Chevron Left
Back to English for Media Literacy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Media Literacy by University of Pennsylvania

4.9
stars
1,783 ratings
488 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Media Literacy, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in learning more about U.S. media literacy. In this course, you will explore different types of mass media, such as newspapers, magazines, television, and social media. This course will also give you the opportunity to develop a broader understanding of the role media plays in our lives, while building your vocabulary and giving you the language skills needed to analyze what you read and watch. The first unit in this course will provide an introduction to media literacy and give you an opportunity to evaluate your own media literacy level. In unit 2, you will learn how to identify facts versus opinions in the media. The next unit in the course will focus on the differences between social media and traditional media, while unit 4 will look at how gender and identity are covered in the media. In the final unit of the course, you will demonstrate your increased media literacy by through a culminating final project on social media. Development of this course was funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs Office of English Language Programs. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license....

Top reviews

DT

Jan 26, 2019

I learned a lot from this online course especially the skills in media literacy. Thank you very much University of Pennsylvania. God bless to all staff and the people behind this program. More power!

LB

Feb 8, 2019

This course helps people to b knowledgeable in a very accessible way. Through Coursra you can study even in different places. Also you will get a Certificate that will be valubale to every learner.

Filter by:

451 - 475 of 483 Reviews for English for Media Literacy

By Anastasia Y

May 26, 2020

The course has a very logical structure, interesting articles, and quizzes. Games made this experience more fun and exciting. But I would only recommend this course for people with a Beginner/ Intermediate level of English, so it won't be boring for you.

By Pham D H

Feb 1, 2018

I like the syllabus arranged to guide students to know more deeply about the media literacy and media analysis. In my opinion, the assignment need to be more often and more challenging about grading criteria. Thank you for your supporting, tutors!

By Hasan M H M

Jan 31, 2019

Every thing is nearly perfect . just if you have a supervisor or a professor who gives an hour or 40 minutes as a conversation with students at least once or twice during this course. It will be great.

By Horacio G C

Sep 17, 2020

I've learned a lot this is a great course because gives the tools and how is handle the Media litarecy in differents ways, and also identify the diffents types of Media, the bias, the rules etc.

By Jaaziel B P

Oct 13, 2017

La iniciativa es buena, nos ayuda a todos los interesados en aprender el inglés como segunda lengua ya que esto nos abre nuevas oportunidades en este mundo laboral muy competitivo.

By Laura R

Jul 11, 2020

I wish I knew the course is for begginners before starting it. It was pretty easy to understand and I enjoyed learning. Overall, it was a great experience.

By Lin Y

Apr 14, 2019

It is like an English course for those who would like to evaluate the social media sources (for beginner). Everything is in an organised way. Good.

By Phạm T T

Feb 27, 2018

An interesting course which helped me to think more critically while swimming in the ocean of information polluted by the media.

Really like it,

By kouassi n c

Mar 28, 2017

très bon cours même si j'ai eu du mal par moment mais cela m'a permis d'avoir une autre vision de la langue anglaise.merci

By Isobel C

Jul 23, 2017

Really enjoyed it! Found the jumping between knowledge and verb/vocab exercises a bit odd, though.

By Yerden Z

Mar 3, 2020

It was my first course online!

it was great! looking forward to take part in other courses as well

By M J

Mar 28, 2022

YOu can learn a lot of new words about MEdia Literacy, i love the videos and the instructors.

By Jeanfreddy G T

Oct 5, 2020

Great information, specially about bias but i would liked to be more challenging

By Ayat R

Dec 13, 2017

It was very good course and easy to study and help to understand a lot of terms

By SAADEDDINE A

Jul 6, 2021

all good , I only don't like waiting many days to get a review

By Nguyễn Q V

Aug 2, 2017

This course helps me knows more about media in my country

By obaike i

Mar 8, 2018

Very invaluable. Kudos! #TeamCoursera

By Myrna C

Jan 25, 2018

This course has help me to understand

By Osama S

May 8, 2017

helpful, entertaining and easy course

By Mayen G P

Nov 23, 2017

THANK YOU SO MUCH HELPING ME LEARN..

By Hsu C

Jan 29, 2020

For a starter, it is a good course.

By Kristel L

Dec 17, 2017

Pretty basic but ok, it was good.

By 李玳汶

Nov 6, 2017

The contents are really enriched.

By Samba S

Nov 10, 2017

A very interesting course!

By Қабибуллаева А Ж

Apr 4, 2020

Its fantastic course!