Chevron Left
Back to English for Media Literacy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Media Literacy by University of Pennsylvania

4.9
stars
1,568 ratings
424 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Media Literacy, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in learning more about U.S. media literacy. In this course, you will explore different types of mass media, such as newspapers, magazines, television, and social media. This course will also give you the opportunity to develop a broader understanding of the role media plays in our lives, while building your vocabulary and giving you the language skills needed to analyze what you read and watch. The first unit in this course will provide an introduction to media literacy and give you an opportunity to evaluate your own media literacy level. In unit 2, you will learn how to identify facts versus opinions in the media. The next unit in the course will focus on the differences between social media and traditional media, while unit 4 will look at how gender and identity are covered in the media. In the final unit of the course, you will demonstrate your increased media literacy by through a culminating final project on social media. Development of this course was funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Office of English Language Programs. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license....

Top reviews

DT
Jan 26, 2019

I learned a lot from this online course especially the skills in media literacy. Thank you very much University of Pennsylvania. God bless to all staff and the people behind this program. More power!

LB
Feb 8, 2019

This course helps people to b knowledgeable in a very accessible way. Through Coursra you can study even in different places. Also you will get a Certificate that will be valubale to every learner.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 417 Reviews for English for Media Literacy

By Otgontuya

Apr 10, 2020

hello , i really enjoyed this training because teaches are teach very interesting lesson , i like it thank you so

By Madina Z

Feb 26, 2020

Super interesting, useful materials, well organized course, the language is clear and easy. Thank you so much )))

By Polina H

May 21, 2019

I really like this course.

It helps you to improve your English and media literacy what is important in our world

By Halima J

Apr 15, 2020

I liked how the structure of courses goes easly therefore very helpful and get better in english media literacy

By Sabrina Y

Oct 8, 2019

Sometimes it's a little boring, but the course content is useful and the contact content is more comprehensive.

By Bryant B D A

Feb 3, 2019

Informative course. It helped me a lot and enhanced my knowledge on how English could affect media that much.

By Кузнецова А А

Jun 26, 2017

This course was very useful for me. I learned media better and also improved my English. Thank you very much!

By m G

Apr 11, 2019

thanks for this video . i studied media in faculty for 4 years and i didn't feel it useful as this course .

By Yerzhanova G

Feb 27, 2020

It was very helpful to improve my English level in listening and reading, writing skills. Thank you a lot.

By Madelyn M M

Feb 5, 2019

This course is relevant especially now a days because almost all people are social media users.

Thank you !

By m j

Mar 10, 2021

Very helpful. we can learn not only basic English words but also main ideas to think deeply about media.

By BENMIRA Y I

Jun 27, 2020

This is an interesting course as we receive every day a lot of messages from a variety of media sources.

By 黃予貞

Jan 14, 2019

Fantastic! The course and teachers are amazing. Very helpful for English beginners.

值得推薦,課程和師資都好,對英文初學者友善

By Jovan M M

Aug 14, 2020

Me gustó mucho y espero poder tomar más cursos aquí porque siento que son muy completos y funcionales.

By Rhoda V M

Feb 10, 2019

Thank you,Coursera for this opportunity. We've learned a lot. More to come. And US Visa,too. :)) joke!

By Pulack R S

Oct 13, 2021

I have enriched a lot from this course and it has increased my confidence for official communication.

By Fatima B

May 24, 2021

Great course! but I faced some technical problems that I hope to get fixed in the future thank you.

By Contessa C A

Nov 24, 2017

This course is very helpful to be equipped in media literacy which is a common attribute nowadays.

By Sami M J M J

Nov 5, 2017

Really great, useful course, with interesting, easy to understand materials..

Appreciated efforts..

By Grace L

Nov 18, 2020

This course helped me understand media believes and I'm thrilled to learn the lessons. Thank you.

By Ann R L C

Oct 16, 2017

I found this course helpful as it provides me new knowledge that I can also share to my students.

By Alisa M

Oct 11, 2021

G​reat course for people unfamiliar with media technologies, young adults and English learners.

By AUNG K

May 27, 2020

I love and interest in this English for Media Literacy Course. Thanks for your online teaching!

By FAYCAL B

May 19, 2021

It is wonderful to experience Coursera in which allows me to learn and acquire more knowledge.

By Yuriy I

May 13, 2021

Sorry, this course was difficult for me. I will take a course for corresponding to my English.