors and everyone involved in the preparation of this excellent course.

By Arthur G R

Jul 31, 2020

Ótimo curso de introdução não só ao Matlab, mas à programação como um todo, estimulando a lógica com problemas desafiadores e aplicáveis ao cotidiano.

By Pinank T

Apr 19, 2020

i think its a best platform where you can learn something new .teacher is very good and there are very good assignments system.

i love it. thank you.

By Mehdi H G

Nov 27, 2019

I've attended a MATLAB course in the university on my curriculum, but now I am understanding what MATLAB is and what amazing things I can do with it.

By Jaafar N

Oct 15, 2017

Excellent Course! Great illustrations and beautiful homework assignments. Many thanks to the teachers and everyone who has contributed to this effort.

By Varun K M

Nov 13, 2020

Very very interesting. You are going to love this course. Easy explanation and brain sharpening quizzes are the best for this course. Enjoy learning.

By L. D S P

Sep 9, 2020

Instructors were good enough t explain the lessons and they are clear to understand. The exercises and notes give a better understanding. Great work.

By Vaishnavi C

Jun 8, 2020

The course is really well structured which makes it easy to cover the syllabus intime.The assignments are really useful to learn the topics in depth.

By Narayan A

Jun 3, 2017

Very Comprehensive course on Matlab..you become a pro after going through this course. It helps if u already have knowledge of the programming logics

By Joaquin C P

Apr 20, 2017

Muy bueno. Recomendable 100%. He pasado de no tener ni idea de matlab a tener una base. No lo aprenderás todo pero lo suficiente para moverte por él.

By syed m a h

May 26, 2021

It's a great course for beginners using MATLAB. The assignments are very good which help you develop problem solving mentality by using programming.

By Ashitha R N

Jul 27, 2020

This course covered all the basics that I needed to start working on Matlab, especially the homework assignments helped to build and clear concepts.

By Sanjib D

Jul 13, 2020

Love this course. Such a lovely teacher he is. I've enjoyed the full course and also liked the way of teaching of him. Will definitely miss you Sir.

By Lakshmi V S K

Jul 2, 2020

It is very useful, we can learn many things regarding Matlab. The main appreciating thing is they are providing free online Matlab services for free

By Shubhankar R

May 25, 2020

Great course although few programming assignments in the end could have some more examples so as to clearly explain what the program is intended for